We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
Ranked #1 of 1,405 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

surely environment around is pretty nice…but living in the villa outside not really my cup of tea…wake up at 5am because of chicken and dogs in natural area is ok but because of noise from workers of other building work and public radio big no go better stay away if you like to relax wrong place at all!!walk way main entrance currently not existing not nice … 1 day not more

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Bumsii, I am so sorry that the experience we offer was not, as you put it, your cup of tea. I think you stayed in one of our homes set in the middle of the village. At the top of our FAQ is this statement: "Nearly all of our guests seem to appreciate becoming part of our village even if only as short-term visitors. We are in a very quiet community though dogs do bark, cocks do crow, donkeys do bray, and neighbors do sometimes have a family argument. Sometimes the village public address systems broadcast announcements or news and entertainment. Please be tolerant of the sounds of village life which we have no power or right to control." We try to create a set of expectations so guests who don't want this experience will seek somewhere else better suited to their personal requirements. We trust that prospective guests will put your very harsh review into perspective. Still, I see that you rarely give such bad reviews so please be assured you have my full attention. Again, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and wish you many more happy travels. With best regards, Jim Spear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Nestled in a rural village within sight of the Great Wall and easy access to some pretty cool and nmoderate hikes and walks in the mountains, The Brickyard is truly worth taking a day or two to enjoy. Most tourists will run out to the Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing for a quick day trip, but it is so worth booking a night or two at The Brikcyard to relax and see the wall in an unhyurried fashion. You won't be disappointed. The rooms are pleasant with a hip decor without being over done. The staff is friendly and full of tips for walks. Shuttle buses take you to the wall and to other dinner spots on demand.

The best way to get there from Beijing is simply a taxi, it was less than US$50 for the hour long ride and if possible see if the taxi will come back out and pick up up when you want to live. The car service offered by the hotel to Beijing is expensive aout twice the taxi costs.

I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: See if you can book a roundtriup taxi ride from Beijing; The Hotel car service is fine but twice the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckm2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Chuckm2003, Our team is really happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Brickyard and Mutianyu Great Wall. Your comments about how a longer stay at the Great Wall can make for a wonderful experience will surely be helpful to other guests. You are absolutely right that taxis are the least expensive and a reliable way to get out here and I'm glad you've shared your insights so other guests can make even better informed decisions about transfers. Wishing you many happy adventures, Jim Spear, Partner (P.S. I am also the property designer so it was especially pleasing for me that you described the rooms as "hip" -- thank you!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here for one night in May. It was recommended by our travel agent as something different to luxury hotels and as a convenient way to see the Great Wall. It is situated right below the wall.
The staff were wonderful. Really caring and wanting to please. Our room was different to what we had expected and quite open with lots of light. And spectacular views of the mountains and the Wall. The rooms are not luxurious but certainly adequate. And they are unique. And that's what makes this place.
It was my birthday and we were given a complimentary glass of wine which was nice. We dined at the Schoolhouse and the meal was superb. We met the owner, Jim, with whom we had an interesting conversation. Then the staff bought in a small cake and candle no sang happy birthday! It was wonderful.
I would certainly recommend this hotel as something unique, different and as a friendly welcoming establishment. And as a great place to visit the Great Wall from.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dannyg555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Dannyg555, This is Jim Spear responding to your lovely, concrete, and detailed review. We're just delighted that you enjoyed your stay! I really enjoyed chatting with you and wish you many happy adventures as you continue your travels. Kind regards, Jim Spear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Loved our one night stay here, wish it had been longer, as the rain was torrential and we would have loved to have more time to explore the wall. The accommodation and staff were wonderful, made us feel so welcome. The village is beautiful and it is wonderful to stay somewhere that did not seem touristy, where villagers were going about their business. Walks were scenic and beautiful in the area. Breakfast was delicious and we wish we had time to eat dinner there also. (We will highly recommend this place to our friends). The bed and room were so relaxing and it was amazing to be able to see the great wall from the bed.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the great wall would be wonderful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggyleelupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear peggyleelupton, Our whole team appreciates your wonderful review. Our aim is to deliver a great experience that matches our setting near the Great Wall and feedback like yours gives us a lot of encouragement. I'm sorry the rain was so heavy during part of your stay but I have to tell you, we needed it badly to get spring sprung after a dry winter. Wishing you many more happy adventures in your travels, Jim Spear, Partner (and designer of the Brickyard)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

What a wonderful experience. My husband and I traveled to China, our first time, and chose to visit The Great Wall at Mutianyu. We stayed at the Brickyard retreat. We traveled from to Shanghai to Beijing and hoped a driver would meet us at the train station as planned. Our driver was waiting for us as soon as we stepped off the train and drove us to our retreat or should I say our little oasis. Brickyard sits in a tiny village beneath the Great Wall of China. We were greeted by the owner and made to feel so very special. He visited with us at length like we were old friends. After a refreshing drink, we were escorted to our room. I was shocked. This room had a wall of glass and a view of the Great Wall that I cannot begin to describe. The gurgling brooks outside our room and the lush gardens with blooming flowers everywhere were amazing. My husband and I felt so at home that after awaking at 4:30 AM, we rambled to the hot tub and quietly stepped in. Total silence as we watched the sunrise. A magnificent massage and delightful food made our stay perfect. After buying our tickets, we hiked to the great wall with no tourist, just the two of us, then took the gondola down. On our second day we had dinner at The Schoolhouse Canteen, their other restaurant located in an old schoolhouse.WE ran into the the wife of this team and visited her like we had known each other forever. I cannot begin to express the beauty of what this husband and wife team are doing for the neighboring villages. I hope that anyone who reads this review, even if you choose not to stay, will read about this truly beautiful place. I have never met more interesting and fascinating people.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are spectacular. The Queen Superior was just that!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Laura C, This is Jim Spear. My wife Liang and I really enjoyed meeting you and talking with you and your husband. We were just bowled over by your review -- thank you very much for your wonderful appraisal and encouragement. We are sharing with our partners Julie & Peiming and with our whole team, a great spur to all of us to work even harder to deliver a special experience to every guest. Wishing you many more happy adventures... Jim Spear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Brickyard is very pleasant and a perfect place to stay so you can get to the Great Wall early before the crowds. Worth getting a room that gives a good view of the countryside and the wall in the distance. It's pretty simple - no TV, but that is part of its charm. March is not an ideal time to visit - everything was still brown at the end of a very dry winter. Later in spring through fall would be better when the countryside is green and the farms are in full production. It's comfortable and the staff are pleasant and a lovely quiet respite from the hectic traffic of Beijing. Eat dinner at the nearby Schoolhouse.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutsaboutnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear nutsaboutnews, Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Brickyard. The tag end of winter has its own stark beauty -- but just after you visited the earth came alive and the forsythia, apricots, flowering plums, and lilacs that fill our gardens blossomed. The 5,000 irises in the yoga garden walk are about to come in. No matter the season, though, the Great Wall and the rough mountains it's perched on loom over our village. We welcome you to come and visit again if your travels bring you back to Beijing... Jim Spear, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I had a very relaxing stay at Brickyard. The room was comfortable and staff were very kind. It's a peaceful two day run-away from the city. Relative big yard compared with Schoolhouse. Quite nice even just sitting in the yard, enjoying tea and mountain view.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella_Ye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Stella_Ye, My names is Jim Spear and I am the designer of the Brickyard and also a partner in The Schoolhouse at Mutianyu which owns this boutique hotel. I'm just delighted to know you enjoyed your two night stay with us -- and we hope you'll come back again for another serving of the fresh air and friendly service we have on offer. Thank you for reviewing our team! Jim Spear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,473 reviews
Huairou Scenic Resort
Home of the Great Wall
Home of the Great Wall
#180 of 6,531 in Beijing
27 reviews
Commune by the Great Wall
#193 of 6,531 in Beijing
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,531 in Beijing
768 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,531 in Beijing
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall

Address: Yingbeigou Village, Beijing 101405, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,405 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: £135 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickyard is a lush and private eco-retreat that incorporates the kilns and other buildings of a traditional glazed tile factory in a design which is "green" from the ground up. The 16 queen rooms all have private terraces and story-and-a-half window walls with spectacular views of the Great Wall. Wireless internet but no TVs. Complimentary breakfast buffet and coffee, soft drinks, and homemade cookies all day the Lodge, where casual meals and bar service are also offered. The Activity Center is fully-equipped for conferences. The Brickyard Spa is set in our four-season garden with lotus pond and yoga platform. Enjoy complimentary use of the Exercise Room and the Outdoor Jacuzzi (available May). Try a Chinese massage or relax in the Spa's Gold Suite with Great Wall view sauna, private bath, treatment room, and courtyard with outdoor shower and cold plunge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickyard Eco Retreat At Mutianyu Great Wall Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing