We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An easy and convenient place to eat with tasty Chinese food, good service and a menu in English”
Review of East 33 - CLOSED

East 33
Neighbourhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“An easy and convenient place to eat with tasty Chinese food, good service and a menu in English”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

If you are staying at the Park Plaza Wangfujing, or one of the other hotels in the immediate vicinity, the Sunshine Kitchen restaurant (11 a.m. to 10:30 p.m.) is an easy and convenient place to walk to and dine. The service is prompt and attentive, the choice and quality of the Chinese dishes good, and the menu in English makes ordering simple. We gladly dine there after a day's sightseeing and are too tired to look elsewhere for a place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Chinese restaurant in Wangfujing”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This great Chinese restaurant is very close to the popular Red Wall Garden hotel in the Dongcheng District (near Wangfujing and Jinbao) - only 300 meters walk, great food. We went on a Tuesday night - clientele were all locals except for us - food was an eclectic Chinese mixture, well presented, with great service, and with very reasonable prices. A pleasant surprise was the very reasonable wine prices. Great place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Wow...So Good!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Was staying at the Park Plaza & I saw this place as we entered. It's just outside the hotel. Didn't think much of it & we ate at other "great" reviewed places. One night we were too tired to venture far so we gave it a try. WOW!! The best dang meal we had in China. Better than Dadong Duck across the street, which is considered the "best" duck in Beijing. The staff is very friendly but English challanged. No problem as their menu has pictures and English descriptions (many local places do). There was a very nice manager (young, tall male) who knew English so he was helpful when we had questions. The food is varied, interesting, economically priced & DELICIOUS!! Four of us ate a a lot of food, drank some beer & left a tip & it came to about $80 total. Similar meal in NYC would have cost twice that. Plenty of veggie choices (the bamboo shoots were a big winner) & the smoked Duck breast was excellent. Lots of mushrooms to choose from & plenty for meat eaters. Lots of chicken, fish & beef dishes as well as stuff for the adventurous (bullfrog anyone?). TA description, above, says "Pizza & pasta." Not true. I HIGHLY recommend this place for a great local meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitchmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very busy lunchtime”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Went there today for lunch and the restaurant was very busy. Being seated was quick, being served was slow. We decided on sweet and sour fish and noodles Hong Kong style.
Both dishes were quite tasty and the overall bill of RMB140, was reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank harryv989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Can't believe it's not ranked higher!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had an amazing meal here, we go for a lot of Chinese food at home and this was one of the best tasting meals. Each dish we had was very different, the best was the braised lamb chops. Best dish in Beijing so far!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East 33 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing