We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forbidden City Hostel
Ranked #2,859 of 6,517 Hotels in Beijing
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The staff were excellent, very friendly and spoke English well. They have an dedicated help desk for booking travel/trips and also a washing service for clothes. It's a budget option but I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    18
    29
    15
    4
See reviews for
9
19
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Traveled with 2 friends on a budget that's why we chose this hostel. We got a private room which was clean enough but generally the place feels old and smelled kind of funky, and so needs some upgrading. The beds were not that comfortable, but again don't expect luxury for the cheap rates.

Great location though as it is on a main road, is walking distance from the Forbidden City (less than 10 minutes) and a subway station. There is also a convenient store around 5 minutes away on foot.

Recommended for visitors of Beijing who want to spend their money on other touristy things :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domileo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel is OK. But for the price, it was the best we could find. Our first night we arrived at 8pm and even with a prior booking.com booking they said they only had one room available and needed to clean it. We couldn't get into our room until 9pm. That room had a round bed that was too small for my husband and I. We left the city for three days on the Great Wall. When we came back we were checked in right at 2pm, which was great, but the room had mold on the walls. There were no other rooms available, but they told us we could switch in the morning. We did switch in the morning into a very nice room on the first floor with a window, no mold, and and good internet (wired) in the room. The third night is a charm here, I guess.

Good location about two minutes from the night markets and a 15 minute walk to Tian' Anmen Square or the Forbidden City. Also just a five minute walk to Wanfujing shopping area/ pedestrian street. Would have liked if it was a bit closer to a subway stop, but other than that happy with the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reeds_Around_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We chose this hotel as it was the cheapest we could find with a central location so if you are looking for a cheap hotel near the Forbidden city it is both of these things. There is also a small bar/restaurant which did reasonably good food but aside from this however there is not much positive to say.
The room has mould growing around the tops of the walls and there was no window. The room was very small and felt very claustrophobic.The bathroom smelt terrible and the shower did not get hot enough for me. The bed linen was old, worn and in 7 nights was not changed once! It is at least 15minutes walk to a metro station (and we walk quickly). The WIFI only worked in the foyer and not in the room although to be fair there was wired internet in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevKate111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days. Staff aren't that friendly and don't speak good English. It's a good thing we have a Chinese friend who's fluent in Fok Yien. But still, they're very hard to talk to with! :p The rooms are okay. The beds are comfortable. The cleaning service is good! There's wifi in the lobby.

It's near the Night Market... about 3 min walk, which is a good advantage for the hotel. It's a little far from the subway. About 10-15 min walk. It's also very far from the airport... about a 1.5 hour drive. But it's accessible to bus and taxi since it's within a main street.

But since it's cheap, I have to say you get what you pay for. If you want a budget hotel, I recommend this. But if you plan to spend a lot of time in your hotel to pamper yourself, don't get this one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joycehehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

i found out about this cheap hostel from someone's blogger... and booked through hostelbookers, which i reserved dorm room with 6beds... and only cost around less than 20USD for 3nights.. yeaaayyyyy... so happy when you found out cheap hostel with kind of comfy and clean room...
at first i was surprised when they put me in the same room with male, but well, what can i expected more with 20USD for 3 nights heheehhehe.. at least i got new friend..

inside the room, you can find attached shower and toilet.. clean as well.. but, no lock.. hahhahaha...
Ow.. you may also used telephone to call but only for Beijing area.. so, you may call your tour agent to confirmed your trip..
the staffs are nice.. can speak english..

the hostel is around 10minutes walk to WangFujing street, train station, and one of the gate of Forbidden City.. awesome.. and near to the hostel you may also find small supermarket, which you can buy mineral water, cup noodles or else..

what else i can say, unless, i really really reaaaalllyyyyyyy enjoyed staying in this hostel.. and definitely will stay here again, when i come back to visit Beijing.. InshaAllah...
I enjoyed.. hope you too... (^.^)v
Beijing is Amazing....

Room Tip: if you on budget traveler, and dont mind sharing room with other people around the world, so you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 515KA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I got a taxi (shark) from the airport and got to the hotel at 6:00 in the morning, after the receptionist forgot about my pick up transfer.. The nice guy from the bar gave me some tea and told me how to get around the city (friendly staff).. the majestic Forbidden City is very close, walking distance, close to the subway station (10min walk).. Wangfujing, Tian'anmen Square. So as location is very good. The rooms are small, amenities brought daily, i liked the slippers they had in the room, TV, AC. The bar/breakfast place pretty expensive and so are all the little restaurants near by. Everybody invites you in and in the end increase your bill with a tea, or a beer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniellaOana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#155 of 6,517 in Beijing
757 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#107 of 6,517 in Beijing
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Wancheng Huafu International Hotel
Wancheng Huafu International Hot...
#3,586 of 6,517 in Beijing
94 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#68 of 6,517 in Beijing
1,038 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,517 in Beijing
2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forbidden City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbidden City Hostel

Property: Forbidden City Hostel
Address: No.5 South Heyan Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,859 of 6,517 Hotels in Beijing
Hotel Class:2 star — Forbidden City Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Forbidden City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbidden City Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing