We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even if they don't speak English”
Review of East 33 - CLOSED

East 33
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Pizza, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Zurich Switzerland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Even if they don't speak English”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We ate twice at this restaurant and both time were very satisfied with quality of food and price we paid. Menu is easy to understand as in English as well as with photos. Otherwise people do not speak or understand English. You just point the photo and indicate with finger how many you wish. All in all value for money

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nolofinwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The place is near the Red Wall Garden Hotel, so that's why we went there.
The restaurant was very crowed, but we were seated and attended very fast.
We've been there in two different nights and the vibe is the same, busy.
The food is delicious and the price very reasonable. The waiters cannot speak english, but the menu is all in english and has pictures of all the dishes, what helps a lot. But if still you have any problem, the manager can speak a little. He was very nice to us and even gave us free drinks the two times we dinned there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
236 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good food, fun vibe”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Of all the restaurants I sampled during my stay in Shainghai, Beijing and Hong Kong this had a very distinctive vibe to it - and that in itself makes a visit worth it.

I couldn't tell whether the restaurant was considered a fine dining place, but the service was very correct and formal - in an amusing sort of way. The sort of place where it's fun just to observe what's going on.

When it comes to food, it's a variety of chinese dishes, all nicely presented in the menu and delicious to eat.

I spent 135 RMB on a meal + drinks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mschr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
230 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“An easy and convenient place to eat with tasty Chinese food, good service and a menu in English”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

If you are staying at the Park Plaza Wangfujing, or one of the other hotels in the immediate vicinity, the Sunshine Kitchen restaurant (11 a.m. to 10:30 p.m.) is an easy and convenient place to walk to and dine. The service is prompt and attentive, the choice and quality of the Chinese dishes good, and the menu in English makes ordering simple. We gladly dine there after a day's sightseeing and are too tired to look elsewhere for a place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Chinese restaurant in Wangfujing”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This great Chinese restaurant is very close to the popular Red Wall Garden hotel in the Dongcheng District (near Wangfujing and Jinbao) - only 300 meters walk, great food. We went on a Tuesday night - clientele were all locals except for us - food was an eclectic Chinese mixture, well presented, with great service, and with very reasonable prices. A pleasant surprise was the very reasonable wine prices. Great place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing