We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better hotels in beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springs Valley Hotel
Ranked #3,380 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed at hotel with young family .Booked family room but when arrived at hotel at 7pm was told no family rooms available . No explanation but was told to come back at 12 noon next day to get a family room and offered 2 rooms instead. Really had to push to get them to agree to move us the next day and not come back at 12 noon. They then wanted an extra 400 RMB for a deposit and they could not credit card to work which had worked fine at previous hotel. Rooms are very weird design as previous posts not particularly clean and the family room we eventually got had wires hanging out of the wall. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL you can get much better hotels in beijing for a better price which are nearer the tube and more central

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was indeed amazed by the Service Excellence shown to us by no less than the Vice General Manager of the hotel namely Mr. LI Shijun. We arrived at around 1 pm by taxi coming from one of the 5 star hotel also in Beijing. Upon alighting from taxi to the entrance of the hotel, a hotel staff approached and greeted us in a very warm greetings. He personally took our baggages from the taxi and brought inside the lobby reception desk and even assisted us in our checked-in process. I thanked him for his great assistance and surprised to know that he is the Vice General Manager who has shown his dedication and passion for extra miles Service Excellence. During our stay I have seen him all over the hotel's facilities such as Lobby, Reception desk, hallways and Spring Cafe restaurant roving around and talking to his staffs.
The hotel is a unique themed hotel where each floor has its themed decorations. We stayed three nights in a non smoking, higher floor with flowery hallwall decorations, we were also allowed to extend at 2 pm checked out time, indeed the hotel was really unique and beautiful. The bathroom has no door and i do understand the reason why it was design to be that way because of the bathroom automatic sensor light that once you step-in closer to the bathroom then light automatically will turn-on. There is a provision of curtain railings probably if guests will requests to have shower curtain it will be hanged on the railings. We have our daily fruits and yoghurt turn-down service. The amenity set-ups are all branded and replenished every day.The room is generally clean and very comfortable. The Springs Cafe restaurant has wide varieties of Breakfast buffet dishes, you will really enjoy the varieties of foods they set-up everyday. The chefs and restaurant's servers were very alert to check whether the chapping dish is running out and quickly replenished the food.
The hotel is accessible to many tourist places in Beijing. It will takes about probably 10 to 15 mins to reach the Tiantandongmen subway station just in front of Temple of Heaven.If you are a budget traveller you can reach the hotel for just 27 Yuan by taking MTR express train from PEK airport terminal 1 or 2. At the airport you simply purchase Yikatong card depending on how much load you want but there is a 20Yuan deposit at your load and can be refunded once you leave Beijing. It is very convenient card because you can use it either in public bus and of course MTR. From the airport just pay 25 yuan then take the Express train to Dongzhimen station then transfer to line2 and alight one station ( Lama Temple line 5 ) then just count 8 stations and alight at Tiantandongmen subway station and tap yikatong card at the exit and 2 yuan will be deducted on your load credit and exit B. You simply follow all the way ahead to Xingfu street or call the hotel for guide. I will definitely come back on this hotel because of the memorable experiences we have in this Unique cultural themed hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Clean, beautiful and well-decorated rooms. Very comfortable bed. The breakfast was okay. The front desk staff was speaking a good enough English to communicate easily.
To reach the closest subway station, you have to walk for approximately 15 minutes (Tiantan station), located in front of the Heaven temple. Taking the subway is Beijing is really cheap so you can go whenever you want.
However, if you're looking for a lively neighborhood, this is probably not the place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to take a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrlnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed here for three nights in two connecting rooms. This meant two open plan bathrooms. The smell was awful and no way to get rid of it. During the day we left the windows open to air but trying to sleep with the smell was not pleasant. We would have rated higher without the smell as the staff were helpful and friendly. The cleaning staff always greeted us in the hallways. The food was great especially breakfast that was included in the room rate. Always plenty available. We also ate a dinner in the restaurant and were happy with that as well. Don't get laundry done here through as it is per item and the prices were exorbitant!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The hardest part about being in beijing was that fewer people spoke in English...luckily the front desk person spoke some broken English. I was there in February so it was cold. Even in the hotel lobby. I could tell they didn't use too much electricity in the lobby. And only the rooms were kept warm (depending on how you would adjust the thermometer). The hotel common area was nicely decorated although the pain on the walls were old and the outside looked very outdated - from the photos on their website. It was rusty and easily we drove past it when looking for it.
The rooms were decent for the price. Cute decorations over all.
The bathrooms are semi connected - no wall. Which was kinda weird. So just imagine all air is shared in one space: bathroom + bedroom.
On the good side the toiletries were from Loccitane ! :) which was a nice surprise !

The staff dropped off night time snacks in our room. Which was sweet. The breakfast provided was decent.
When planning tours through the hotel - make sure you finalize all the prices before you book. There was some changes and the tour groups were very rude and shady! So be careful when booking. Most tourists attractions were far so we had to take a taxi or join a tour group.
Overall... it's what you can expect for $50-80-ish / night

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

On the good side, there was wifi at the hotel and English channels on the TV. But the bed was very hard and there was no cupboard space at all. Don't share a room if you are embarrassed about performing your ablutions in front of your partner - the bathroom and bedroom are "open plan". You can hear everything going on in the passage and you can hear toilets flushing from upstairs rooms. The staff did't speak English, except the Manager who was very helpful. The hotel was a long way from the centre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The only positive point - breakfast! It was very abundant and tasty (except for the coffee). Otherwise:
1. Bathroom was very smelly and because of the weird design there was no way of getting rid of that smell. The bathroom is "open" - no walls separating the room from the bathroom/toilet, so if you're not travelling alone, prepare to share your most private moments with your co-traveler, or get organised for the other person to leave the room while you need to use the toilet.
2. Staff speak very bad English and are not really trying to be helpful. On arrival, they take a deposit off your credit card, then they cancel it, and then you have to pay. Maybe it makes sense to them, but they do not explain it to the guest on arrival and it creates confusion on check-out.
3. If you're planning a trip to the Great Wall, DO NOT BOOK IN ADVANCE THROUGH EMAIL. Only book on arrival, directly with the hotel's Business Centre. We tried to book through email and we almost fell victim to a scam.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onnanohito184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
#97 of 6,556 in Beijing
376 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#152 of 6,556 in Beijing
105 reviews
Fragrance Hill / Badachu Park
Fragrant Hill Empark Hotel
Fragrant Hill Empark Hotel
#1,971 of 6,556 in Beijing
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Madian
Free Comfort Holiday Hotel (Beijing Xueyuan South Road)
Olympic Park Boutique Hotel
#3,517 of 6,556 in Beijing
20 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#64 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springs Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springs Valley Hotel

Address: No.57 Xingfu Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100061, China
Region: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,380 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £42 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Springs Valley Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Springs Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing