We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate to book”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #19 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent three days here in December and it was fantastic. Made you feel like you really were in China, unlike some of the more 'international' hotels. Great location, great evening meals, super rooms and extremely helpful staff. Well done!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Docklandstim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

dear Guest , Thank you for the nice words about our small boutique hotel in Beijing.
We hope we can welcome you soon again in Beijing or in one of our affiliated Epoque Hotels worldwide.
Very Best Regards ,and Happy Chinese New Year !

The Management
Red Wall Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

A home away from home. The visit began with being met at the airport by a friendly face; great when you're a first time visitor to China and arrival is late at night.
A very large comfortable, quiet room, with a view across Hutong roof tops (all very quaint). Staff incredibly helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble. Dining very good and with variety. A log fire burning in the lounge for those very cold Beijing days. Bedroom heated with piped heating (very cosy).
A short walk in one direction will take you to the closest subway, or a little further on to the main shopping street of Wangfujing (interesting for those who like to shop for clothes). Walk in the opposite direction and you go deeper into the Hutongs and find yourself witnessing every day life, with an array of local eating places and one of the many fruit, meat and fish markets.
A wonderful experience. Thanks Stefan, Pennapa and the team

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank FrankieBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear FrankieBuster:
Glad to hear you made it back safely to Australia! Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and sharing the "secret" with other tripadvisor readers.
Pennapa and her team send their regards - we hope to welcome you back soon.
Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My partner and 2 young kids, 4 and 1, stayed at Red Wall Garden Hotel for 3 nights in January.

Two things really stood out.

They were great with the kids. On arrival at the airport they had a baby seat for my 1 year old, which I hadn't asked for. They were very friendly and welcoming, and helped entertain the kids whilst we ate at the restaurant (good food btw).

Secondly I was pretty ill whilst I was there, fever and chest infection that I'd picked up prior to arriving. One day we asked to get a doctor to the hotel, unfortunately it's not the something that happens in Beijing so instead the hotel drove me to the hospital with an interpreter, lovely lady called Pennapa. She helped me get to see the doctor, I'd have had no chance without her.

Overall very impressed with the hotel, the staff, our room and the restaurant and would highly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Tania S:

Thank you for your kind words - I am glad we could be of assistance during this medical emergency. Caring for the well-being of our guests is our number one priority and with a top-class hospital in the immediate vicinity, Pennapa, our lovely guest services manager, did not think twice about escorting you there.
We are a child friendly hotel, thank you for noticing. Other tripadvisor readers might be interested to know that we do indeed provide complimentary baby and child car seats in our hotel's vehicles to ensure safe passage during any airport run or sightseeing trip. Simply inform our guest services team should you be traveling with a child and we will take care of the rest.

Warm greetings to Australia,
Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Loved the hotel the moment we entered the reception. What can one say which has not been written already. The staff are amazing. So friendly and helpful. The airport pick up did work (believe me it's not always the same in other location!). The location is great. The room we stayed was cozy, elegant and the bed a dream. Bit cold in the bathroom though but hey, it was -11 Celsius outside. I can imagine myself in spring, summer time in the patio having a drink there. Amazing. The breakfast, woaw. Never see something like that. Lily (I think it's her name) was quite frustrating as we are not breakfast eater and she said she never saw 2 people like us having such a quick breakfast. Sorry dear Lily. We will do better next time ;-) You can have anything you like, vegetables, fruits, yogurts, meat, cheese, omelette, bacon, soup, dumplings, pastries and much much more. Amazing. Reception organize for us a private tour to the Great Wall and it was fantastic. Our guide was so good that we hired her for the next day and spent with her 7 hours walking around Beijing. She took us to different places, known and less know and we had a great
day. We stayed in a lot of different places in the world but I have to say, this hotel is one of the very best we ever stayed. We will definitively come back here if we come back to Beijing

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nolofinwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

dear Guest , thanks for your lovely and cheerful review . Thanks for mentioning our staff , as they do work hard to make sure our guests have a great time at the Red Wall Garden Hotel.
And Yes , please come in the spring or summer to experience the Shijia Hutong and our hotel in all its charm .

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future,
Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed at the red wall from Jan 6 through 14 2014, and enjoyed every second of it.

I often try to stay away from large hotels and polished chains seeking the intimate setting of boutique hotels. The Red wall for the bill.

Located on a gentrifying hutong just east of the forbidden city, there is a subway station within 5 minutes and every level of shopping from local market to mid tier sporting goods to high end and elite malls within 10 minutes. Restaurants abound in the neighborhood and I had no bad experiences.

The hotel is well managed and the staff well trained. I stayed on the second floor of the main building in a room with wooden floor, and beautiful furniture pieces. The common areas of the main building are not centrally heated, but the franklin stove and fireplace are kept well stoked.

I did notice that the dining room needed refreshing and by day 4 of my visit they were painting and wallpapering. So, the place is maintained.

The Duxiana mattresses were a nice touch.

Room prices are great, but extras are at global hotel prices. breakfast ran around 10 bucks but was very good and worth it.

drinks and laundry were overpriced.

I would definitely stay again on business or with family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeepwrangler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

dear Guest , it is a pleasure to receive your detailed review , many thanks.
With regard to the heating , we do have central heating in the main areas too , it is a must , as it does get very cold in Beijing in the winter months . Perhaps you have noticed the heaters as they are disguised by insets in the side walls of the public areas . The Franklin stoves provide that added coziness and warmth indeed .

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future,
Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Beijing was our first stop on our first visit to China and we stayed at the Red wall. It was pretty much perfect for us, felt like we were really in China, not some anonymous could be anywhere chain. Plenty of atmosphere, good rooms which were clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good central location. Would be our first choice if staying in Beijing again. Recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freqtraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest , thank you for the wonderful comments . Since you like bouitque hotels; for your future travels perhaps you may want to have a look at our affiliated epoque hotels worldwide.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future,
Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Been here with a group of 36 people just before Christmas. Very charming hotel, nice atmosphere, very helpful friendly staff. Perfect location. Not one of these business hotels you will find in every big city in the world, but more like a boutique hotel. Can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellysuverein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Elly , thank you for the kind words and praise of our little boutique hotel in Beijing !
We indeed are happy to offer a cozy alternative to the large chain business hotels. We hope you can come again in the spring or summertime , where you can enjoy our outdoor courtyard
in its full swing with blossoming flowers and plants , as well as the turtles and fish in the fountain !

We thank you for your kind comments and hope to have you back with us again soon,

Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,972 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,568 in Beijing
823 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#64 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,531 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £85 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing