We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotel is in a nice area not too far from the center of Beijing.

This hutong hotel was not what we expected. We booked a premium deluxe room with terrace view (if available). After arriving they gave us a small room with no windows. Whe asked for a better room and then we got a maisonette, overlooking the terrace.

The staff is very helpful and kind.
The hotel is good but average. Nevertheless, it is better staying here than in the big modern hotels in Beijing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Ed020,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our central location and our "helpful and kind" staff. I am glad our staff was able to quickly correct the mistake in room assignment and upgraded you into one of our Duplex Suites.
We are always open for suggestions on how to improve our hotel.

We hope you had a good trip back home and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel any time soon.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    280
    50
    9
    5
See reviews for
296
554
88
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had limited time in Beijing as we were really "in transit" and in Beijing for only two nights, but my sister and I can't think of a more perfect place to experience our first stay in Beijing. The Red Wall Garden is located on an idyllic street in the Shijia Hutong, wonderfully located near the Night Market, good local and more upscale restaurants and an easy walk to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City.

Walking into the hotel entrance assures you that you are going to like the accommodations at the RWG. The decor colors are warm and inviting, showcasing contemporary Asian art, as is the staff at the front desk who makes sure that they are there to make your stay comfortable. Our room was great with very comfortable beds, wonderful rain shower and a nice sitting area. Breakfast, which was included, was delicious with a wide selection of western and eastern style fare. The restaurant staff also was eager to assist.

Location, friendly, clean and well appointed... We would return in a heartbeat and recommend to
all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear G A,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for choosing The Red Wall Garden Hotel. Our hotel is indeed in an idyllic and central location and ideally situated close to restaurants and sight-seeing!
We are delighted to see that you find our decor warm and inviting and enjoyed our service and I hope that your comment will be useful for many travelers. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay among us and our breakfast.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

RWG excellent reputation is well earned. This is not a hermetically sealed homogenised international brand where you could be anywhere - it is a very comfortable home base with all the necessities, great service, lovely facilities in a location that lets you feel you are in China.
Stayed in the Duplex Suites for four nights. They are upstairs/downstairs units which are well appointed, comfortable beds, great showers, local feel with the furniture and opening onto a central courtyard with trees and tables where you can have a drink or a meal.
Staff are excellent, breakfasts were first class and they do have a restaurant for dinner (untried as there are great restaurants like 1949 just 5 minutes walk away).
Walking to Forbidden city is about 30 minutes and Wangfujing St shopping and quirky food alleys is 10 minutes.
Staff are just great and Lilly deserves a special mention for the genuine friendliness and level of attention she gave our party.

Room Tip: Duplex Suites are great value opening onto, and overlooking, the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Burg3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Burg3186

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our boutique hotel and inform other Tripadvisor users. Your comments have been passed onto the staff and placed on the staff notice board.

We are glad you made it home safely to Australia and hope to see you back again soon here in the Shijia Hutong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed here for three nights and loved it. The room was beautiful, clean and well appointed, and the bed was western style....if you've ever slept on the rock that the Chinese call a bed you'll appreciate it. The rain shower was a real treat and just what was needed after a day in the grimy air of Beijing. I had trouble with the wi-fi in the room and someone was at the door in about a minute to fix it. Everyone was gracious and friendly, and the location out of the maelstrom made for a very quiet night. The breakfast was a combination of Chinese and western and was delicious. You had your choice of eating in the dining room or on the lovely patio. The location near the Forbidden City made for a short taxi ride or a relatively long walk, but walkable it is. It's a low-rise refuge in a land of skyscrapers, a small hotel with the personal touch. I'd stay here were I ever to visit Beijing again.....which I probably won't since I'm fond of breathing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Incognito-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Ingognito-one

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review about our boutique hotel. I know you have travelled to so many places all around the world so this is very meaningful for us. I like to wish you enjoyment on your future travels and that you get home safely to Los Angeles.

I hope to be able to welcome you both back soon.

warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The moment you step out of the taxi after a whirlwind ride from the airport and on to the Redwall Garden Hotel property you are greeted with a warm smile. This hotel is truly a hidden gem. What makes it so you might ask.. well firstly is it decotrated beautlifully, it provides a calm haven amongst the sky scrapers and randomness that is Beijing city and you are catered for every step of the way. The staff are forever helpful, friendly and caring and nothing is too small of a task. I would like to give special mention to two outstanidng staff members in particular.. YAO who never forgot that when we had a drink that we liked peanuts to go with and never had to ask. YAO had a smile for every minute of the day WE THANKYOU. Also LILLY (supervisor) who went out of her way in many ways but one time in particular, she went and walked into Beijing city about 10 mins away and got a recharge phone card for us, late at night.. when we went to thank her she simply stated "im just doing my job" Lilly a BIG THANKYOU to you. It is the little things the staff do here that makes this place extra special. I would come back here time and time again. We thankyou Leigh F and David K from Australia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leigh f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Leigh and David,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a pleasure to read through your review. I am thrilled to know to our staff was able to impress you. I will pass your thanks to Yao and Lilly. These were perfect examples on how we take care of our guests and how we go out of our ways to offer the best service possible.

We hope you had a good trip back home and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel any time soon.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I only had 3 nights here in Sept 2013, and wished I could have stayed 10! It's in the heart of the old city, and yet is an oasis of calm and peace and tranquillity. Open your windows, and because of the Hutong location where virtually the only traffic is visiting a property on that street, all you can here is the birds singing, the occasional street vendor calling his wares, and the sound of ordinary people doing what people do.
I had come in on the Trans-Siberian Express and so wanted a massage on arrival, and a quiet evening after. The massage was organised to suit my scheduling, and was excellent value. I ate in the hotel restaurant and had a superb meal, at very sensible prices. By day two half the staff were greeting me by name, I was made to feel so welcome by everyone here.
And the room was wonderful; huge comfy bed, sofa, easy chairs, bamboo bath with shower over! Free use of the computers was another bonus. There were sitting out areas, sitting in areas, you couldn't want for more.
Sometimes even small hotels can be full of noise and bustle. Not here. It's tranquillity itself. I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again next time I come to Beijing.

Room Tip: I was in 2403. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PMA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear PMA54,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad that you liked our location inside the Shijia Hutong and that you had the chance to experience the traditional side of China. Our hotel is indeed very calm whilst in the middle of Beijing. As you mentioned, we do offer traditional massage service in the hotel and we are glad you enjoyed it and felt rested afterwards.

We hope you had a good trip back home and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel any time soon.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here for one night on a stopover but couldn't have felt more welcome. All staff were polite and friendly and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We were upgraded on our arrival to a lovely room with a big wooden tub with a rain shower. We left for a long walk to Forbidden City armed with a great mud map provided by the manager with plenty, of detail and key buildings to help us find our way back. Our suitcases were stored for the whole day the next day whilst we went on our tour to Mutianyu. Dinner at this hostel was great (the deep fried pork was amazing), and breakfast was a huge selection of Chinese and western style options, complete with a chef to cook you an omelette if required. Fantastic personal service in a lovely Hutong, very refreshing change from the big name hotels. I will be back, thank you again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank larli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear larli,

Thank you so much for posting such a positive review for the Red Wall Garden Hotel.
We are happy that our staff could make such a great impression on you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed dinner and breakfast - our chefs will be glad to hear.

We would love to have you back!

Thank you again for your kind words.

Warmest Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,389 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,865 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,690 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,483 in Beijing
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Property: Red Wall Garden Hotel
Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage Cultural Entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor Noodle Stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The Private Dining and Event Rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for Meetings, Weddings or Events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese Cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal Meeting, Wedding or Event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense Historical, Cultural and Artistic life of Authentic and Historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing