We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your standard five star 'chain' - a beauty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #16 of 6,550 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

RWG excellent reputation is well earned. This is not a hermetically sealed homogenised international brand where you could be anywhere - it is a very comfortable home base with all the necessities, great service, lovely facilities in a location that lets you feel you are in China.
Stayed in the Duplex Suites for four nights. They are upstairs/downstairs units which are well appointed, comfortable beds, great showers, local feel with the furniture and opening onto a central courtyard with trees and tables where you can have a drink or a meal.
Staff are excellent, breakfasts were first class and they do have a restaurant for dinner (untried as there are great restaurants like 1949 just 5 minutes walk away).
Walking to Forbidden city is about 30 minutes and Wangfujing St shopping and quirky food alleys is 10 minutes.
Staff are just great and Lilly deserves a special mention for the genuine friendliness and level of attention she gave our party.

Room Tip: Duplex Suites are great value opening onto, and overlooking, the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Burg3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Burg3186

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our boutique hotel and inform other Tripadvisor users. Your comments have been passed onto the staff and placed on the staff notice board.

We are glad you made it home safely to Australia and hope to see you back again soon here in the Shijia Hutong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed here for three nights and loved it. The room was beautiful, clean and well appointed, and the bed was western style....if you've ever slept on the rock that the Chinese call a bed you'll appreciate it. The rain shower was a real treat and just what was needed after a day in the grimy air of Beijing. I had trouble with the wi-fi in the room and someone was at the door in about a minute to fix it. Everyone was gracious and friendly, and the location out of the maelstrom made for a very quiet night. The breakfast was a combination of Chinese and western and was delicious. You had your choice of eating in the dining room or on the lovely patio. The location near the Forbidden City made for a short taxi ride or a relatively long walk, but walkable it is. It's a low-rise refuge in a land of skyscrapers, a small hotel with the personal touch. I'd stay here were I ever to visit Beijing again.....which I probably won't since I'm fond of breathing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Incognito-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Ingognito-one

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review about our boutique hotel. I know you have travelled to so many places all around the world so this is very meaningful for us. I like to wish you enjoyment on your future travels and that you get home safely to Los Angeles.

I hope to be able to welcome you both back soon.

warmest wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The moment you step out of the taxi after a whirlwind ride from the airport and on to the Redwall Garden Hotel property you are greeted with a warm smile. This hotel is truly a hidden gem. What makes it so you might ask.. well firstly is it decotrated beautlifully, it provides a calm haven amongst the sky scrapers and randomness that is Beijing city and you are catered for every step of the way. The staff are forever helpful, friendly and caring and nothing is too small of a task. I would like to give special mention to two outstanidng staff members in particular.. YAO who never forgot that when we had a drink that we liked peanuts to go with and never had to ask. YAO had a smile for every minute of the day WE THANKYOU. Also LILLY (supervisor) who went out of her way in many ways but one time in particular, she went and walked into Beijing city about 10 mins away and got a recharge phone card for us, late at night.. when we went to thank her she simply stated "im just doing my job" Lilly a BIG THANKYOU to you. It is the little things the staff do here that makes this place extra special. I would come back here time and time again. We thankyou Leigh F and David K from Australia.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leigh f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Leigh and David,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a pleasure to read through your review. I am thrilled to know to our staff was able to impress you. I will pass your thanks to Yao and Lilly. These were perfect examples on how we take care of our guests and how we go out of our ways to offer the best service possible.

We hope you had a good trip back home and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel any time soon.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I only had 3 nights here in Sept 2013, and wished I could have stayed 10! It's in the heart of the old city, and yet is an oasis of calm and peace and tranquillity. Open your windows, and because of the Hutong location where virtually the only traffic is visiting a property on that street, all you can here is the birds singing, the occasional street vendor calling his wares, and the sound of ordinary people doing what people do.
I had come in on the Trans-Siberian Express and so wanted a massage on arrival, and a quiet evening after. The massage was organised to suit my scheduling, and was excellent value. I ate in the hotel restaurant and had a superb meal, at very sensible prices. By day two half the staff were greeting me by name, I was made to feel so welcome by everyone here.
And the room was wonderful; huge comfy bed, sofa, easy chairs, bamboo bath with shower over! Free use of the computers was another bonus. There were sitting out areas, sitting in areas, you couldn't want for more.
Sometimes even small hotels can be full of noise and bustle. Not here. It's tranquillity itself. I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again next time I come to Beijing.

Room Tip: I was in 2403. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PMA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear PMA54,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad that you liked our location inside the Shijia Hutong and that you had the chance to experience the traditional side of China. Our hotel is indeed very calm whilst in the middle of Beijing. As you mentioned, we do offer traditional massage service in the hotel and we are glad you enjoyed it and felt rested afterwards.

We hope you had a good trip back home and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel any time soon.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Only stayed here for one night on a stopover but couldn't have felt more welcome. All staff were polite and friendly and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We were upgraded on our arrival to a lovely room with a big wooden tub with a rain shower. We left for a long walk to Forbidden City armed with a great mud map provided by the manager with plenty, of detail and key buildings to help us find our way back. Our suitcases were stored for the whole day the next day whilst we went on our tour to Mutianyu. Dinner at this hostel was great (the deep fried pork was amazing), and breakfast was a huge selection of Chinese and western style options, complete with a chef to cook you an omelette if required. Fantastic personal service in a lovely Hutong, very refreshing change from the big name hotels. I will be back, thank you again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank larli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear larli,

Thank you so much for posting such a positive review for the Red Wall Garden Hotel.
We are happy that our staff could make such a great impression on you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed dinner and breakfast - our chefs will be glad to hear.

We would love to have you back!

Thank you again for your kind words.

Warmest Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent 4 night here last week. For the money there are better choices in the area. The beds are soft and bouncy. When asked if they could do anything about it the answer was NO. Breakfast was average. Staff means well but was not overly enthusiastic.

Room Tip: Better choices are available for the same money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcopolofl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Marcopolofl6,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that your experience was not as expected. Our beds are actually Swedish imported DUX beds which are one of the top luxury brands in the market. This is the first complaint about our beds (if you look at past comments our beds are one of the most commented and praised feature of the hotel) and I am sorry there was nothing our staff could have done to accommodate you. We really try our best to please our guests and go out of their way to provide the best possible service.

Regarding our breakfast and guest services - we are always in a quest to improve and appreciate your comments. If you could give us some specific suggestions on how we can improve these aspects, please send us an email (see on top of the TripAdvisor page for a link). We would highly appreciate your input.

We hope you had a safe trip back home.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent nine wonderful days ( two separate stays) at this outstanding facility in the month of September. It was a very special trip to Beijing, all the way from Panama, as part of our annual wedding anniversary celebration. Needless to say, that the staff, facilities, and environment, at the Red Wall Garden Hotel, provided the perfect blend to make it a wonderful, to be remembered, stay. The degree of care; the charismatic approach of all employees; always with a friendly smile and aiming to assist; coupled with the concern of the managerial staff towards all around satisfaction for its customers, made it all happen. Our special thanks to Mr. Di; Mr. Hans, and the staff for their professionalism and their concern for guests at all times. The facilities were an experience in itself, and the location of the hotel afforded us the opportunity to see Beijing from the inside, and made it a perfect staging ground to visit all sites by metro. This will definitely be our home away from home when we visit Beijing again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfredogon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear alfredogon,

It was a pleasure to have had you as our guests in our hotel. We are glad you loved it so much and that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary. Our staff really enjoyed meeting and taking care of you.
We hope you had a safe trip back to Panama and hopefully we have the chance to meet you again someday. It's an honor to be your "home away from home".

Warmest Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,550 in Beijing
2,948 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,550 in Beijing
1,512 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#26 of 6,550 in Beijing
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#27 of 6,550 in Beijing
2,478 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,550 in Beijing
2,484 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 6,550 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £88 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing