We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a Beijinger”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quanzi International Youth Hostel
Ranked #58 of 979 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I could not recommend this Guest House more highly!

The service is as good as any I have had in 5-star hotels. Mike does an outstanding job of taking care of his guests. One day, I was asking him if he would write down something in Chinese for me, to make it easier when I went to the pharmacy. I told him I needed eye drops, he asked me to wait one minute, left, and returned with how own drops for me. On our second evening ay the house, a few of the guests sat down with Mike and he shared a simple tea ceremony with us. It was a nice time of local culture and conversation.

The beds are quite nice. The mattress and pillows are soft/comfortable. The shower is hot! The Aircon is cold.

Granted, the bedrooms are small, but all we did there was sleep - no big deal.

Mike will help you with reasonably priced tour packages, if you want.

It was a quaint and enjoyable 4 days.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may want to bring earplugs. While we had NO PROBLEM, thr potential...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

I picked this hotel for my initial nights in China because I read the reviews about the helpful staff and I wanted help with such things as arranging tours, train tickets, hiring a driver, etc.

Well, that stuff worked out so-so. They couldn't get one of the train tickets I wanted (not really their fault -train tickets are hard to get sometimes), and I wound up going with an online agency which delivered them to the guesthouse. A driver for a day would've cost me 900 RMB through them, which is EXPENSIVE! Wound up taking a public bus to go on daytrips outside Beijing, which sometimes works better, but you have to be a little brave to do it that way without knowing any Chinese (and do some research).

What I really loved, though, was the nice, soft beds. I didn't realize what an incredible treat that is compared to just about every other place in China, where rock hard beds are the rule.

The facilities are fine. Copious hot water and an AC in every room. It took me till the second night to figure out how to use the AC, but yes there is one, and yes it does work well.

Breakfast is really skimpy. Not-always-fresh white bread and some jam. But there are plenty of places to get cheap breakfast around.

Free internet wasn't really available. The computers were both broken when I stayed, though the owner happily lent me his laptop for a short time to check and send some email.

Loved the atmosphere inside and out. The courtyard is really inviting, and it was nice to stay in a real hutong. Location is OK, but don't underestimate distances in Beijing. It looks close to the metro on the map, but in reality it's a hike. 15 minutes at a brisk pace -not exactly comfortable when the weather is hot and humid, or bitterly cold. If they had a bike or two to rent, it would be nice.

A little on the pricey side for a private room. Definitely western prices. But pretty much western standards too, in a very atmospheric setting and a good staff. Overall happy with the stay. In fact, considering this is China, just having the soft bed was worth the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregsf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My boyfriend and I have been travelling around China this summer..I can't really think of a better place to stay in Beijing..! Beijing Backhome guesthouse is clean, confy, well-located, has wi-fi, free breakfast... Mike and his team make a great work!

While we were there, we had Dumpling night! After teaching us how to make them, we had them for dinner. They were sooo good! We also followed Mike's advice and tried the best Duck in Beijing..and it's just around the corner! Another night! we had dinner with Mike and his friends in the hotel and afterwards had some traditional chinese tea. It was like being in a chinesse livingroom!

I really recommend this guesthouse..whenever I go back to Beijing, I won't have a doubt! Hope I can do it soon!

Anna

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anna_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had a great time in Beijing staying in this charming, laid back hutong guesthouse. We loved the neighborhood--it has a lot of character (read: not touristy). Close to the subway, bank, and little convenience stores. We got lots of help from Mike (who speaks perfect English) with directions and planning our days. Mike even mailed our painting to our next hostel in Shanghai after we left it there. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Private rooms facing the courtyard can get a little noisy--bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank kermitbeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZHAOBING, Manager at Quanzi International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

so happy to see your word here. hope you have enjoy here. well come back next year. your MIKE.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Nice clean hotel in Xisi area close to metro but away from busy traffic. Renovated traditional hutong alley house. Friendly staff speaks English and offers guided tours. Bathroom narrow and nothing special but in general really charming and family style hotel. Would sure stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sponch136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZHAOBING, Manager at Quanzi International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

we are so happy to see that you are happy with your stay and thanks for spending your time to wright for us . hope to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Hotel location is good. In between 平安里 and 西四 MRT station.

Room we had does not come with any cabinet. However, it still meet our expectation as a comfy room.

Michael; one of the owners is very helpful thought out our stay.

Certainly will recommend friends who plan to travel to Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank will_9441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZHAOBING, Manager at Quanzi International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

hi LEE

this is MIKE . ha ha how are you doing.
we will be ready for you coming next time ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

In order to reach the toilet you had to walk through the shower that leaked so bad that you walked to dunk (Room No 509).
Several times we indicated to repair it but they don't want to do so.
For early departures, there was no breakfast.
No clean towels everyday or sheets, the were still on the ground
The bedroom was too small.
Absolutely no value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZHAOBING, Manager at Quanzi International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear guest
thanks for you spend many time on writting a review of our guest house.
But we just want to inform you that you had post you review on the wrong guest house.
Every one comes they will get a key of the room with the room number on it.we only have 10 rooms here.the rooms number like 801 802 803 804 805^^...... like this
when we have a room with number 509 .???
And the toilet is all inside in the guest room.you do not need walk outside that's the same room.
now i am sure that you write a wrong review on the wrong page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,516 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,648 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#60 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,486 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quanzi International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quanzi International Youth Hostel

Address: No.58 Xisi North Wutiao Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China (Formerly Qingfeng-Xisi Hutong Guest House)
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 979 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Price Range: £6 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Quanzi International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house has been newly decorated in 2010 and is ready to welcome guests from all over the world. BackHome Beijing Guest house is a small 10 room Hutong Guest house located at No.58 Xisi bei wu tiao Hutong(No.58 Xisi North 5th Alley)XiCheng District in North West Beijing, not far from the Beijing North train station. This is a traditional hutong house with a courtyard. The house itself was built at the beginning of the Qing Dynasty and once was the residence of a Prime Minister in feudal times. It is about 700 years history.It also has a great courtyard outside of the rooms where one can sit and read and meet other guests. It is not far away from the famous Bai Ta Temple. The guest house is located in one of the nicest hutong areas of Beijing. Hutongs are traditional areas of the city where people still live very much as in a village. You can safely walk the small streets of the Hutong and see how people still live and work as they did hundreds of years ago. Visit the hutong markets and see the small shops offering a huge variety of things. Inside the beautiful sunny courtyard, there is a central air-conditioning, so you can enjoy the sunshine as well as cool air even in hot summer, and you can feel warm even it is snowy outside. The yard consists of Chinese and Western Leisure parts, Wi-Fi covers all over the yard. Elegant rooms are equipped with cold & warm air-conditioning.It is close to the subway stations of Line 4 and Line 2 which allow you to get around Beijing easily and quickly. The house is 20 minutes away from Tiananmen Square, 2 kms from the Northern Railway station, 4 kms from the West Railway station, and 28 kms from the airport, which cost you about 100 RMB by taxi.You can walk around Fu Cheng Men Street which is a main shopping street. The experience of living at Qingfeng xisi hutong guest house will give you a great understanding of the real China, far from the huge, modern glass buildings of downtown Beijing. You will find peace and friendliness here after a day of visiting the sights of Beijing. The friendly English speaking staff will make you feel you are living in a Chinese family. Want to learn Mandarin; this is the place to stay. Long term rates available. Contact us, we would to see you and see you back again. It is getting colder and colder in Beijing! We will offer you a warmer room Our guest house is a traditional style courtyard house. All rooms have air-conditioning and heating.Meanwhile, lower prices will be offered online since 1st of November until the end of March in the next year! Come and get your beds before they are fully booked.* FREE 24-hour hot shower* FREE towels* FREE books to borrow * FREE air ticket booking* FREE travel information* FREE hostel booking in China* The Great Wall ( Jinshanling to Simatai hiking, Mutianyu,etc;ba da ling) and lunch included* Show tickets with discount (kungfu, Peking opera, acrobatic show) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quanzi International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing