We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hutong Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #10 of 1,292 Beijing B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Hutong Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We wanted a hutong hotel with character. This was a great choice. It is a short walk from the Subway and was easy to find. They have a great restaurant in the hotel. The staff spoke English well. The organized a tour of the great wall and we were very happy with the tour. We were very happy with the room, it was nice and clean. They also had free WIFI. I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew-of-ten-sees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    50
    29
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
53
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very good and helpful staff, good hotel where you can have European breakfast.
The nearest metro station is Chaoyang Men (it was not written anywhere).
Besides the hotel on the big street when you go out on the right side there are many places to eat an excellent food. We went 3 times to the last place on the first block - fantastic chilly food. There is also a bakery in the same line of the shops a bit further. Excellent cookies.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IlzeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

the staff were very kind and helpful, and spoke english very well.
the location is good: inside a classic beijing hutong, 8 minutes walk from Chaoyangmen subway station (take Exit H), and 15 minutes from wangfujiang.
the food at the hotel was tasty, but a bit pricy. I would recommend looking for other restaurants - there are dozens of them at the lishi hutong (turn left at the hotel's door).
i reserved a private rom with bathroom. it was clean and nice, and I loved the chinese decorations. it was also surprisingly quiet, although the window turned to the hutong. however, there was an annoying bad smell from the drain.

Room Tip: the rooms behind the reception are a bit better (though, as mentioned above, my room had bad odor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yosef k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Located in a pleasant hutong with some of the friendliest staff I've ever met in a hotel. They were great in helping us out with things to do, directions, and booking tours and train tickets. The hotel is located a 10 minute walk from the metro, about a 30 minute walk from Wangfujing Snack Street, The Forbidden City, and Ghost Street (for a great selection of restaurants). The suite we stayed in was fantastic with a large comfortable bed and tastefully decorated. It was clean and had a reasonable bathroom. The basic room we also stayed in was obviously a bit smaller and simpler but still very nice, although I would recommend paying for the larger room. If I come back to Beijing I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights and loved it. The rooms are large for the price and are decorated in wonderful Chinese style. It's worth paying extra for a suite - we stayed in both the basic room and a big suite and there is quite a difference. The staff go out of their way to be helpful. The location is good, with lots of local restaurants nearby and within walking distance of the sights (if you are a walker). The metro is nearby too, if you get too tired to walk. There is a cute little pond in the courtyard with fish and baby turtles. I'd stay here again. It's not luxurious, but has a lot of character.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank OnMyWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We booked this hotel based on the great reviews on trip advisor. The hotel was easy to find based on direction from google maps. The staff was very welcoming and very helpful when we requested to switch rooms.

We were taken to our room and immediately noticed how damp it was. The room was sizable for China standards. However, we had asked for one double bed and we got two twin beds pushed together with only double sized bedding (so it didn't cover the whole bed). We would have been fine with eye bedding situation, however we began to notice other significant problems. The walls were all peeling and we could hear small rodent sized creatures running in the walls. There was black mould all over the ceiling in both the bedroom and the bathroom. The mould was unbelievably bad in the bathroom as there was no ceiling fan. The mattress showed some signs of bed bugs as well. (We didn't pull back the sheets to check - the sheets on the bed didn't cover the whole thing.). We decided we would stick it out in spite of the problems but not happily. By morning we decided we had to leave - I have an allergy or sensitivity to mould and I was having issues breathing. Plus there was so muck thought it might be a health issue. We decided to see if there was another room (if there wasn't we were going round a new hotel.). The staff was very understanding when we showed them the mould. We ended up being moved to a brand new room behind the reception desk (116) and it was wonderful. It was clean, had a proper double bed and no mould for creatures in the wall. Plus the bathroom was vented. We did notice that the bathroom appeared to not have a trap in the drain to stop the sewer gas from coming up - therefore the bathroom was quite smelly. We somewhat solved the problem by putting a wet towel over the drain but it was still smelly. However this was a minor problem as we just made sure the bathroom door was closed. The bed was quite hard but this is normal for China. The pillows were strange (filled with some sort of pellet and quite hard) but soft ones were available upon request.

The girls running the desk were very helpful and booked us a Great Wall tour. We ordered breakfast one day - the French toast wasn't great - I wouldn't recommend it. The dinner food was good. They offered free wifi which was great and stored our luggage on our last day.

The location is good - about 10 minute walk from the subway. Walkable to Wangfujing street and Forbidden City/Tian'anmen Square if you like to walk. We walked back to the hotel late at night and felt safe. Quick on the metro to all the other sites.

In spite of the problems with the first room, we would recommend this hotel and stay here again as long as we got a newer room. Someone without a mould allergy may not mind the older room.

Room Tip: Book a new room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superliz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights - nice small place in the middle of a traditional hutong. Great location for seeing "real" Chinese life. Felt safe. Close enough to walk to Wanfujung Shopping area or even Forbidden City (if you like walking). Had a superior room - and were disappointed, it was pretty small and smelt of smoke. One couldn't open the window and so it was very stuffy. Didn't see or feel bedbugs but my boyfriend hat some itchy bites... Had electricity cables hanging in the shower and the bathroom could do with a freshen up. Staff is friendly, but only "Angel" really understood English. Mutianyu Wall day trip was great! Ok for 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#93 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#16 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#24 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#74 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,292 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel

Property: Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.12 Lishi Alley, Nanxiao Street, Chaoyangmen, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,292 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a traditional courtyard hotel, center of beijing. close to wang fu jing street and beijing train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing