We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beijing's Hidden Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beijing's Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The moment you step out of the taxi after a whirlwind ride from the airport and on to the Redwall Garden Hotel property you are greeted with a warm smile. This hotel is truly a hidden gem. What makes it so you might ask.. well firstly is it decotrated beautlifully, it provides a calm haven amongst the sky scrapers and randomness that is Beijing city and you are catered for every step of the way. The staff are forever helpful, friendly and caring and nothing is too small of a task. I would like to give special mention to two outstanidng staff members in particular.. YAO who never forgot that when we had a drink that we liked peanuts to go with and never had to ask. YAO had a smile for every minute of the day WE THANKYOU. Also LILLY (supervisor) who went out of her way in many ways but one time in particular, she went and walked into Beijing city about 10 mins away and got a recharge phone card for us, late at night.. when we went to thank her she simply stated "im just doing my job" Lilly a BIG THANKYOU to you. It is the little things the staff do here that makes this place extra special. I would come back here time and time again. We thankyou Leigh F and David K from Australia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leigh f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Leigh and David,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a pleasure to read through your review. I am thrilled to know to our staff was able to impress you. I will pass your thanks to Yao and Lilly. These were perfect examples on how we take care of our guests and how we go out of our ways to offer the best service possible.

We hope you had a good trip back home and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel any time soon.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    284
    50
    9
    5
See reviews for
301
559
88
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I only had 3 nights here in Sept 2013, and wished I could have stayed 10! It's in the heart of the old city, and yet is an oasis of calm and peace and tranquillity. Open your windows, and because of the Hutong location where virtually the only traffic is visiting a property on that street, all you can here is the birds singing, the occasional street vendor calling his wares, and the sound of ordinary people doing what people do.
I had come in on the Trans-Siberian Express and so wanted a massage on arrival, and a quiet evening after. The massage was organised to suit my scheduling, and was excellent value. I ate in the hotel restaurant and had a superb meal, at very sensible prices. By day two half the staff were greeting me by name, I was made to feel so welcome by everyone here.
And the room was wonderful; huge comfy bed, sofa, easy chairs, bamboo bath with shower over! Free use of the computers was another bonus. There were sitting out areas, sitting in areas, you couldn't want for more.
Sometimes even small hotels can be full of noise and bustle. Not here. It's tranquillity itself. I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again next time I come to Beijing.

Room Tip: I was in 2403. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PMA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear PMA54,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad that you liked our location inside the Shijia Hutong and that you had the chance to experience the traditional side of China. Our hotel is indeed very calm whilst in the middle of Beijing. As you mentioned, we do offer traditional massage service in the hotel and we are glad you enjoyed it and felt rested afterwards.

We hope you had a good trip back home and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel any time soon.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here for one night on a stopover but couldn't have felt more welcome. All staff were polite and friendly and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We were upgraded on our arrival to a lovely room with a big wooden tub with a rain shower. We left for a long walk to Forbidden City armed with a great mud map provided by the manager with plenty, of detail and key buildings to help us find our way back. Our suitcases were stored for the whole day the next day whilst we went on our tour to Mutianyu. Dinner at this hostel was great (the deep fried pork was amazing), and breakfast was a huge selection of Chinese and western style options, complete with a chef to cook you an omelette if required. Fantastic personal service in a lovely Hutong, very refreshing change from the big name hotels. I will be back, thank you again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank larli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear larli,

Thank you so much for posting such a positive review for the Red Wall Garden Hotel.
We are happy that our staff could make such a great impression on you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed dinner and breakfast - our chefs will be glad to hear.

We would love to have you back!

Thank you again for your kind words.

Warmest Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent 4 night here last week. For the money there are better choices in the area. The beds are soft and bouncy. When asked if they could do anything about it the answer was NO. Breakfast was average. Staff means well but was not overly enthusiastic.

Room Tip: Better choices are available for the same money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcopolofl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Marcopolofl6,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that your experience was not as expected. Our beds are actually Swedish imported DUX beds which are one of the top luxury brands in the market. This is the first complaint about our beds (if you look at past comments our beds are one of the most commented and praised feature of the hotel) and I am sorry there was nothing our staff could have done to accommodate you. We really try our best to please our guests and go out of their way to provide the best possible service.

Regarding our breakfast and guest services - we are always in a quest to improve and appreciate your comments. If you could give us some specific suggestions on how we can improve these aspects, please send us an email (see on top of the TripAdvisor page for a link). We would highly appreciate your input.

We hope you had a safe trip back home.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent nine wonderful days ( two separate stays) at this outstanding facility in the month of September. It was a very special trip to Beijing, all the way from Panama, as part of our annual wedding anniversary celebration. Needless to say, that the staff, facilities, and environment, at the Red Wall Garden Hotel, provided the perfect blend to make it a wonderful, to be remembered, stay. The degree of care; the charismatic approach of all employees; always with a friendly smile and aiming to assist; coupled with the concern of the managerial staff towards all around satisfaction for its customers, made it all happen. Our special thanks to Mr. Di; Mr. Hans, and the staff for their professionalism and their concern for guests at all times. The facilities were an experience in itself, and the location of the hotel afforded us the opportunity to see Beijing from the inside, and made it a perfect staging ground to visit all sites by metro. This will definitely be our home away from home when we visit Beijing again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfredogon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear alfredogon,

It was a pleasure to have had you as our guests in our hotel. We are glad you loved it so much and that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary. Our staff really enjoyed meeting and taking care of you.
We hope you had a safe trip back to Panama and hopefully we have the chance to meet you again someday. It's an honor to be your "home away from home".

Warmest Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just returned from a one week stay at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. I really can't say enough about the experiences there. The hotel is as described in all of the previous reviews. I only want to add my support for this hotel here. From the quiet the hotel can provide after a busy day to the support of the staff that go out of their way to make your experience one to remember. Would stay there again without hesitation. I was traveling for business but my family was there with me and they truly enjoyed their stay as well.

Room Tip: We upgrade to the Red Wall suite and it was worth having the extra room for my family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kcdysart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Incognito-one

Thank you so much for your kind review and I am glad you made it home safely to new Jersey. I know you have been and seen so many other places and therefore your review means a lot to all of us and is also helpful to many other trip advisor users.

Hope to see you back again soon either for business or pleasure.

Warmest wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We recently spent 9 nights at Red Wall Garden Hotel and were more than happy with our choice. This is a wonderful hotel and a true find. Our room was spacious, nicely furnished, and well air conditioned, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom had a luxurious rain shower. We enjoyed sitting in the lovely courtyard in the evenings. The location is very convenient (in a quiet Hutong in short walking distance from a subway station) and the staff is super helpful and friendly. This hotel is a gem. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UP789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear UP789,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Red Wall Garden Hotel again, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,428 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,888 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,520 in Beijing
757 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,699 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Property: Red Wall Garden Hotel
Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage Cultural Entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor Noodle Stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The Private Dining and Event Rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for Meetings, Weddings or Events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese Cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal Meeting, Wedding or Event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense Historical, Cultural and Artistic life of Authentic and Historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing