We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent business hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guidu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Guidu Hotel
Ranked #2,570 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

I chose the Guidu Hotel for two reasons: there was a very good "mystery hotel" deal on Wotif (it's always pretty easy to identify the Wotif "mystery hotels" in China), for US$ 77 per night; and the location was ideal for me. I stayed for a week in December.

The Guidu Hotel is near Xuanwumen, a little bit to the South-West of Tian'anmen Square - it's inside the Second Ring Road, so it's pretty central. If you have lots of meetings in government departments and large State-owned enterprises, it's great - you're reasonably close to most of the offices in Xicheng, and it's not too far to the ones in Dongcheng. It's also very good if you're travelling out of Beijing a lot: it's two metro stops or 10 minutes in a taxi to Beijing South Station. It's only about five minutes' walk from Caishikou Station on Metro Line 4.

The lobby is your usual four-star State-owned hotel lobby: lots and lots of marble, and an outlandish chandelier. The room was very nice: there was plenty of space, lots of storage space, and a good, big bath and separate shower. The bed was unbelievably comfortable - one of the best I have ever slept in.

Staff were friendly and helpful. A couple of them tried to deal with me in English, and struggled, but I think you'd be OK if you didn't speak Chinese.

English TV is limited to CNN and BBC World. Internet is free and fast, but is only wired: Wi-Fi isn't available in the room.

I had room service twice. The Singapore noodles were dire; the dumplings were OK. There are a few good food options nearby: a shabby-looking Northwestern Muslim place just past the market near the hotel's East entrance is especially good, and there's a good Shaanxi chain place just past the Islamic school to the West of the hotel. Supermarket options are limited: there's a very small, very limited supermarket across the road, and there are no convenience stores nearby.

If the same deal were available next time I'm in Beijing, I'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If it's windy, there can be a bit of a whistling / creaking sound from the window. Don't op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BruceShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    76
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
7
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

all you could wish for a five star hotel, a little to hot in the bedrooms for our liking, food good and good breakfast buffet, tea and coffee in rooms and complimentary water each day, staff very keen to please, resident manager Wilson speaks excellent English.he was very helpful Good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

This hotel is great with great rooms fit for 5 star rateing but let down by staff who seem totally incompedent especially the dinning room who staff need a good shakeing or better still replaceing, such a shame that this could be a great hotel if managed properly

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grapam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Booked 3 double bed rooms, but basic amenities were not there.
- AC never worked, when it did the temperature could not be set below 23 degrees centigrade
- AC switched off in the morning, automatically
- no milk in the room for making tea or coffee- on inquiry were told it will be charged
- staff had difficulty to understand English (Each time had to go in person to the reception and convey)
- Booked online and paid a premium compared to some of the other friends who booked online

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Susmit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Was a nice hotel. you notice it as quite lavish and grand around the hotel

Service was quite good but like many other hotels in China, English skills very very basic, to non existent especially those at the desk. When we checked in we ofcourse had wait but they didnt notice us waiting there to be checked in, staff were standing around which I found was a common thing in Chinese hotels so by no means a problem restricted to this.

Very friendly and nice room service staff though, the best of the whole trip!

Facilities,bathrooms were good and nice. The only problem which I thought should be mentioned is some power outlets in our room were very loose, on unplugging a laptop the whole outlet came out of the wall exposing the hole and wires and I got a minor electric shock and singed from sparks, it could be dangerous especially with kids, China obviously doesn't have the safety requirements like in western countries so just take care in any hotel there as I found outlets loose in all hotels I was in there.

Breakfast was very good, included lots of unusual asian choices aswell as western continental breakfast amongst other things although not included in our room price, one person from our party of 3 had to pay extra because we were just paying for an extra bed/towel etc in the room, it was a bit petty but many things are in China when it comes to these kinds of policies.

The coffee was excellent, included espresso in the breakfast, but if you wanted it outside of breakfast time it was a large $9.50 fee! so we since found coffee shops outside as this is amongst the most expensive coffee price in the world out of all the hotels weve stayed at but I have to say it was almost worth that $9.50 price if you really needed one.

Restaurant was really nice and had some unusual items on the menu, had an english menu which was also entertaining but was easy to order with the photos.

Around some shops and food outlets so its quite a good location.

So all round a good hotel! Also want to mention that some items were left in the room, it was hard to communicate with the staff, but we came and picked them up some days later and they freshly cleaned and pressed, and packaged the clothes which was really nice of them, we are still not 100% sure if they charged us for them but we think it was complimentary so a really nice gesture if it was!

Room Tip: just be careful of the little issue with plugging things in and out, (like all hotels in Asia basica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Triphappenings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Located conveniently to Beijing's line 4 subway, you will be able to move around the city fairly easily while avoiding the street level traffic jams. I booked on Expedia by phone and encountered no reservation problems when we arrived. The breakfast was good, service was friendly throughout, and the spa was nice. Internet is available Wi-Fi or wired in the rooms; I was able to get connected directly with my phone and laptop.

Business-level (not executive) room amenities include a comfortable bed, mini-bar, safe, tub and shower, large bathroom, fully stocked desk with stuff you don't think about until you need it (stapler, ruler, sewing kit with pre-threaded needles). TV is all in Chinese so if you need your CNN Asia, you won't get it here. I used the laundry service and was pleased with the speed. It's difficult to find starching and pressing like I'm used to at home so I didn't expect nor receive it here. Iron and board available upon request.

We travel for business to Beijing several times each year and have been looking for a low-cost-for-reasonable-value hotel to camp at for a day or two. I think we found it. Very happy with this choice.

Room Tip: Higher floors avoid some restaurant noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blacklabsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We spent a week in Guidu which I got for a phenomenal price on Orbitz.com. I think it was about 70-75 dollars a night. It costed us about 30 USD to get from the airport in a taxi..looking back, we could have saved money using the train system out of the airport..which is very convenient, safe, always on time, and super fast!
And, all the tourist vans pick u up at the hotel before heading out for Great Wall/tianemen square etc. So, it doesn't really matter where you stay in Beijing.


1. Hotel Location: It's not really in the middle of the city like by Tianemen square etc. However, that being said, it was very close to most locations and the taxi service was very convenient except for one caveat. You will need to get the front desk to write everything in Chinese for the taxi drivers.

2. Hotel Amenities: First class!! Simply superb!! I would never stay at the "regular" hotels paying more knowing what the Chinese brand will get us for the same money!
- Gym -- they turn off the lights --but it is there in the basement and has all the basic things
- Restaurant/spa - used the spa...nice but not much english speaking staff
- Hotel Room -- very comfy beds/bathroom very, very clean..

3. Food: McDonalds/KFC is a block away. This hotel is NOT in a tourist spot, so, there are lots of restaurants but none in English. So, you will have to do a lot of sign language to get your desired food! THere was a fantastic farmers market right across the street..we had fresh fruit for breakfast everyday before heading out for the day!

4. Must do things per my list:
1. Great wall
2. Travel to Xian (we did as a day trip from Beijing - flew out in AM, came back by 10pm.
3. Silk Market Shopping!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bastropchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
Xiang Da International Hotel
Xiang Da International Hotel
#1,780 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#71 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
#97 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guidu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guidu Hotel

Property: Guidu Hotel
Address: No.217 Guang'anmen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100053, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,570 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Guidu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Guidu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing