We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to be adventurous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quanzi International Youth Hostel
Ranked #58 of 941 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Need to be adventurous”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I completely agree with the last (Italian) review. Good price, friendly staff (translations by computer!), comfy bed, and no appearance by the legendary Mike. One suggestion for a filling, yummy & cheap breakfast would be to walk down the long alley towards Xisi stn., turn rt. at the main road, and the restaurant is a few blocks down on the right. It is very popular, & be prepared to do a lot of pointing unless you have a guide. Oh, and 5 taxi drivers at the airport would not take us here, even though we had the translation in script and a map - we gave up and took the metro.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatheyW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    22
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
15
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed here alone after arriving by train from Moscow. My friends had reservation in other hostels, but very soon all of them moved to BackHome Beijing, leaving behind their already paid rooms - this tells everything about the place:)

Mike at the reception is awesome! He does a great job to accommodate you, he's very helpful and just cool:) The place is clean and cozy in general. The location is pretty good, some 7-8 min walk to the underground.

We went to the Great Wall tour which they offered and it was very good value and well organised! We did not have to play herring at Badaling, but could enjoy the nature and the silence as there were only us at this part of the Wall.

There is a restaurant nearby, they offer very good food. Reception can organise delivery to the guesthouse which is very convenient after a long day.

All in all this place is great value for the money, I did recommend it already to other friends who visited Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorcika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The only down side is the location. Although it is right at the beginning of the small alley, it is only convenient if you are taking cab back to and from the hotel. If you are taking subway, the nearest station is right at the other end of the alley and another 500M to either left or right. I wouldn't mind to take cab back to the hotel every time but the thing is the taxis in Beijing are few and those that are waiting around for passengers are fake ones, waiting to charge exorbitant price. So we will be forced to take the subway unless you want to give in to the thugs. Just to quote, from qian men to this hotel, it shouldn't be more than RMB30 but they asked for RMB80. My wife and I ended walking home from the subway station to the hotel at 9pm plus and with the dark lighting through the alley, it seems rather dangerous. Of cos this is by no fault of the hotel but those who don't like to walk too far may have to consider this, especially after you have climbed the great Wall. For me, I do not wish to visit Beijing anymore but if I do, it probably not going to be my choice again. If you are ok with the walking distance, then you can consider this place for its nice hosts and relatively cheap price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

It was a wonderful holiday. The hotel is very cozy. Lovely staff, who strive to create a homely and friendly atmosphere. Evenings at one table with a family were especially remembered. I really felt at home. The trip to a karaoke is was cheerful :)
Many historical sites and the metro is very close.
This hotel - a fine place to receive the most good memories of Beijing.
I want to return again "home".

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZacharovaSasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I could not recommend this Guest House more highly!

The service is as good as any I have had in 5-star hotels. Mike does an outstanding job of taking care of his guests. One day, I was asking him if he would write down something in Chinese for me, to make it easier when I went to the pharmacy. I told him I needed eye drops, he asked me to wait one minute, left, and returned with how own drops for me. On our second evening ay the house, a few of the guests sat down with Mike and he shared a simple tea ceremony with us. It was a nice time of local culture and conversation.

The beds are quite nice. The mattress and pillows are soft/comfortable. The shower is hot! The Aircon is cold.

Granted, the bedrooms are small, but all we did there was sleep - no big deal.

Mike will help you with reasonably priced tour packages, if you want.

It was a quaint and enjoyable 4 days.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may want to bring earplugs. While we had NO PROBLEM, thr potential...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I picked this hotel for my initial nights in China because I read the reviews about the helpful staff and I wanted help with such things as arranging tours, train tickets, hiring a driver, etc.

Well, that stuff worked out so-so. They couldn't get one of the train tickets I wanted (not really their fault -train tickets are hard to get sometimes), and I wound up going with an online agency which delivered them to the guesthouse. A driver for a day would've cost me 900 RMB through them, which is EXPENSIVE! Wound up taking a public bus to go on daytrips outside Beijing, which sometimes works better, but you have to be a little brave to do it that way without knowing any Chinese (and do some research).

What I really loved, though, was the nice, soft beds. I didn't realize what an incredible treat that is compared to just about every other place in China, where rock hard beds are the rule.

The facilities are fine. Copious hot water and an AC in every room. It took me till the second night to figure out how to use the AC, but yes there is one, and yes it does work well.

Breakfast is really skimpy. Not-always-fresh white bread and some jam. But there are plenty of places to get cheap breakfast around.

Free internet wasn't really available. The computers were both broken when I stayed, though the owner happily lent me his laptop for a short time to check and send some email.

Loved the atmosphere inside and out. The courtyard is really inviting, and it was nice to stay in a real hutong. Location is OK, but don't underestimate distances in Beijing. It looks close to the metro on the map, but in reality it's a hike. 15 minutes at a brisk pace -not exactly comfortable when the weather is hot and humid, or bitterly cold. If they had a bike or two to rent, it would be nice.

A little on the pricey side for a private room. Definitely western prices. But pretty much western standards too, in a very atmospheric setting and a good staff. Overall happy with the stay. In fact, considering this is China, just having the soft bed was worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregsf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,517 in Beijing
1,418 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,517 in Beijing
2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,517 in Beijing
2,885 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#60 of 6,517 in Beijing
2,433 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#41 of 6,517 in Beijing
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quanzi International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quanzi International Youth Hostel

Property: Quanzi International Youth Hostel
Address: No.58 Xisi North Wutiao Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China (Formerly Qingfeng-Xisi Hutong Guest House)
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 941 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Quanzi International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house has been newly decorated in 2010 and is ready to welcome guests from all over the world. BackHome Beijing Guest house is a small 10 room Hutong Guest house located at No.58 Xisi bei wu tiao Hutong(No.58 Xisi North 5th Alley)XiCheng District in North West Beijing, not far from the Beijing North train station. This is a traditional hutong house with a courtyard. The house itself was built at the beginning of the Qing Dynasty and once was the residence of a Prime Minister in feudal times. It is about 700 years history.It also has a great courtyard outside of the rooms where one can sit and read and meet other guests. It is not far away from the famous Bai Ta Temple. The guest house is located in one of the nicest hutong areas of Beijing. Hutongs are traditional areas of the city where people still live very much as in a village. You can safely walk the small streets of the Hutong and see how people still live and work as they did hundreds of years ago. Visit the hutong markets and see the small shops offering a huge variety of things. Inside the beautiful sunny courtyard, there is a central air-conditioning, so you can enjoy the sunshine as well as cool air even in hot summer, and you can feel warm even it is snowy outside. The yard consists of Chinese and Western Leisure parts, Wi-Fi covers all over the yard. Elegant rooms are equipped with cold & warm air-conditioning.It is close to the subway stations of Line 4 and Line 2 which allow you to get around Beijing easily and quickly. The house is 20 minutes away from Tiananmen Square, 2 kms from the Northern Railway station, 4 kms from the West Railway station, and 28 kms from the airport, which cost you about 100 RMB by taxi.You can walk around Fu Cheng Men Street which is a main shopping street. The experience of living at Qingfeng xisi hutong guest house will give you a great understanding of the real China, far from the huge, modern glass buildings of downtown Beijing. You will find peace and friendliness here after a day of visiting the sights of Beijing. The friendly English speaking staff will make you feel you are living in a Chinese family. Want to learn Mandarin; this is the place to stay. Long term rates available. Contact us, we would to see you and see you back again. It is getting colder and colder in Beijing! We will offer you a warmer room Our guest house is a traditional style courtyard house. All rooms have air-conditioning and heating.Meanwhile, lower prices will be offered online since 1st of November until the end of March in the next year! Come and get your beds before they are fully booked.* FREE 24-hour hot shower* FREE towels* FREE books to borrow * FREE air ticket booking* FREE travel information* FREE hostel booking in China* The Great Wall ( Jinshanling to Simatai hiking, Mutianyu,etc;ba da ling) and lunch included* Show tickets with discount (kungfu, Peking opera, acrobatic show) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Quanzi International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing