We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 10-course dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Sesame Kitchen

Black Sesame Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 12,603 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Houhai
Description: We are a reservations-only dining experience offering a set menu of ten courses and two wine pairings in an open kitchen where you'll learn the secrets of Chinese cuisine.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great 10-course dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We enjoyed a great dinner at Black Sesame Kitchen. Some awfully good food: the shiitake mushrooms with coriander are about the best mushrooms I have ever tasted, the wild rice root was delicious as were the pork and pumpkin dumplings, not a combination I would have expected. The dessert of caramelized pineapple with black sesame ice cream was simply outstanding.

BSK is all set up for diners' enjoyment. Lots of good conversation, generally with other travellers and interesting ex-pats. The wine and beer flows freely, always a good thing.

It's all located in the very way back of a building off a smallish hutong. Not easy to find, but well worth the looking for it. Will definitely be back next time we're in Beijing

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank artmanintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    78
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
2 reviews
“Super duper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Wonderful! Highly recommend it. Dig into that sesame ice cream-

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarita_Clarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
“great hutong experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Excellent food right from the wok on your plate. Relaxed atmosphere. You share the table with people you do not know, which can make it a really fun night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simone268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Went to dinner here one recent Friday night with 3 other couples. There are two rooms, each with a long table, ours was the smaller one and had 10 seats so we had two really interesting women from Brazil sit with us. The WA wines kept flowing all evening and the set 10 course meal was more than enough to eat, way more, but we ate it anyway! Excellent food.

The place itself is a little hard to find but once you are close by a friendly local will help you find it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Tucked away in one of Beijing’s hutongs, there is the most amazing private kitchen. The food was FANTASTIC and I loved being able to taste 10 different dishes. The private setting was perfect and we really enjoyed meeting the other group of people who joined us for dinner. All the staff at BSK were welcoming, it really felt like we were eating in someone's home. I would recommend BSK to anyone visiting Beijing whether it's for business, vacation or just passing through.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Black Sesame Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing