We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Xizhao Temple Hotel (King Talent Hotel)
Ranked #493 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 27 November 2013

First, the rooms were very nice and clean and we enjoyed the free wireless internet. The buffet breakfast was typical but good. The property seems to be away from anything much to do but taxis are cheap. There is a fabulous spa across the street. We went every day and tried 3 of their services.....yah gotta try cupping while getting an oil massage.

Back to the hotel, we had one major problem. They over charged me by a good bit for laundry and wouldn't back down after much effort. That one fact would lead me to tell people not to stay here.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor with a corner view. There's not much to see, but we had the best view...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Xizhao Temple Hotel (King Talent Hotel)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed for a week in this lovely hotel.

The only complaint was that there were smokers on our floor and the corridor stank of tobacco.

We had stayed in an international hotel during our previous visit to China. This experience was far more exotic.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is what we would term a "boutique" hotel in the West with only a limited number of rooms laid out in a richly decorated building attached to the Xizhao temple next door. Rooms were relatively small but adequately furnished with everything required including a refrigerator with complimentary water and soft drinks, small but fully equipped bathroom, free wifi in the room and even king-sized beds in some. Money exchange at the reception desk was very good but only for cash. The one ATM at the hotel entrance was out of service, but there is a bank (Bank of Beijing) with ATM to the left down the main street about 100 m. away. The king bed (they call it a double size) was adequate but rather hard. The breakfast buffet for western-style food was really sub-par ( scrambled eggs way over cooked, bacon barely cooked, etc.). Few of the staff spoke English at all and the ones that did only had a very limited capability. In spite of the language barrier, they did try to be most helpful. The location in an old part of the city was on tree-lined streets and was nice and quiet. But it's somewhat out of the way for getting to other places in the city and transportation is limited to mostly non-English speaking taxis. They have a nicely equipped spa on the premises and an attached restaurant, boutique shops of quality Chinese items and so forth, but you're pretty much on your own here without a good English-speaking guide. If you like small upscale hotels in a quiet old neighborhood then this is the place for you but it's not like the big hotels chains elsewhere in the city.

Room Tip: Rooms near the back of the hotel next to the temple are quieter. Would also suggest an upgrade if a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel as part of a tour of China. The rooms were really nice, clean and quiet and in a good location close to local shops and restaurants. The breakfast buffet was good and the staff were helpful - overall a pretty good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuegalCoffsHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is attached to a temple and location-wise, it's very close to all the tourist attractions (Tian An Men Sqaure and the Forbidden Palace).

However, it is quite far from all the other places (Great Wall of China, Xidan shopping district etc.)

The rooms are very big and spacious. We got an early bird deal so the price was really good too.

One thing though, when we booked they said we would get free aromatherapy with our room but we had to ask the reception for it before we got it. If you don't ask, you won't get anything!

The buffet breakfast is pretty good. You do have to pay for it but for the variety it was worth it.

The reception speaks some English but not very well. Luckily I speak Chinese so it didn't matter as much but you might find it a bit hard to communicate!

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amymoonshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel was very nice, and we were booked here by Gate 1 travel for 3 nights. The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms were to western standards. The beds were hard but I am told Chinese like them extra firm. The rooms were a bit warm since the thermostats were locked down to about 79 degrees. Some in my group said there rooms were above 80. The breakfast was fine. I was not happy with the location since to walk to nearest subway station was 25 minutes for me. Once there the subway was easy use and machines sell access cards and speak English and announcements of stops in Chinese and English. So unless you want to take a taxi or bus and drivers do not speak English it is not easy to get out and about in this heavily trafficked city. The pollution was also bad, but I did not have to resort to a mask. In the morning the smell of petro chemicals was in the air. Any tour of China must do Beijing, but this as I see not convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tomehss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as part of tour of China. It was clean with a spacious room and good bathroom. The property was well maintained and the breakfast buffet was reasonably extensive and tasty. While I would not call this hotel luxurious, it was not far behind.

We had a room that faced the main street and while it is noisy during the day, it was much less so at night and sleeping was not a problem.

Before travelling to China we had read reviews that complained of the hard beds. Once in China and starting in Beijing our guide told us that super-hard beds are the local tradition and would soften somewhat as we traveled away from Beijing. While it could be dangerous to your health to jump into bed here, you might find, as I did, that your back feels good after a night's sleep on the "rock".

There were two computers available in the lobby near the desk and the bellman was quick to bring over a keyboard and log us in for internet access. The folks on the desk spoke very little english (typical in all our hotels) but all necessary interactions were managed.

There is also a good restaurant on the premises that can be accessed from in the hotel or from the street. We had to order by pointing at the pictures in the menu. Don't over-order, the dishes are large.

The neighborhood immediately around the hotel didn't appear to offer much but was fine for walking around. It was mainly small shops and restaurants on the main street with apartments on side streets and with a large kindergarten school on the same block.

This was our first stop in China so we bought water from a store around the corner since we were warned not to drink what comes out of the tap. This proved to be unnecessary for the time in the hotel since all Chinese hotels apparently provide one bottle per day per guest. If you're on your own or part of a tour that doesn't provide water, you'll probably want to buy for daytime travel needs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANDODI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Jintai Hotel
Jintai Hotel
#2,368 of 6,531 in Beijing
46 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#84 of 6,531 in Beijing
259 reviews
Xidan
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
#99 of 6,531 in Beijing
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#120 of 6,531 in Beijing
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xizhao Temple Hotel (King Talent Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xizhao Temple Hotel (King Talent Hotel)

Address: No.15 Xizhaosi Middle Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100061, China
Region: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #493 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £58 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Xizhao Temple Hotel (King Talent Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Xizhao Temple Hotel (King Talent Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing