We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Chinese courtyard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #9 of 1,410 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a blend of old Chinese style with all western comforts. Hotel is in a hutong ( lane ) wiyh many locals living/working close by. Rooms are tastefully decorated in Chinese style with excellent WiFi and cable TVs ( good for sport ).
Outside the rooms there is a lounge area to meet others within the courtyard and a nice terrace/bar above to cill out.
Plenty of restaurants/bars/shops just outside the hotel catering for all tastes. Metro within walking distance ( 2 stations ) and a nice 20 min stroll to the Fobidden City.
Staff are pleasant and helpful.
This is anice small peacedule hotel to relax in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosydu, 經理 at Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Gulliver,

Thank you for taking the time to write to trip adviser and write such a positive review about our hotel.

Yes we are located in a hutong where the local people live, so you can have the experience of seeing the local life,such as when you go out to the hutong in the morning ,you may find how and what is chinese breakfast and night life also.

i am glad you enjoyed our open bar and the food,all of us waiting for your coming back again.

best wishes from all of us at the xiaoyuan alley courtyard hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed there on April 2013. The hotel is located in a hutong which was a little bit difficult to find (lost in translation). At that time chaoyangmen station was being renovated so we had to use exit h instead of b like they recommended it. The hotel was also being renovated, which was not a problem, they even gave us breakfast for the inconvenience for free. The rooms were ok, a little bit dark and not spotless clean but enough for our stay. The staff was very friendly and they speak english. There are supermarkets and atm nearby. If I ever return to Beijing I would book again this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anahid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosydu, 經理 at Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Anahid :

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and inform fellow trip advisor users;the subway station was being renovated at that time,but now is ready and very convenient to find our hotel if you come out from the exit B;i think you will interested to know we have already finish the construction of the new restaurant ,now we have a open bar on the second floor,gusts like stay there drink and enjoy the night time;

I am glad you made it home safe and do hope to be able to welcome you back to our xiaoyuan hotel in lishi Hutong.

best wishes from all of us at the xiaoyuan alley courtyard hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

If you want to experience the Hutongs, this is the hotel for you! The room itself was OK, comfy bed and seemed clean but the bathroom was not great, very mouldy and it really smelt after having a shower. I guess the drains are so old! I didn't feel clean walking out of the bathroom. The room is very dark and dank, partly due to the Beijing smog and the fact that it had bars on the windows. The hotel is run by kids, the girls on the reception are, in the main very helpful but on the last day when we wanted to book a taxi to the railway station, they couldn't do it but failed to tell us this. We only found out when we asked. The breakfast is very basic, fried and expensive by Chinese standards. There was WiFi in the rooms. The hotel did our laundry but there was a miscommunication about the price and it was a lot more expensive than we were expecting. We did book a trip to the Great Wall through the hotel, to Badaling and that was good. Overall I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopulou1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosydu, 經理 at Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear friend:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel amend inform fellow trip advisor users. Yes sadly at that time you stayed it was always smog weather,but it comes very nice now,many gusts book the great wall tour from our front-desk,and they did enjoy it.
i'remember the day you were here,now we have a new restaurant and the food change a lot ,the taxi we can help you booking anytime,last time we gonna inform you but you were not in the room;
You might also be interested to know that we have an open bar on the second floor,and we always make kabob there ,welcome join us.

I am glad you made it home safe and do hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

best wishes and may you happy everyday;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

After reading the reviews here and other sites, i booked this hotel expecting nice time. Indeed it a nice hotel and guests would like the first view of it, the decoration of the common area and the rooms will appeal you as they resemble traditional old homes. Soon you will realize that the beds are not soft, fixtures are old and broken. Not many rooms have one large bed, rooms are small.The front desk staff looked sleepy whenever i met them. I arranged Great Wall tour from them thinking it is convenient but it didn't go well due to their demands on tips, many shopping places and delayed return back.

Asked the first desk if they have socket converter but they asked money to rent that small equipment! Strange!

On the other occasion i asked front desk for taxi ride to Forbidden city main gate for which they said yes and wrote a slip to taxi drivers. To our pity the taxis don't have permission to drop at front gate and they drop off a far away place. Due this this mistake, i nearly waster 1 hour before walking to forbidden city.

The breakfast is available in first floor, again nice decor and tasty breakfast selection but don't be surprised if the staff look sleepy!

Reviews here said that metro is close-by, its close but still a 15 mins walk and if you have kids or seniors in your group, it is not easy. I later found that buses to this hotel are more convenient as the bus stop is couple of minutes walk connecting major areas.

Due to these experiences, i wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dashing_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Me and my friends have spent 3 days at Xiao Yuan hotel which was really great experiance. Hotel staff is really friendly and with their always smiling menthality made our stay really nice and comfortable. It was great to know a lovely recepsionist called Apple, who has always helped us with information and with many things which we needed.Setting up QQ accounts etc.:) My birthday was in Beijing and hotel staff was really attentive as they have prepared a little present for me and made my birthday memorable.
Rooms are clean and has a really authentic, traditional chinese feeling. It was a really nice 3 days which we have spent there. I can recommend to everyone who would like to stay in a really friendly place in Beijing. Thank you for Apple, hotel staff their kindness and I wish you all the best from other part of world.
Regards,
Daniel from Hungary

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DankoDaniel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel was a lovely traditional hotel down a hutong lane. Its location was great -- near two subway stations so easy to get around. Reception staff spoke reasonable English and were very helpful. They made a number of travel reservations for us. Our room was clean and nicely appointed with traditional furniture. The cafe had a nice patio and served Western food as well as Chinese. There was also a small interior courtyard wth some water features. I would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The more delux rooms have a "Kang" type bed and are more traditional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolf255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed 6 nights here and loved every minute of it. The location is excellent for touring Beijings sights.I loved the Hutong lifestyle and the people and just sitting outside the hotel and watching the everyday lifestyle and goings on in the hutong really made my beijing experience special.
The staff at the Xiao Yuan were magnificent and went out of their way to assist us, even escorting us to a pharmacy to translate for us to get medications.
I totally recommend this hotel for location and hospitality, great job and well done to the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#107 of 6,556 in Beijing
428 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,949 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.12 Lishi Alley, Nanxiao Street, Chaoyangmen, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,410 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: £30 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Courtyard Hotel, Center Of Beijing. Close To Wang Fu Jing Street And Beijing Train Station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing