We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$369
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$330
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,389)
Filter reviews
1,389 results
Traveller rating
1,022
300
51
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,022
300
51
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshijia hutongforbidden cityboutique hoteloverlooking the courtyardquiet hutongtea ceremonyno elevatortraditional stylehutong areadengshikou subway stationbusy cityairport pickupmodern amenitiesour room was spaciousloved this hotelchinese disheswonderful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
911 - 916 of 1,389 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Perfect little hotel with the perfect location. It's walking distance to the met line (don't waste money on taxis) and the shopping area. The staff were fantastic and very helpful and all spoke perfect English. The rooms are very large and the shower is hot and powerful, always good after a long days walking. Our room was cleaned every day and fresh towels laid out as well. If you don't fancy venturing out one night the hotel restaurant is worth checking out, the food was lovely. I would recommend this hotel 100%.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank trevor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear trevor v

Well, it was an absolute pleasure having you with us!
I am glad you enjoyed the "Waterfall" showerheads that are featured in all of our rooms. Thank you for praising our hard-working housekeeping team - they do a wonderful job and do it with a smile.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future,
Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had a great stay at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. The location is great - in a small Hutong which provides a real sense of 'old Beijing' but just minutes walk from the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square.
The staff could not have been more helpful. I would highly recommend borrowing the bikes and taking a ride through the hutongs and alleyways of Beijing. We found it a fantastic way of getting a taste of Beijing.
There is a cosy bar area which was welcome at the end of some cold winter days, and a great selection of food and drink on hand if you don't want to venture further afield.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShanghaiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear ShanghaiA:
Riding our complimentary bikes is indeed one of the best ways to get around in Beijing - the city has very generous bike lanes and car/bus drivers in China tend to be more aware of cyclists than in Western countries. Of course, one has to be careful, but as long as you "go with the flow" and stay in groups with other bikes, it is a fantastic way to explore the many points of interest close to our boutique hotel.

We thank you for your kind comments and hope to have you back with us again soon,

Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Candi had made me cancel my reservation- online offer not honored, etc. then Panapa (apologies for misspelling) and manager Stefan stepped in and I ended up enjoying my stay. Doris is an excellent tour guide. The hotel is courtyard style, pretty rooms.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Texas_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Texas_Enthusiast

My apologies for the mix-up during the reservation process! I am glad we got everything sorted in the end and ensured you had a pleasant stay with us nonetheless.

Pennapa sends her regards - we hope to have you back with us again soon,
Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hotel is in a very good location and close to the subway station . All interesting places can be reached easily. Charming rooms with great bathrooms make you enjoy your rests .The breakfirst is delicious . Kind and helpfull stuff is always around . We enjoyed complimentary champaign for New Years Eve .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxmalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear maxmalou:
It was a pleasure meeting you both at the cocktail reception - I am glad you had a safe journey back to Germany.
Thank you for pointing out the hotel's proximity to the Dengshikou subway station. Within a two minute walk from our quiet hutong street and for only 2 RMB (approximately 35 US cents), guests can explore the entirety of the city with one of the best, most-advanced subway systems in the world. Even points of interest that are on the outskirts of Beijing (such as the Summer Palace) can be reached rather speedily and without having to contend with traffic gridlock

Our friendly guest services team is always happy to assist you with your sightseeing plans!

Gruesse nach Deutschland,

Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

During my pan- Asian trip ,I also visited Beijing and stayed in this very cozy Chinese style boutique hotel called the Red Wall Garden. Although it doesn't really have a garden , it does have a nice large spacious open air courtyard ( it is now freezing cold in the winter , so it's not really an option to spend anytime in open air, although they tell me that in the spring summer and early autumn they have wonderful flowers and the trees blossom ). Anyway enough with the courtyard. the rooms were well appointed , warm and clean, I stayed in the main building on the third floor, it was very quiet ; the decor is a bit of a mix of oriental with western style too . The TV channels in English language were very limited.
The food was good at the restaurant ; had breakfast ( buffet style , quite adequate) and lunch and dinner were excellent .
But the most pleasing aspect of the hotel is the service and the warmth of the staff .
They really take care of you in a very friendly way , from the housekeeping staff to the reception . I also enjoyed a free pick up at the airport .
Great central location in one of the most historic Hutongs called Shijia Hutong near Jinbao street.
I would certainly recommend this nice hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank tallebung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear tallebung:

I very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Red Wall Garden Hotel with the tripadvisor community. Thank you!
Yes, it has gotten somewhat nippy here in Beijing during the past couple of weeks and it certainly is too cold to sit in our lovely courtyard area. You will be interested to know, however, that we are planning to add some firepits as part of our courtyard updates in order to extend the "outside season" a bit more into the spring and fall months.
The warm months are certainly a fantastic time to visit us - as you can tell from the pictures here on tripadvisor and from the ones on our own website, the courtyard area changes into a sea of flowers and our fish and turtles emerge from "hibernation". It really is a lovely spot to kick back and relax after a long day of shopping or sightseeing.

Hopefully you will have a chance to return for a visit then - we would love to have you back with us,

Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews