We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice mix of chinese tradition” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lao She Teahouse

Lao She Teahouse
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Private Tour: Tiananmen Area Night Walk with Lao She Teahouse Show
Ranked #171 of 1,603 things to do in Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Peking Opera
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Menton, France
Level Contributor
92 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice mix of chinese tradition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Close to Tian an Men square (10 mn walk), the tea house is organized as a kind of "cabaret". Your entrance ticket includes tea, some traditional Beijing snacks, but mainly a show which includes samples of Beijing opera, Sichuan opera (with changing faces), some acrobats with turning plates, and some "talk show". One of them made me thing to a chinese ancestor of rap as the rythm of the words attracts your attention even if you don't understand chinese. The public was mainly chinese and if you are a party of less than 6 people then you share a table with locals. We have been with a group of four ladies celebrating their long standing friendship and they adopted us immediately, taking pictures...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    13
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good way to sample Beijing culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

The experience at Lao She Teahouse was quite interesting in that the place is grand, traditional and you get to sample a slice of the Beijing culture. The ticket includes some Chinese teas and Beijing snacks while you watch 10 performances such as the art of pouring tea from an extremely long tea snout, acrobatic show, Beijing opera and 变脸 ('change face'). The 1.5 hour experience is quite worthwhile. You can also buy some pretty tea cups and fragrant tea leaves at their showroom/retail shop.

However, I do not suggest you order their set dinner, which comes with either turtle soup or rabbit meat. We walked across to Solana fashion and food street (which is 10 mins away) for a sumptuous meal after the performance.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank VibrantAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We had a delicious meal in the downstairs restaurant before seeing the show. We had not booked the restaurant in advance and did have some trouble getting a table so I would advise to book in advance. No trouble getting the show tickets but it would have been better closer to the front. We were there as a family with our children, 10 and 13. The food in the restaurant was delicious and good value for money. There was some live entertainment - musicians playing Chinese style music while we ate.
The show was fairly enjoyable. It included opera, kung fu, mask changing, 'fast talking' and acrobatics. The 'fast talking' was in mandarin so we could not understand anything. The Kung fu was a bit like rap dancing and quite clever as was the acrobatics which was a man juggling a pot on his head. The opera was enjoyable and was translated to English on a screen but, for us, this went on a bit too long. The best part of the show was the Sichuan mask changing.
Tea and mediocre sweets were served with the show.
Overall, it was a bit touristy and not really good value for money, but still entertaining if you want to see short snippets of these Chinese cultures. The downstairs restaurant was excellent. With hindsight I would probably rather see just an acrobatics show.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank imof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Introductory nature, Entertaining night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Go and have a look if you want a nice introduction to different aspect of Chinese culture shows such as the acrobatics, opera, wood clapping, face-changing etc, you would be in for an entertaining night. However, you should find specialized shows for each elements of the show if you want more in-depth look, for example the opera only shows a very action-oriented one, a particular type of chinese opera I believe and there're much more about Chinese opera to be discovered that was not shown such as the singing aspect.

Nice complimentary tea (varies according to seasons) served with snacks on the table. You can order more traditional chinese snacks from an extensive menu if you wish but you would have to pay.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It depends.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Overall, it was an enjoyable experience and I'll explain shortly why I've given it an 'average' rating with the caveat "it depends".....We were there with our two children ages 8 & 12 for the evening show on the upper floor and our RMB400 tickets got us fairly close to the stage with a good view. The tea & snacks served were of mediocre quality, but lent nicely to the atmosphere of the old-style cultural show. The performances offered short snippets and a good collage of notable traditional cultural entertainment including the Peking Opera, Changing Faces, string ensemble (pipa, erhu, etc), acrobatic / kung fu stunts, and Fast Talk - which is a comedy rap done to the beat of castanets. So it comes down to this....if you are looking to get a flavour of Chinese cultural entertainment for the first time, then I would look no further - it would be 'very good'. My kids were kept entertained the whole time and that's no mean feat! However, if you are familiar with such performances, then this show may not particularly wow you; the performers here are very skilled but not top flight talent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lao She Teahouse also viewed

 

Been to Lao She Teahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing