We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hutong Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hutong Haven”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed at the The Red Wall Garden for two nights in late September 2012 with my husband on a business / leisure trip. The RWG exceeded expectations right from the start with a complementary airport pick-up (a saving of roughly ¥100RMB). This was followed by a complementary 30 minute Chinese massage in my room. Actually, I was ill the day I had my massage, vomiting, and my massage therapist did some kind of a medicinal stomach pressure point rub which hurt at the time but made me feel so much better afterwards.

The rooms are very clean and the decor is traditional Chinese. The location is inside a Hutong within the old city of BJ. Taxi drivers are reluctant to enter the hutong even if booked by the hotel reception so it's much easier to walk 100 meters to the main road.

My huband says they RWG is beautiful boutique hotel and a much better choice than any 5 star hotel in BJ. TIP: If you need to have laundry doen there are several small shops in the hutong to the left of the RWG entrance that can do it for ¥30 a kg bag in just a few hours.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and will book again for our next trip to BJ.

Room Tip: The bathtubs are quite good too if you can get a room with one :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priscbazaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel. Your positive comment are very much appreciated. Make sure to tell us your flight details for the pick up service. Our aim is to let all the guests to feel like home, no matter what questions we will try our best to solve them. For the laundry service, we will try to fix them in price, in order to help more guests in the future. We would like to thank you again for your comment, it encourages a lot. We will also improve our weaknesses that you have mentioned. We hope you had a pleasant journey back home, And We would like to see you again in the future!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    279
    49
    9
    5
See reviews for
291
549
87
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mtunzini, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Very warm welcome and friendly staff! Always helpful, and most of them could speak and understand English well. Beautiful,clean room, and lovely garden patio to relax and have a drink. Like a safe haven in the midst of the crowded and dirty streets of the Hutong area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YolandeVenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel. We are very much appreciate your positive review, it encourages us alot. We will keep improving our service. We hope to give you a better experiences in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I liked this hotel very much. The young staff who tried hard really need training. There were problems with such basic things as taxi directions once ending up far far away from where we wanted to go, , setting up wifi (it is really not good enough to link wifi to passport number with a single connection involved) .. On departure day the collecting taxi driver (who clearly did not want to take us) complained about luggage not fitting while staff stood around helplessly. My daughter stacked our cases in the trunk without difficulty.
Again i liked the hotel a lot but some additional training is needed. If you go use the airport pickup service as finding the hotel is difficult.
Also drop into the nearby regent and pick up one of their cards with directions.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaracat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel, Your review are very much appreciated! We do take your advice seriously. We will enhance our training program.

P.S. We do have a Complementary Airport pick up service, Please make sure to book it with us before your arrival!

We hope you had a pleasant journey back home.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Yours Sincerely

Red Wall Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Located near by the forbidden city, the Red Wall Garden hotel makes you feeling like at home thanks to the politeness and kindness of the entire staff. They are absolutely unique and always ready to he you sorting out any issues or answer any questions you may have.

Rooms and bathrooms are very big and clean; restaurant very quiet with excellent Chinese food (reasonable prices and very good service); wi-fi connection available everywhere in the hotel and very fast

In my rate there was a free massage included and also a one-way airport transfer.

Bear in mind to print the map from their website ahead of your arrival otherwise could be a bit tricky to find the hotel. Quickest way to get to the hotel from the airport is to take the express train to Dongzhimen station (cards not accepted to buy train tickets) the you get off at Dengshikou station (line 5) and get to exit C; few mins walking and you get to Red Wall Garden

Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your honest comment! very detailed and special! It means a lot to us, we will keep improving our services and giving out the best to all our guests. we hope you had a good time here, and We hope to see you again in the future! for further information and deals about our hotel, you can either follow us on twitter: Red Wall Garden BJ or Facebook: Beijing Red Wall Garden Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

In august, my husband and i went to visit China, under the recommendation of a friend in australia, we chose the red wall garden hotel as where we stayed in Beijing for 5 nights. The hotel was fantastic and impressed us very well.
When we just walked out from the custom hall of the airport, we saw our names written on a signage clearly held by a young man, then the polite driver took us to the hotel directly. At the first sight when we stepped into the lobby of the hotel, we immediately had a warm feel. The courtyard in the center was so peaceful and beautiful with sun umbrellas, chairs, a fountain, trees and flowers! The room was fantastic! The furnishings and furniture were full of classical charm of china! In particular, I have to mention the comfortable bed, there was even the menu of pillows, it was interesting.
The breakfast was also very good.
The staying in the hotel brought us a lot of enjoyment to our trip in Beijing, I would like to choose it again the next time and recommend it to my friends who will visit Beijing in the future.

Room Tip: from my point of view, the room with a view of the courtyard is more attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for writing us the review! Your honest comment encourages us. We will keep improving as where we are. And we look forward to seeing you and your friends coming in the future!

We wish you had a good trip back home

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for 8 nights in September, 2012.

We arrived at Beijing international airport at 5 am after a long flight. The driver of the hotel waited for us at the exit holding a card with my name and the hotel logo written on it. You have to write an e-mail to the hotel before and ask for the pick-up service. One pick up is included in the room rate. The driver was very nice, discrete and greeted us with a smile (and two bottles of water).

The hotel is located within a beautiful hutong. The dengshikou subway station is within very short walking distance from the hotel. Don't get intimidated by the subway: it's very easy to use, very cheap and the signs are written in chinese and english. (FYI: The ticket vending machine doesn't accept 1 Yuen notes.)

Another easy way to get around in Beijing is taking taxis. If you don't speak chinese do always take a map with you. The taxi will most likely not find the hotel as the drivers don't know the streets in the hutongs. So just say that they should drop you off at the dengshikou station. Worked well for us. (Oh, if someone approaches you and askes if you are looking for a taxi: use your brain and do not take it. It is clearly a tourist scam.)

The staff at the hotel was great! I would especially like to thank the very nice and attentive waitress in the courtyard from south africa and the receptionist who made sure that everything is perfectly organized for our check-out (unfortunately I don't know their names). We even got a free airport drop-off since we stayed at the hotel for 8 nights. This was very much appreciated as we had to be at the airport at 4 am.

Our room rate did not include breakfast. One day we had it anyway and thought that for about 100 Yuen per person it is a little bit on the expensive side.

The room was great (awesome air con). No complaints at all. The wifi is included but a little bit shaky. You have to tipe in your passport number to use it. Two free bottles of water every day and even a bowl with fresh fruit.

There is a very nice restaurant in walking distance. It is called "Taste" and it is located in the dongsi hutong. You will find it on tripadvisor too.

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patpatpatpatpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive and detailed review. We hope you enjoyed your stay, and had good trip back to your home. For the WIFI problem, we just added some new aerials to all the router, so the signal is much better now. We hope you will have a better experience when the next time you come! We wish you the best! Hope to see you again!

Yours sincerely

Red Wall Garden Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The Red Wall Garden Hotel is located in one of Beijing's Hutong areas to the East of the Forbidden City.

Our booking included a transfer from the airport, we chose to take advantage of this on arrival. When we arrived into Beijing Airport the driver was waiting outside the immigration area with our name clearly printed on a sign. The journey to the hotel via car was long, 1.5 hours, this is typical in Beijing's terrible traffic.

When we finally made it to the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff who spoke excellent english. The hotel is beautiful, the courtyard area is the perfect spot for an afternoon beer or even dinner. Breakfast for 1 person was included and the second was 98CNY, there is a good selection of food and eggs are made up on request.

The rooms are large, ours overlooked the courtyard from the second floor.  Everything you need is in your room including a large daybed and comfy armchairs. The TV has only one English speaking channel, but who comes to Beijing to watch TV anyway! Free WIFI is available throughout the hotel and in your room, you need to enter your passport number first, Facebook and Twitter are not available. The beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is clean and modern with a traditional bath and a rain shower.

The hotel is within 5 minutes walk of the Dengshikou subway station. The subway is easy to use with english signage and costs 2CNY per journey. There are a few good restaurants close by and the Wangfujing Dajie shopping district is a 10 minute walk. We walked to the Forbidden city from the hotel, it takes around 45 minutes.

Tours can be arranged through the hotel who are more than happy to help. We took a trip to the Great Wall at Mutianyu with an english guide for 325CNY each.

This is a great place to stay in Beijing, the relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evandstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for all your positive review. It was our pleasure to have you stayed at our hotel. We will keep our good services and keep improving our hardware e.g More English TV channels. We are going to make sure you have a even more better experiences when the next time you come. We hope you had a pleasant journey.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

P.S You can follow us on Facebook: Beijing Red Wall Garden Hotel, or Twitter: Red Wall Garden BJ. We will have some further events about our hotel or some deals that coming soon in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,357 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,685 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,473 in Beijing
737 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Property: Red Wall Garden Hotel
Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage Cultural Entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor Noodle Stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The Private Dining and Event Rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for Meetings, Weddings or Events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese Cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal Meeting, Wedding or Event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense Historical, Cultural and Artistic life of Authentic and Historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing