We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forbidden City Hostel
Ranked #2,850 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 19 December 2011

walking distance from subway (wangfujing) to hostel . walk pass blocks of building to reach hostel (faster and nearer) or walk by the roadside (longer distance) . there is a bustop nearby the hotel, no 82 and 2 . from hostel to subway , can take bus no 2 ( the bustop nearer to hotel , no need cross road) to reach subway (tiananmen east station) . room was clean and dry with small window but it was kind of dim . hotel room 205 have an external window . location is great , near to attraction .

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doraaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Forbidden City Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stayed at the Forbidden City Hostel in May for 2 nights. The room was OK for what we paid (less than £30 per night) twin beds & a shower. The room didn't have an external window, but this wasn't an issue. The AC was excellent.
The location is great, right on the door step for most of the attractions in central Beijing. The hotel has small bar/cafe area which is OK.
We ate at some of the local resturants & also took in some of the local street bars on South Heyan Main Street, which was all part of the Beijing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TampaBayTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

For the price I was not expecting much. But I do expect at least clean and dry. The room was small and very dated with no external window. The room had damp problems which had led to the wall paper and skirting boards to rot in various places. The bedding was very old and tired looking and I was a little reluctant to lie down in it as it was very easy to imagine it might be crawling with lice or whatever. The shower room was not so clean and really needs renovating; so much so, in the morning I didn't use it, preferring to check out early and check in at a different hotel where I could relax properly.

The next morning I checked into Days Inn 200m down the road. If you stay here, it will probably only be for one night!

Room Tip: If you want a good room, book elsewhere.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevo76uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

When we checked into the Forbidden City Hostel, Beijing, we were given a dingy room with no windows and a heart-shaped bed - it looked like something out of a 1970's porn film!
There seems to be a consistent problem with drainage in a lot of Beijing's hotels and this place was no exception - there was a horrid sewerage smell coming from the bathroom all the time. When we notified reception they gave us a can of air freshener - thanks!
There is a small restaurant on the ground floor which served ok food but they haven't introduced the smoking ban in China, so you have to deal with people puffing away (without any ventilation) while you're trying to eat - gross!
Overall, I'd advise to pay a bit more and go for a nicer hotel in Beijing - as there isn't a good range of budget options for travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlyRTWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Hotel situation excellent. Great assistance from Reception as could speak in English. A small restaurant which is not bad, you can at least have a good breakfast and sandwiches etc available all day. Room very very small, two persons cannot move freely. Place only for beds. The toilet was always blocked. The shower is foud next to toilet seat, so when you are having your shower the entire bathroom get wet. No space to put your suitcase, no wardrobe nothing. The corridors have carpet which look very old and dusty. We stayed for 4 nights and could mange, if more that that impossible.

Room Tip: Choose a room on ground floor with windows.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zouzoul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed in a 6 bed dorm. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. Most had decent English and if not there was normally someone nearby who did. You can book tours from reception and there's free wifi which worked well for me.

The room I was in didn't have any windows and the beds were quite hard so I'd recommend bringing a sleeping bag or something to make it a bit more comfortable. Bathroom was like any other I've had in Asia (aside from hotels I've been in), wet. But the staff dry it out when they clean the room every day and hey at least there's a western toilet :)

Good for a leave in the morning come back at night sort of traveller.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandypants312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

There was just a short walk to many attraction. The room was small and almost clean. There was room with and without window. We wanted one with window, BUT the window was indoor. Turned towards the corridor. Not exactly what we had ordered.
One of the receptionist was friendly, but otherwise the staff was rude.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank htangenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Miyun Scenic Resort
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#141 of 6,531 in Beijing
15 reviews
Yansha
The Great Wall Hotel
The Great Wall Hotel
#1,667 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,224 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,628 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Wancheng Huafu International Hotel
Wancheng Huafu International Hot...
#3,589 of 6,531 in Beijing
94 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forbidden City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbidden City Hostel

Address: No.5 South Heyan Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,850 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Hotel Class:2 star — Forbidden City Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Forbidden City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbidden City Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing