We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hutong happiness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #20 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

What a great place to call your holiday home hidden in the hustings. Our room was a cute little 2storey cottage. Very peaceful with pleasant staff helping as much a possible + always with a smile. Free airport transfer one way, so great to be picked up from airport with persons who knows where they are going. Breakfast and dinner both beautiful. Peaceful stay close to the busy streets for exploring. Very comfortable bed for a good night sleep after that Great Wall of China trek. Definitly recommend the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Ilona-star:

We are so glad you chose our boutique hotel as a base for your "explorations" and you were able to experience the sights and and sounds of Beijing and its surroundings.

Our helpful guest services team is at your disposal to arrange individulaized tours to other points of interest in case your travel plans call for a another trip to Beijing.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to your "home away from home" soon!

Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Coming to China for the first time is not always the easiest... The Red Wall Garden Hotel helps to make your trip comfortable, warm and friendly. This is a hidden gem in a big bustling city. The accommodations themselves are great, location is perfect and most importantly the staff is the best! This will be my new home on my future visits to Beijing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chster15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Chster15:

Thank you for your kind comments - I will share them with our dedicated staff. Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Best Regards,

Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Enter from the hustle and bustle of the street into a quiet oasis of calm and service. The decor is unique and changes from the global chain hotels. The rooms were very comfortable, beds and linens of top quality. You can not go wrong here.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nashawtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you very much for writing a review for us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. Indeed many guests compare us with an oasis of calm right in the middle of Beijing. Glad also that you mention the decor: we aim to be unique and to showcase the Chinese culture in every aspect of the hotel. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Very nice hotel in a convenient location near the center of Beijing. The hotel is smaller and has lots of character, and the rooms were nice and clean. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful - they booked tours for us and even went to the train station to purchase tickets for us. We really enjoyed the on-site restaurant - it was a little pricey, but that was to be expected.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again if I return to Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you so much for writing us a review! We appreciate your kind words.
Our goal is to make sure that everything you could possibly need is already waiting for you, so that you have more time to enjoy your vacation and the beautiful things Beijing has to offer! Hope you enjoyed the tours our staff booked for you as much as you enjoyed the hotel.
Thank you again for staying with us and writing this review, and we look forward to hosting you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Verry good hotel near the center of Beijing.
Nice and clean rooms.
Good breakfast
Good food in the evening on the open square.
Friendly staff
Especially YaoYao; she knows how to deal with the guests; she's amazing!
If I go back to Beijing, I would defenitely book the same hotel again.

Kind regards from Belgium,
Tomas

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Tomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Tomas. Thank you for such a lovely review of our hotel and our wonderful staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share your memories, such as of enjoying a great meal in our lovely courtyard. We all hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

an amazing hotel in the city....in such a central location ...yet so quiet..we had a wonderful stay...the staff is so very helpful..rooms super comfortable...walking distance from wangfujing market....15 mts from silk market..what more does a tourist want....?? we reached our hotel very late one day tired due to the sight seeing and shopping...came to know that the chef had left since it was sooo late...still in10 minutes the staff arranged for hot fried rice specially for us...i saw that girl (i think her name was Yao yao ) rushing for her home soon after... she had stayed that extra tym so that she cud arrange for our dinner...was really touched !! the name garden is very apt coz in sucha small place they have so many colourful flowers..its a beautiful sight in the morning !!

Room Tip: if u have problems taking stairs...opt for a room on the ground level....though the wooden stairs ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehtadimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

We are glad that you had a marvelous stay here at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. Your comments about our services, amenities and great location is greatly appreciated. Our staff truly enjoys providing an excellent experience to each and every visitor, going out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. Thank you for your comments - we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very beautful hotel old but clean,bed was soft and comfortable, most important thing is just 10 minutes walk to forbidden city and Tiananmen square. hotel staff very friendly and service was fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tearro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for your positive review. The proximity to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square is enjoyed by all our guests and we are glad you had a chance to visit these wonderful sites. We wish you all the best and please come back to Beijing and the Red Wall Garden Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,621 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#33 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,262 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#65 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,548 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#59 of 6,599 in Beijing
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £92 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing