We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find. Central. Boutique. Personal service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

All I needed for a four day stay in central Beijing. Minutes from everywhere including tourist attractions. Room are modest and simply but elegantly decorated. A lot of personalised 'western' touches distinguish this property from most local hotels, staff seemed better trained, friendlier. Food was a good mix of local and western. Stay away from the chains and experience China and Beijing with a hint of authenticity in a great setting for a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArdyAitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear guest, Thank you reviewing your stay at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. I am glad that you had a great experience and that our staff meet your expectations. Indeed, our hotel offers a different experience as “cookie cutter” chain hotels . We provide a more intimate, unique experience, in an authentic Chinese setting, which most boutique hotel travelers enjoy immensely. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
There are newer reviews for Red Wall Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had heard good things about this hotel through Trip Advisor but were concerned anyway because we have also heard stories about the dreary accommodations and service in Beijing. What a pleasure to find that it was possible to find a really great place with attentive service and a "touch of class" in such a good location. The "Western"-style service standards were a delight, and accessibility via the nearby subway was terrific. Our room was "Chinese" in appearance but completely modern in terms of amenities and facilities. My wife and I plan to stay here on any future trips to Beijing, and we recommend The Red Wall Garden to anyone planning to be there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear guest. Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to make our rooms as modern and comforting as possible without compromising on a traditional look and feel. We look forward to welcome you and your wife back in our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Location is excellent and easy walk from subway. Decor is great and a refreshing change from the ubiquitous dirty modern look of Beijing.
Room was absolute beautiful with dark, hardwood floors, antique carpets and furniture and large windows.
Service is to be expected by a Chinese hotel, meaning no frills, nothing fancy and no extra effort. Staff was very pleasant, however, with good english.
Breakfast is good selection of western/Chinese.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden hotel.

The hotel's location is excellent, short walking distance to Wangfujing and Forbidden City, butat the same time it is located far off from noisy streets which make it an excellent location for business travelers. All the rooms in our hotel are uniquely decorated and designed with antique furniture and make it a comfortable retreat for our guests.
We will definitely improve in offering a service with extra efforts which we hope you will experience on your next stay.
Best regards,
Red Wall Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in China, and I can tell you the star rating system is a very loose one, and certainly not comparable to the US ratings. HOWEVER, this little gem of a hotel was beyond in terms of friendlieness of staff, quality of rooms, the plush towels, great food, and the feeling of actually being in the hutong neighborhood. There were excellent personal touches: welcome card from manager, bowl of fruit in room on arrival, they knew our name in the restaurant!!! It was so convienently located for touring the city, and we will definately stay here again on the next visit to Beijing. The beds were comfortable, high end cosmetic and shower supplies, and I would encourage consideration of this hotel. Enjoy the experience of neighborhood and days gone by.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank agbowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your comment.
It has always been our commitment to ensure that our guests’ stay with us is a memorable one. All of our guestrooms are equipped with plush comfortable 'Dux’ beds which are imported from Sweden and we do our best to provide the best Beijing experience to our guest as much as we can.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here 2 weeks ago and had a excellent time in Beijing partly because of the location of this hotel and the great service we received. Its ideally located centrally with good access to most areas via the nearby subway station. The staff were very helpful with advising us on our holiday and made us feel very welcome. They even provided us with a welcome fruit bowl and Kinda eggs as it was easter weekend!

The hotel is probably not the most authentic chinese courtyard hotel but it definitely has many elements of chinese design with plenty of western comforts. The only issue we had was that our reservation did not have breakfast included even though we had booked this. This was easily rectified with no hassle immediately once I showed them the confirmation e-mail.

All in all, cannot fault the service we received and would recommend others stayed there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you for staying at the Red Wall Garden hotel.

First and foremost, we would like to extend our apologies for the confusion on your booking. Glad to know that that matter has been resolved at the Front Desk. Meanwhile, we are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The Chinese Courtyard is one of the popular features at Red Wall Garden Hotel alongside our hotel excellent location close to the subway and is accessible to most areas in central Beijing. We are looking forward to welcome you and your guests to our hotel again soon.
Best regards
Red Wall Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I choose to stay at this hotel as it was recommended by some friends of mine living in Beijing. I liked the idea about staying in a traditional area of the city. After seeing the reviews about this hotel I was pretty excited to see something different than the usual chain hotels...and I must say: I loved every single aspect of the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and large, huge beds, really nice bathroom with rain shower. The hotel feels really “homey” and peaceful. And believe me – in Beijing you learn to appreciate a place like this. I would definitely come back and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kallediekante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Kallediekante,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned in your review many guests enjoy the calm environment of the hotel after a hectic day in the city or sightseeing. We strive for that “homey” feeling and do everything to make our guests feel comfortable. We are looking forward to welcome you, your family and friends to Red Wall Garden Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in March and it really was excellent. I was super impressed by the genuine friendliness of the staff and the rooms and beds were very good. Service and food at breakfast could not have been better. It made a perfect wind-down on the way back from a hectic business trip in Taiwan. I would definitely stay here again and would not bother looking for other hotels if ever staying in Beijing in the future.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Dom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Dom,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments about our staff and hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you to Red Wall Garden Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,930 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,478 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#24 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,460 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,531 in Beijing
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £92 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage Cultural Entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor Noodle Stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The Private Dining and Event Rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for Meetings, Weddings or Events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese Cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal Meeting, Wedding or Event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense Historical, Cultural and Artistic life of Authentic and Historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing