We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Ranked #8 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Mustihaveone
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stay here regularly as it is my corporate hotel (most recently in June / July 2014) and my Beijing office is in the same building. The hotel is fabulous. Good service begins at Front Desk. The rooms are wonderful, new, well furnished and maintained with a generous shower and toilet area. Nice large windows, though the view depends on the pollution and whether you consider Beijing's cityscape a view at all. Good room service options and I have managed to get them to make vegetarian dishes, though occasionally things on the menu get "sold out" (I think they run out of things like wholewheat pasta now and then).

Most important, even in polluted times, the air in the rooms feels quite clean, though it can be dry. They did not know what a humidifier was, but I carry a portable one and suggest anyone traveling to Beijing do so, specially in winter.

I would stay here in a heartbeat, whether for business or for pleasure.

The mall downstairs has, among other things, a (pricey, expat-oriented) supermarket should you crave snacks and such, and also a large number of eating establishments. It also connects to the Guamao subway station. So good location and connectivity.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustihaveone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Mustihaveone,

Thank you so much for spending time making comments for us. We value comments from every hotel guest but feedback from regular/frequent guests like you is even more important to us.

As you mentioned, we heard guests saying that the guestroom is nice but dry, particularly in winter. So we have prepared some humidifiers in case guests may need. We are making such improvement little by little with supports from guests like you.

Thank you again for staying with us and we sincerely look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    111
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
65
28
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

China World Summit is my regular business hotel for the past few years. Great hardware, spacious rooms. Excellent location. Room service is great by China standards. It is a little hard to get a cab at the hotel though - may need to walk a few blocks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenchankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Karenchankc,

Thank you very much for your comments for China World Summit Wing, Beijing. We are so happy to learn that Summit Wing is your favorite for accommodation in Beijing. This is a big encouragement that I would like to share with more colleagues.

Thank you again and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Beijing!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta,
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile


Stay for a week, it's a bit over priced but for china standard is a breath of fresh air :) helpful staff and a clean atmosphere all around. The restaurants and bars nicely stocked too. Would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at room 6813. I joined my husband in Beijing for a business trip and stayed at the Hotel. I usually stay elsewhere. We had a terrible experience, a nightmare really!

When we got back to the Hotel at 11:00 pm after dinner, we found the room was not cleaned and dirty towels were not replaced. We had to call three or four times before the hotel sent someone to refresh the room. When all was done, the shower door throw rug was missing. I almost slipped when I stepped out of the shower!

In addition, the bathroom and the dressing area smelled like sewage! A design flaw no doubt.

What is more outrageous is I needed a room key to get to the Hotel lobby! As it was such a weirded and unexpected practice, I was stuck in the elevator for a long time before someone from the hotel to let me, a guest, from my floor to the lobby, which is a public area! As a result, I was late for my car pick up and had to rush like mad to the airport.

Another horrible experience was breakfast. All I wanted was oatmeal with some walnuts. It turned out the hotel had to search for walnuts! After waiting for 15 minutes and they found walnuts, my oatmeal was cold and I run out of time for another one! Five-star hotel? What a joke!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yibingmao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, General Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Yibingmao,

Thank you choosing to stay at China World Summit Wing during your last visit to Beijing and your feedback on TripAdvisor. Please accept my regrets and apologies regarding the series of inconveniences you encountered during your stay.

The disappointing issues you have encountered with our housekeeping delayed service and that we ran out of walnut at breakfast are unacceptable and is not reflective of the usual high standards we hold ourselves to. Your feedback have been shared with my people concerned and we are taking steps to improve. On the lift access issue, we are always torn between guest's convenience or safety and security. Being an iconic building in Beijing, we have also be advised by the local authorities to enforce such security measures. We can only ask and seek your understanding.

I sincerely hope you will indulge us on this occasion and to give us another chance to change your perception of China World Summit Wing. Kindly contact my office and I will be delighted and obliged to see to it that your next stay would be a perfect one.


Warm regards,
Thomas Schmitt-Glaseser, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This makes and interesting comparison to the Kerry Hotel (see another review).

The pros: (1) the view, (2) the rooms -- a notch above Kerry but not by much and wouldn't be part of my decision, frankly, (3) the swimming pool / fitness / locker rooms. I suppose (1) and (3) are pretty damn nice. In fact, this was the most spectacular setting and quality of swimming pool and locker rooms that I've seen anywhere. Period, no qualification.

The cons: (1) No equivalent to the Club at the Kerry (or the regular China World). Well, there may not be a #2. I'm pretty impressed, though for me personally I am thinking Kerry may be a better choice. The Summit's breakfast is included in my rate, and I assume I'll be pleased tomorrow, but I had to pay for a glass of wine at 6 PM (which would have flowed freely at the Kerry) and very sparse finger food in the lobby wouldn't pass for more than a very very light snack. Clearly a different business model, so maybe the Kerry is a better choice for me.

Final note: if you're going to experiment with a Bloody Mary, warn the customer that it is "Chinese Style" or something. It was kind of resembling a Bloody Mary but it tasted like I was drinking BBQ sauce with some vodka and a stalk of celery. A classic Bloody Mary should be a staple at any high-end bar, and although some variation is acceptable this was too far astray for my taste. Typos on the menu didn't impress, either. Comp me a room and I'll proof-read it for you!

It's one heck of a nice facility. I think it strives to be absolutely the best. It is close but the polish isn't quite there in my honest opinion (IMHO).

Room Tip: I find it hard to believe there is a bad room here. The view... wow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel by far exceeded all of my expectations, from checkin to checkout we were treated wonderfully. We checked in to find a larger than average room. The breakfast was great. Could order from a menu or choose from buffet. The lounge was nice as well. We had some spectacular views. The location was great. I highly recommend this for a stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fanfan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear fanfan W,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at China World Summit Wing during your last visit to Beijing and your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is our pleasure to know that you found the stay experience excellent.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Beijing!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic - I only had one night here but it is high, with great views and good restaurants. Rooms are large and well designed. Restaurants are high quality. Staff greeted me at reception which was quite intimate and personalised and then took me to my room ... I don't really like this growing trend but it is good service.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BalancedCritic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear BalancedCritic2014,

We really appreciate your having chosen to stay at China World Summit Wing during your trip in Beijing, and your spending time making comments for us. We are delighted to learn that you found the stay experience excellent and sincerely look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Beijing!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,516 in Beijing
755 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,785 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,420 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,516 in Beijing
937 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#10 of 6,516 in Beijing
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing

Property: Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District | Upper Floors of China World Tower III, Starting From 64/F, Beijing 100004, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Beijing
#5 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#8 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#21 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#26 Family Hotel in Beijing
#159 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China World Summit Wing, Beijing comprises 278 guest rooms and suites, four designer restaurants, two bars and a lounge. Accommodations with guest room sizes averaging 65 square metres are the most spacious in the city. Rooms and suites come with double basins and connecting room or adjacent room options. The hotel also houses the city's highest spa retreat with CHI, The Spa - Shangri-La's signature spa brand - on level 77. Most of the city's attractions, such as the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, are within a 15-minute drive. All in-house guests have access to Resident's Foyer on level 64, with complimentary fruits, snacks coffee, tea, soft drinks served throughout the day, 2 hours use of meeting room per room per day and Happy Hour from 6pm to 8pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China World Summit Wing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing