We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beijing 161 Wangfujing Hotel
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were in double and twin rooms, cozy, clean, with some extra like slippers, Shampoo and Shower Gel. Daily change of towels. Very well located in a hutong in the downtown area. Metro stop just a few steps. Western breakfast at affordable price. Recreational areas with interesting decor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilandere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    198
    109
    11
    6
See reviews for
61
151
38
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hostel with small sunny patio, nice cafe area and good bar joined on. We loved the authentic hutong location - old style alley where local people live.

Spent Y900 - £90 in western district tepanyaki restaurant one night then next night got better food and great beer in a local restaurant for Y160 - £4 each.

The hostel is midway between 2 metro stations and easy to get out to airport.

Bike hike from hostel v easy for Y5. Gears didn't work but Beijing is flat so no prob. Def the way to get around. We loved the crazy traffic!

We're staying in 161 on way back after our trip.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel has standard but clean rooms. The staff is very nice and helpful. The hotel's proximity to Dongsi subway station makes it a great starting place for tours through Beijing. Go and buy a Yikatong and charge it with not more than Y100. It's great to use the subway with this IC card (it's like London's Oyster card)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wavre
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this hotel. We started our Chinese discovery from there and re-booked our room for the one night we spent in Beijing before leaving China. Staff is really helpful and speak english fluently. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable (even if ones would find them a bit hard). Hotel has simple but good western style breakfast.
Next to the hotel you will find a very good and cheap restaurant. Other side is a bar with all kinds of beer you could dream of. Some small shops few meters always if you need anything else.
Located in a typical hutong, this is a really good place to meet Chinese authentic culture.
Hotel is perfectly located a hundred meters from Dongsi station. You're a few stations away to all great places to visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We strongly recommend this cosy, clean, nice and helpful hostel in Beijing. The location is perfect - the old hutong area is genuin and charming, several good chinese restaurants just a few meters out on the street. Close to subway station. Most of the staff speaks good English and helped us with everything; we will send an extra hug to Cherry, who was fantastic and really "the right woman on the right place". The café serves delicious coffee, not to forget.

Room Tip: We stayed here twice in a week - before and after a short trip to Xian. Both rooms were good, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedishteacher2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Very basic hotel but it is very clean and convenient, less than 5 minutes walk to Dongsi Subway Station that easily connect to attractive places like Tiananmen, Wangfujing and Silk Market etc. Transportation in Beijing is very cheap, only RMB2 to anywhere, we travel everywhere solely by subway except Great Wall of China which require a day tour.

The hotel doesn't has elevator but the staff here will help you to carry your luggages. The front desk staff can speak English that make many foreigners easy to communicate, and they are very friendly and helpful, they also help us to call the meter taxi to airport. The only negative is the pillow is too flat for us, but the hotel provide extra pillows for us when we requested. If you just want to have a good night sleep, this hotel is good enough.

The hotel is inside a hutong, along the hotel they are many variety of small restaurant with different local cuisines. If you have a very sensitive stomach like me better don't try any of these, I had diarrhea after ate at the restaurants there, but my husband was fine even he tried different food along the hutong. There is McDonald near by and a very cosy small cafe (Red Cafe) inside the hotel provide simple pastry, sandwiches, coffee and tea.

The hotel also has a tour agency that can help you to arrange tour and air tickets purchase. Please be firm and specific to the tour guide what do you want, we are not satisfy with the tour guide because she didn't deliver what had promised to us. We have feedback to the tour agency and they have apologized to us.

I will recommend this hotel to my friends who are just require a simple accommodation.

Room Tip: If you want to have view, choose the superior room. The standard room only available at the basement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

161 is very good value for money, and the staff are very helpful and accommodating. Unfortunately have to mark down as the wifi was intermittent at best during our stay of 5 nights, and the room was quite basic. However, for the price, it's good value. The attached coffee shop is quite overpriced, although provides a good lounging area in reception.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bennyday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,608 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,428 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,887 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#57 of 6,520 in Beijing
927 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing 161 Wangfujing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing 161 Wangfujing Hotel

Property: Beijing 161 Wangfujing Hotel
Address: No.161 Dongsi Lishi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 941 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beijing 161 Wangfujing Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in downtown Beijing, the No.161 Hostel (Beijing Yiliuyi Kezhan) offers guests easy access to the bustling Wangfujing commercial area and other top Beijing tourist attractions including Tian'anmen Square and the Forbidden City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beijing 161 Wangfujing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No.161 Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing