We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gemstone in Rapidly Vanishing Old Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard View Hotel (Emperors Guards Station HouHai)
Ranked #149 of 1,324 Beijing B&B and Inns
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Gemstone in Rapidly Vanishing Old Beijing”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Old Beijing is rapidly vanishing. Fortunately, the area around the Drum Tower has been preserved with old "hutong" labyrinths and traditional 1-2 storied houses with inner courtyards. The Courtyard View Hotel is located in a quiet, yet safe and convenient section from the busy Old Drum Tower Road. You are literally minutes for the famous South Luogu Street, a historical street filled with shops and cafés. Bus stop is just a minute away and the metro about 15 minutes by foot. There are a lot of places to eat in the area. When you return from busy Beijing back to the hotel, you are back to tranquility. The hotel was converted from a small courtyard house. All the rooms surround a small courtyard where you can relax and enjoy breakfast. The owner, Jerry, is fluent in English. He can arrange pick up from the airport, even late flights from US. He can give you a lot of traveling tips for Beijing and many places in China as he has backpacked across China. After traveling extensively in Europe and the Americas, I have been traveling lately in China to see the famous historical and natural sights (before they become too touristy!). I am so glad that I found this small gem over two years ago. This is my home from home.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank todalibertad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sun x, Owner at Courtyard View Hotel (Emperors Guards Station HouHai), responded to this review, 5 May 2014
One of my oldest friend in this guest house david .we welcome you back soon on 08 of may.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    42
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
41
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Currumbin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our family go back to beijing every 2-3 years, n this little courtyard hotel is the only place we're gonna stay.We just had a short 5 nights stay there this early April.

It's so close to ' HOU HAI' & ' NAN LUO GU XIANG' which r the very famous bar street, n u also can find many diffrent kind of food whatever western or chinese, all good though!

The best thing i like about this place is that the hotel staff they always looking after u. Anything u want to know or u need they gonna help u.

Verygood breakfast actualy u can make it by yourself,just like at home. I miss that fresh grounded coffee, by the way! Free laudndry service, WiFi, very busy erea but couldn't hear a thing in the night.

If u don't know beijing at all, doesn't matter. U can get all the informations u need from Gerry or Sam( who run the hotel).
Anyway, we love this place, n gonna come back again! It's more like a home in beijing to us now!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

this is my second time stay in Courtyard View hotel. first time was with my boyfriend. Jerry upgrade our room to the best one. The room is with a very amazing Carve patterns Chinese traditional Bed and very good painting on the wall. even the furniture is very Chinese style. the public zone of the hotel is good as well. though its not big, it is still a good place to feel the fresh air,to look at the blue sky. have to mention that they offer free breakfast which like buffet. Jerry and the other staff are pretty friendly,they r willing to answer all the questions i asked about food, where to visit,where to shop......location of this hotel is convenience. Near Nan Luo Gu Xiang. and subway line 2 and 5.
the my two times living in Courtyard r in summer with boyfriend and winter alone.

i spent my birthday when stay in Courtyard last time.

Room Tip: the room with chinese Carve pattern bed is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry111890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Good clean facilities. Very personable staff. Excellent location.....close to center of city. Good value for the money! A little hard to find when you arrive on foot in the dark, but easy to get to after that.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnmuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Courtyard View Hotel (Emperors Guards Station HouHai)

Firstly, we would like to express how welcome we felt at this establishment. We were met at the Beijing International Airport by Jerry and driven back to the hotel. Upon our arrival we were made to feel at home with a lovely room and good service. Jerry and his staff helped wherever they could. Gave advice when asked. They even assisted us in booking our flights to Cambodia and taking us to the bank to exchange RMB to US dollar.

The rooms are clean, well furnished and the hotel is safe and secure. In the morning you can enjoy a good breakfast - continental style. If you are feeling a little hungry and don't want to go out Jerry or Sam will order something for you and it will be delivered to your room. Our laundry was done free of charge and delivered back to your room with a smile.

This establishment is well located and everything is within walking distance from the hotel. Embassies and all major banks within 10 minutes form the hotel.

We will definitely stay there again if we are visiting Beijing again.

Jerry and Sam thank you for everything and for making our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose the superior room - traditional style furniture including wifi and mini lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was a truly great find. The staff are nice, the rooms lovely, the hotel-provided wifi is fast and secure, the free laundry is such a nice touch. And the location is truly wonderful. It's close to Andingmen station of subway line 2 and Beixinqiao station of subway line 5. Both stops are very close to Dongzhimen Station, which is where you can catch the Airport Express for only 25 RMB. In addition, the hotel is about 6 minutes walk from one of the most beautiful hutongs in Beijing,
Nanluoguxiang. This is a wonderful hotel and I will stay here when I come back to Beijing!

Room Tip: Deluxe room was bigger, but you're in a hutong, so there's noise. Learn to appreciate it, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorCal_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Loved the staff they are young and intellient college students with excellent English. I would recommend this courtyard hotel to anyone with first time visit to Being (like myself), on a budget, looking for great location. For only 50 rmb they gave me a great one hour tour on a motorized tricycle that seats 2 people of the drum and bell tower, back lakes, lama temple. Thank you Jerry and Sam and the other staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerytravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#182 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#166 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Apricot Courtyard Inn
Beijing Apricot Courtyard Inn
#18 of 1,324 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Citycourt Hotel
Citycourt Hotel
#19 of 1,324 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,324 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hill Lily Courtyard
Hill Lily Courtyard
#165 of 1,324 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard View Hotel (Emperors Guards Station HouHai)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard View Hotel (Emperors Guards Station HouHai)

Property: Courtyard View Hotel (Emperors Guards Station HouHai)
Address: No.1 Xigong Street, Gulou East Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 1,324 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard View Hotel (Emperors Guards Station HouHai) 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard View Hotel This cosy courtyard hotel tuck in a quiet residental preserved Hutong area. With short walk to several popular tourist attractions such as Lama Temple, Confucius Temple, Bell & Drum Tower and Houhai lake area. The hotel has only 6 guest rooms, you will feel much more private here like being at home. All of the rooms have en-suite bathroom (24 hous hot water), air-conditioning, heating in winter, TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and common fridge, Traditional Chinese furniture and courtyard view from room windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard View Hotel (Emperors Guards Station HouHai) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing