We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasent hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Happy Dragon Hostel
Ranked #133 of 6,461 Hotels in Beijing
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“pleasent hostel”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Actually prefer to stay hostels as they are more lively. Very pleasent staff, all around, particulalry, Summer in the bar. Good location/price (room and drinks) As I travel, basically looking for location/price, do not need so many amenities. This fulfilled them. Room clean and no water issues. Mind you it is a hostel so rooms are small and small window, in addition to the typical morning alley noise. Wifi worked well on both floors, contrary to other reviews. Only complaint is that the bar needs updated music (too much classic rock and 70-80 hair band music).

Room Tip: does not provide toothbrush/paste, so bring your own
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    124
    68
    17
    13
See reviews for
22
72
82
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shijiazhuang
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The best thing about this Hostel is the staff. They are very approachable and helpful and speak great English. As an example, one of the nights we stayed here, one of the staff (Summer) wanted to sing us songs and show us all her progress in learning the guitar! We had a great night. The Hostel itself is pretty standard and has a bar. We had a twin room which was fine and good value for money. (The shower head was quite low for a 6ft1' giant in China and this was a Chinese style shower (not in a cubicle)) There is internet access, and the beds are comfy. It is sited down a side street which isn’t great, but did not pose a problem and I never felt unsafe. There is a subway station 10 minutes walk away and this is very straightforward to find and use, and Tieananmen Sq and the Forbidden City are probably 30 -40 minutes walk away. The hotel offers excursions to the Great Wall and other destinations, and most places are very accessible by the subway. For places to eat, the staff were always willing to advise good places and the food at the hostel was fine but not great. The only problem we had was that the air con dripped condensation, but we alerted the staff who quickly assessed the problem. I shall certainly be staying here next time I visit Beijing and would advise others to do so.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Had a lovely experience with the hostel if not for the heating not working which is a MUST during the winter months. My friend and I travelled last Feb 2011. We did not expect that the temperature would drop around the time we were there (based on the forecast). But I suppose in a city that has a winter season the heating should be working when needed. Anyway, we arrived there around 12 mid night and the car service we requested is already there. We were so grateful that the service was already there as we don't want to wait long around that time and temperature outside the airport. When we arrived, the hostel staff, although it was very late, welcomed us warmly and showed us to our room. The room was a triple room although it's a bit small for three was ok since there are only two of us. It has also a small window which is a plus. It was cold inside the room so we asked her to turn the heating on. We waited for the room to get warmer so at least we could sleep nicely and not shivering but the room did not get warm. They have duvets but it so thin it couldn’t keep us warm either. Since it was so late we tried to sleep but I kept waking up because it was so cold. Early in the morning we called the staff and told them about the heating and she was saying that it’s already turned on to 30c but we couldn't really feel the 30c, probably 3c! She said she's going to do something about it so we had our shower. Shower is ok but there are times when it's cold. On the second and third night that we were there the room is still not warm. We asked the staff again to try and fix it but with no luck so we just ended up going the bar for some heating and few drinks to warm ourselves before heading to bed.
Despite of the complaints about the heating, the staffs remained nice in attending our other needs.
Breakfast is one of the best things I enjoyed during our stay. Although I think it’s a bit pricey for what you get, it’s ok since it was nice. The breakfast place, which is also the bar, feels warm and cosy which is another plus.
Location is nice as it's only walking distance to the nearest metro and some sites like the Forbidden City, Tienanmen Square, etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippydory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pozuelo de Alarcon, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

just came back from a great experience in Bj where I stayed some 20 nights in a private ensuite room at the Happy Dragon Hostel. It has been an ideal experience. As it is mainly considered a backpackers place I thought, beign myself on a long business trip, that my needs where probably not going to be fulfilled. But I was wrong.

The place is ideal: clean, comfortable and has a really nice bar that is always ready to serve a nice beer.

The most important thing of all is the staff and the situation. The Hostel is some 250m away of Dongsi metro station in a very nice, friendly commercial area. REALLY CLOSE TO BJ CENTER (TIANANAMEN). You will get there in 20 minutes!!

The incredible group of people that works there is one of the reasons of the success of Happy Dragon: it´s like having a 24h travel agency ready to helo you all day long.

I should pass my congratulations to Eileen, she is one of the nicest persons I´ve ever met and her interest in learning her job and doing things right is huge; she, along with Summer and Jimmy made my days a bit better.

Choose Happy Dragon, you will not be deceived.

Thanks all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank losniufis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Had a great experience at the Happy Dragon! Highlighted by the excellent staff, all the young ladies working the front desk speak good English, are very friendly and helpful. Private bathrooms in every room, although I don't love the shower-in-bathroom personally. Nonetheless the rooms are clean and comfortable with daily cleaning service.

There is a nice little bar/restaurant, internet access is good, and lots good people. Also very good location close to the forbidden city.

I would recommend highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Travelled here in april 2010 for a week.
The hostel is in a great location and easy to reach the subway and local shops. It is down the road from forbidden city and Tiananmen square. Rooms were great for a group sharing. Hotel staff were especially friendly and courteous. Make sure to get a good breakfast at the bar in the morning to fuel your day for exploring, best done by bike, which they can arrange for you also. Trips to the great wall, opera and shaolin monks show can also be arranged through the hostel.

If you can, go to the part of the wall that hasn't been restored, Its less busy and a much more rewarding trek

You have to take part in the dumpling party...Too much fun :)

We left a very happy group of dragons!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dafthaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed with a friend in a double room with a private washroom at this hostel during the winter. The staff were nice and helpful, and they offer food in their lounge area. You could get hot food like noodles in soup and other simple dishes...nothing super special, but the food is okay and it's a real convenience that they serve in-house.

Internet was only available in the public areas of the hostel (most comfortably accessed in the lounge). When I stayed, there were lots of friendly travelers, mostly from Western countries.

Because it was winter time, (and we arrived on the coldest, windiest day of the year, according to the news and locals), we found our room to be a bit too cold--with a strong draft coming from our windows. We had to weigh down the curtain to lessen the cold draft coming into the room.

The rooms were clean, though a bit dark -- the lights seemed dim, even with a lot of them on. It didn't bother us too much since we spent most of our time out in the city.

The location of the hostel is really convenient, with a subway stop right down the street. My friend and I stupidly walked in the opposite direction that we should have to find food and shopping during our entire first day of exploring...We found our way the following day and easily accessed busy streets with lots of different shops and eateries.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#120 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#180 of 6,461 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#135 of 6,461 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#45 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Houhai
Deleju Hotel
Deleju Hotel
#373 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Dragon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Dragon Hostel

Property: Happy Dragon Hostel
Address: No.29 Ren min shi chang xi xiang , Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Dragon Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*New bicycle hutongs tour starting 1st March**FREE weekly parties of... dumplings (make and eat) , bbq … join-in, enjoy the food and meet new friends! :) That’s right … 2 times a week there is free food! :)+ 'Happy Hours' and special drinks promotions in our barWelcome to the Happy Dragon Hostel, your happy home in Beijing! Within two years of opening we have established a great reputation as being one of Beijing’s best hostels, offering everything a guest needs … and more! We take pride that our service standards are second-to-none, and guarantee that your stay will be happy, entertaining, memorable and excellent value for money. We prefer the personal touch when catering for our customers and staff are more than happy to chat with you, you can learn some Chinese and get the best tips for where to go and getting the best deals when out shopping or needing advice. We’re one of the very few hostels in Beijing to have a real bar, so the atmosphere is great for meeting fellow travellers and other guests, and we have a full tours programme to take you to the must-see Great Wall plus a variety of spectacular shows that are guaranteed to impress. Anything you need and we’ll do our very best to help! :)Our friendly staff are enthusiastic and able to help you with everything: most have years’ of youth hostel experience and are fluent in English as well as having leisure and tourism training and experience (some members are also qualified English tour guides). All rooms are cleaned daily and well maintained, with reading lamps, bed curtains, lockers in the dorms and drawers/cupboards/hangers/shower rails (+free towels +free shampoo and body wash) + hot/cold air-conditioners and extra blankets or a heater if you need. We have a 'quiet policy' for late at night so you can sleep comfortably, as although it's a fun hostel we still know our guests need a good night's sleep :)The hostel atmosphere is like a big family, being relaxed whilst being super-clean and tidy. There is a 24 hour reception + security and our staff are available around the clock to help with all your needs.In addition we can also help you book domestic and international flight and train tickets as well as being able to book you hostels throughout China.**We can also arrange fully tailored trips to Tibet at a guaranteed cheapest price**Facilities:- Web access in lobby (with Facebook when available!) with headphone / microphones / webcams + USB connections- FREE Web access in room - FREE Wi-fi in room - FREE Wi-fi in lobby - FREE library (good selection of Chinese/English/foreign language books and travel guides to read / swap 2-for-1 / photocopy)- Printing and photocopying service- Postal service + stamps for sale- FREE local, city-wide, national travel info- Phone cards + help to easily buy new SIM cards + recharge phones- CD/DVD burning - Taxi booking service to Beijing sites / railway / airport- onwards travel advice to other destinations- train + domestic/international plane ticketing service - Bicycle hire + bicycle tours- Cable TV - Kung-fu lessons from Beijing's award winning Tom Zhang- TV - Refrigerator - Secure key card access + lockers- Efficient laundry service - 24 hour security - Ensuite (western-style!) bathroom with hot and cold shower in all rooms- FREE towels + linen provided- FREE shampoo + body wash soap in all rooms- Ticketing service- FREE 24 hours hot shower- FREE hair-dryer use- FREE extra blankets + heaters in winter- FREE parking - Bicycle parking - On street parking - Late bar with daily special offers - Breakfast choice of American/English/Continental- Restaurant with Chinese + Western food menu- No smoking policy in our bar restaurant in the mornings before noon- Hot and cold air conditioning all rooms- Tours desk - FREE luggage storage - 24 hour receptionAccommodation InformationAll rooms are clean, warm and comfy - newly renovated and decorated. All rooms are equipped with modern security key-card access doors, 24 hour hot water, TV, western toilet and shower, and hot/cold air-conditioning. We also offer free internet connection sockets in every room, and free wireless throughout the hostel.Location InformationWe are located to the north-east of the Forbidden City, 10 mins walk east to Wangfujing shopping street and further 20 mins walk onwards to Sanlitun Bar Street. Out of the hostel on the right is the Dongsi Metro Station, you will arrive in Tiananmen Square in 4 stops and also 4 stops straight down to the Temple of Heaven. This Metro connects all the important places of interest including the Capital Airport, Beijing Main Station, Summer Palace etc.The hostel is also walking distance from the Forbidden City's North entrance and the famous JingShan Park, where from its hill top pagoda you can see amazing views over the Forbidden City and all of Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Happy Dragon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Dragon Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing