We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs”
Review of Oriental Hotel

Oriental Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oriental Hotel
Ranked #3,571 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Just returned from China and whilst in Beijing stayed at this hotel. The only plus which is a major one is location. It is located within 200 metres of a major junction with easy access to tiananamen sq in one direction and the temple of heaven in the other. Metro tube station and major shopping complex also within same distance. Positives however stop there! Hotel is run down and very tired. Rooms while clean are very basic and small and staff attitude is awful.
There are many other better hotels in the area and this one should be avoided!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericjnoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

My partner and I were booked into this hotel by Harvey World Travel Australia. We were told this is a recommended hotel. My question is who recommended this hotel? We asked for a 'mid range' priced hotel. The Oriental Hotel is one of the cheapest going around, so Harvey World Travel clearly has no idea.

The staff could not speak English, the room was small, no hot water for a shower, the bed was made from a piece of board and a sheet. The bathroom was mouldy. The was no fridge.

When we arrived we observed an elderly English man in a lather of sweat asking front desk staff for a refrigerator or ice to keep his diabetic medication cool. They could not help him. How terrible!!!!

There are holes in the walls, spittle on the floors and cigarette butts everywhere!!!!!

We left the following morning and booked ourselves into the Novotel, just around the corner which was amazing - recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stutwo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Do not stay here! We paid the top room rate from Oz and when we arrived in the filthy foyer we were treated rudely by the two young check in chicks who didn't speak a word of English. When we started talking to each other they were obviously talking about us and lashing. They sent us first to a room with two single beds, even though we booked a deluxe room. When we went down to change, we found a girl to help us to translate who told us there is no such thing as a deluxe room, they're all the same, just different bed sizes... Our room stank, our bed was hard as the floor, there was no soap in the moldy falling apart bathroom, the towels were all wet, folded on the rail. The desk chicks were useless, as was the 'English speaking' tour guide. There was rubbish in the hallways, spit on the floor... No room cleaning happened, even though it's advertised as 3 stars... Discusting! Don't do it to yourself!

Room Tip: Don't waste your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

After an early morning flight from Xian to Beijing and being picked up at the airport I was keen to settle into the hotel and get ready for a day of exploring the beautiful city !

We checked into the hotel only to discover a stinky, dirty hotel room with a filthy, mouldy bathroom and hard beds - the hard beds seem to be standard in China and were the least of our worries. The only thing I can recommend about this hotel is the internet. We basically checked in for an hour to use the internet and book a new hotel.

The staff don't speak or understand english which made things difficult but when in China you cant really blame them.

The hotel is cheap and it shows. We paid $360 for 6 nights here then swapped to the pentahotel. Pentahotel is in a much better location, clean, friendly service and english speaking staff, buffet breakfast included and amazing and was only an extra $180. Spend the extra if you want to enjoy your stay in Beijing !!! :)

Room Tip: Choose another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguelita304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

well actually first time is not easy to find this hotel with taxi, so next time better say to the taxi driver grand hyatt cos this hotel is just side by side with the grand hyatt hotel
the service are good even they cannot speak fluently english they try hard to help us ,
because we all can speak good chinese so never big problem for us, they were also so friendly and helpful not like other real beijing peoples rude (sorry that's true)
well in here remember after you go out from the hotel door turn left you will find post office, 24 hours restaurant, grand hyatt, then very good and delicious restaurant no 33, then direct to shopping heaven Wang fu jing
if you turn right you will walk then find Mc.Donald, bread talk in oriental mall then subway
so this hotel really good place and cheap price
but little bit problem only the toilet little bit small, and remember if end of autumm time just ask for room inside without window coz sometimes when they not turn on the heater yet you will feel too cold and cannot sleep better in room without window much2 comfy coz not cold at all :)
i suggest only for the people whom already understand beijing culture people not suggested for the new comer and don't know anything about beijing life style
from this hotel you really will enjoy cheap subway to anywhere of the culture sightseeing & shooping arcade cause the beijing subway now already can catch every site, so easy,so quickly and no any problem at all.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santybudiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

This is a hotel that we stumbled on having decided to check-out and forfeit a reservation from a hostel next door – Eastern Morning Sun Youth Hostel. This hostel was just in shambles and it was a mistake to have chosen it, but it was the Olympics and reasonably priced hotels were very rare.

Oriental Hotel appears to be part of a small chain of Chinese hotels in the Beijing region. It recently opened and I suspect this is a hotel that you will never be able to find on the internet as it is a hotel geared entirely for the Chinese. I suspect that westerners that we say staying there also stumbled upon the hotel, especially as we were in the minority. Oriental Hotel had lots of business men staying there and overall it was a very simple but respectable establishment.

The room was 280 RMB which was an excellent rate. One is able to get this reduced rate by buying their membership card which is good for all of their hotel locations. For a reasonable price (forget how much) one is able to benefit from a 15% discount. All in all, it worked out to be an excellent savings for the two night stay. In fact, it was cheaper than the hostel that we had previously booked.

Expectations must be set correctly – this is a Chinese hotel. What this means is that everything is really a bit on the cheaply made side; rooms and hallways are dark with energy saving florescent light bulbs; building and furniture are new but a little bit wonky; it is very ‘no frills’. With these expectations in mind, one should have an enjoyable stay here as the facilities were clean, the rooms were quiet and the staff was very hospitable and tried their best with their limited English.

The double room that we had overlooked the back of the adjacent shopping mall. The bathroom is a glass partition and the toilet and shower are combined to make a wet room – quite common in China. The florescent lights kind of gave the room a grim feeling but since we were only there at night, it was fine.

Our travelling companion had a single room and it was equally good however it was within the interior of the floor and therefore had no window. This is also quite common in China. Doing without a window saved him an extra couple of RMB.

Tiananmen Square is within 20 minutes walking distance, a great shopping mall is right beside and there are many options for eating within 10 minutes walk.

I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and would like to see what a Chinese hotel is like. If you’d like to stay here, I doubt that it could be found on an English language website but as it is not widely distributed, I think you’d be safe just arriving and asking for a room.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 14 October 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,568 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#64 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,681 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,962 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,516 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel

Address: No.8-16 Dongdansantiao, Dongcheng Distrct, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,571 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing