We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay in this hotel April 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forbidden City Hostel
Ranked #2,842 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my stay in this hotel April 2013”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

the location quite far from subway wang fu jin, about 20 minutes walk there, i was damn tired of walking and no idea where is the location, finally found it, it was at the end of the road. better take a bus just cost you RMB 0.40 (using IC card, if by cash only RMB 1 only, beter take bus). the hostel owner should recomend by bus instead of telling near to subway. it was so convenience to take a bus in beijing.

the room is small. i took standard no window. the bed no quality at all, you can feel the hard spring. really a bad image to me, i cant sleep well for 2 nights. this is really dissapointed.

the bathroom consider clean and comfortable.

wifi, the second day i can wifi anymore. no idea what happen.

breakfast. you have to wait quite sometime - 10-15 minutes. i think the cooker have to improve it. but the taste is good, do have Uk, america, europe style of breakfast for you to choose. too bad beverage is not included.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derricktai2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    18
    29
    15
    4
See reviews for
9
19
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falaise, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Rooms are dirty, damp and in need of repair. WiFi& internet is very slow and often not working. Breakfast is poor, I actually went round the corner to Jade Hotel and had a full breakfast and that was better value.

Room Tip: Check your room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lloyd m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed there in our first leg and the location is perfect. Right next to the Forbidden City. Rooms aren't that great though, pretty damp and not that clean either. Reception staff were quite helpful and even organised a mini bus trip to Mutianyu. Wifi wasn't working all the time. Didn't try the restaurant as they didn't offer anything Chinese. On the whole, it was a stay which would easily fade away from the memory.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saiaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The Location is great, its close to the Forbidden city and it has a bus stop right in front.
The first room we had had a window towards the hallway and smelled like mold, we asked if we could switch room and they gave us one with a window facing the outside. That room was great and clean.
They also offer tours to the Great wall!!
Overall a good experience especially considering the price

Room Tip: ask for a room with outside window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel is small but location is excellent as its near to most visited tourist spots eg forbidden city, tian ang men, basic amenities. Room is small, average rating in term of cleanliness and services. Reasonably price for the location. Wifi free. Hot water and heater available and most appreciated now as the weather is freezing cold -15c. May not be a good time to visit Beijing at this time of the year as one can't bear to stand outside for long.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaunesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

If you're looking for a great location near Tienanmen square and the Forbidden city with friendly and helpful staff, and don't mind a pretty dirty place, this hotel could be for you.Keep in mind though, that the great location is close to key Beijing sites, but is not close to good bars / restaurants or other tourist infrastructure.

It's really more of a cheap guesthouse than a hostel, so if you're looking for a hostel vibe - go elsewhere. The WI-FI doesn't reach very well to the rooms. The bathroom kind of smelled, and the walls were paper thin. That said, it was cheap and well located near some great sites which was what we wanted.

Overall, this place is decent, but you can probably do better. The Beijing Metro is so easy to get around and so cheap, that I don't really think it's necessary to sacrifice for location, especially when there are better nightlight type areas near the Hutongs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2012

i book this hotel thru expedia and i arrive from BCIA on 220am. t
the hotel staff expecting my arrival and i got my room key. and tell me where to buy mineral water at 3am in the morning. the area is safe.
the hotel room i request have window and is on ground floor.i should have request first floor when i book with expedia.
two subway station around this area. wangfujin&tiananmen east.got a few nearby restaurant and price is average. if you want to buy prepaid china mobile or unicom .make sure you go abit further down the street. a few smaller shop is more expensive.if you walk up from the left towards 1st traffic light you see a shop cross the road (24 hours ) is much more cheaper. for the room pillow is abit hard. i suggest you ask the housekeeping to change.get yourself a soap from outside as the soap provided is different. i have no issue with the towel and the floor. only the air con external unit is very loud and no english channel.mostly china cctv and beijing tv.
i don't use the hotel lan cable and the wifi is very lousy.i can't use it inside the room and downloading takes forever..
for me i will stay again this hotel but i prefer 1st floor.
thank you.

Room Tip: call and ask the hotel reception before you check in and if your flight is arriving after 2am in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#154 of 6,483 in Beijing
754 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Wancheng Huafu International Hotel
Wancheng Huafu International Hot...
#3,529 of 6,483 in Beijing
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#107 of 6,483 in Beijing
454 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#184 of 6,483 in Beijing
310 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#71 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forbidden City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbidden City Hostel

Property: Forbidden City Hostel
Address: No.5 South Heyan Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,842 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Hotel Class:2 star — Forbidden City Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Forbidden City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbidden City Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing