We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Happy Dragon Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dongsi Hotel(Beijing)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Tiangui Hotel(Beijing)
View Hotel
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
79
133
75
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
133
75
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdongsi subway stationdumpling partyforbidden citya private double roomensuite bathroomlocated minutesdumplingscommon roomminutes walkingtrain ticketslounge areagreat wall of chinawestern stylestayed for nightshutong areaenglish speaking staffbackpackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

If you are looking for just a room whilst in Beijing, this hostel is more then adequate, however we had a couple of issues:

Firstly, the hostel is located near the metro which is a 5 min walk. This is good to get around Beijing and close to tourist attractions such as tienanmen square etc.

The staff were friendly and we got a free water on arrival which was a nice touch.

Our room was a bit dated and located facing the street which was noisy at night.

The hostel had Internet in the lobby however you had to pay for it and the computers were super slow (almost took 5 mins to load up a page). The wifi did not work upstairs and was very temperamental in the lobby).

A few nights a week the bar has a free BBQ which was good and overall slow service in the bar when ordering food (however food was good when it did come).

The hostel has a laundry service, however this is priced by the kg. the staff said our bags weighed 5.5ks and we had to pay over £8. There is no way our clothes would have been over 1 load. When we got our clothes back, they were just thrown into a plastic bag and half the clothes were wet. *be aware if wanting to do Laundry here.

Our beds were rock hard which didn't help when sleeping. Don't get me wrong, if you don't mind a bit of roughness, then this hostel is fine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powersmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This hostal was exactly what I was looking for, affordable and clean, as well as a great group of people staying at the hostal, which can't always be the case but speaks well of the general atmosphere. Appreciated the curtains, on the beds, great tour of the great wall, i believe there are cheaper tour options, but the convenience was appreciated, difficult to find from the airport, but not impossible in a taxi, staff was extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

At 1st the location quite hard to find, even though already asked the hotel staff to explain the detail to cab driver.

1st impression from outside, kind of scary, looked kind of spooky, but it became more friendly each day. I stayed in 8602 on 2nd floor. Room was very compact, but very clean. My clean standard quite high, but this place meet my expectation. Stayed here for 4 nights.

There is TV in the room, but no english channel. Wifi worked well in the room. Air Con and water heater also worked just fine.

Staff are friendly and almost all of them can speak english. They are willing to help the best they can give. Every Monday and Friday they had BBQ night, tried it once and it was great and quite fun. Another things attract me are the quotes, message from the guest present in their wall, and international currency wall at the bar.

This place also provide 1 day Great Wall tour for 260 yuan, include breakfast, lunch and english speaking guide.

Location is great, 5 min to Dongsi subway, and just spend 2 yuan we can go anywhere in the city. Just an advise, prefer to use subway, Beijing traffic quite bad and all the taxi driver cannot speak english and tend to reject non chinese speaking passenger, espacially if you mis-spelled your destination.

Took 50 minutes cab drive from the hostel to the airport, cost around 80 yuan.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cath1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I booked Happy Dragon through HostelBookers.com. However, when we confirmed the booking a few days before, we found out that they didn't have space for us at Happy Dragon and they were moving us into their sister hostel, Lucky Family. I was quite disappointed with this as it was a different location and they couldn't even tell us the address until a few hours before our arrival. Please be aware that this seems to be quite common as many travellers at Lucky Family had experienced the same thing.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank Beth604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Great property in a quiet area of ​​Beijing. The Metro is five minutes away and nearby is everything, supermarkets, ATM and market. The hostel staff is very friendly and speaks excellent English. The pub / restaurant attached is great, with both Chinese and continental dishes. The rooms are clean, with TV, air conditioning and private bathroom. The corridors are very nice, decorated by the guests themselves. Offers the possibility to book several excursions at resonable prices. The wi-fi is free throughout the hotel, very fast in common areas, a bit slower in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews