We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, Ambiance, Location, Wonderful courtyard, English spoken, large rooms,......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #18 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Relying on earlier travellers' reviews , I'm really glad I chose this place. If you are visiting Beijing, especially to see the sights, this is the place to stay, look no further!
Fantastic place, haven of peace, but with a convenient Metro connection to get around Beijing and within cycling distance of Tianenmen Square, Forbidden City, Jing Shan Park, Wangfujing Street covering almost all the top sights in Central Beijing.
The pretty and eager to help girls at the reception were the friendliest lot I have ever experienced. All of them could communicate well in English and don't under-estimate the importance of this in China, if you do not know the local language.
Penappa, Coco and all the rest - thanks for your attention to detail, patient explanations and help and guidance whenever we needed something.
Ah and the bicycles available for complimentary use - great idea and it really helped me to visit the nearby sights several times over, including the sunrise flag-raising ceremony at Tiananmen.
Wonderful court-yard - you wouldn't think this place is actually in the middle of a bustling large city.
Really spacious rooms - could comfortably accommodate 3 - 2 adults and a young teenager.
We actually felt sorry to leave after our 3 night stay.

Room Tip: Do make use of the bicycles provided, Beijing has dedicated cycle tracks and it's a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tBugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear tBugger:
This is great praise indeed from an experienced traveler like yourself - many thanks for your kind review. I took the liberty of sharing it with the team in today's meeting and particluarly the guest services ladies were happy to learn their efforts did not go unnoticed.
We hope you will have the chance to visit us again should your itinerary call for another trip to China's capital.
Greetings to KL,
Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was our first time in Beijing, and the Red Wall Garden Hotel did not disappoint. We booked a 2 floor loft room, and it was fantastic. The bed was a Duxiana, so we got a great night sleep. The bathroom was large and modern. The staff at the hotel went out of the way to make sure we were happy. Upon arrival, they brought a bouquet of fresh flowers to our room as a special treat. We also ordered wine to the room and they delivered promptly. We wanted to try a famous Peking Duck Dinner, and they made the reservation for us and arranged transportation. We booked a foot massage when booking the room. There was a problem with this at check in and they arranged for us to go to a local massage place and even provided transportation...all included. Everything was so easy, and we were so well taken care of. The level of service is top notch. The breakfast buffet was really good too. Eating hot dumplings for breakfast was a great way to start each day!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crewguy299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear crewguy299:
We are happy to learn that you chose our boutique hotel on your maiden trip to China and are very pleased that the stay with us met your expectations.
As you experienced, our guest services team always aims to go above and beyond for our guests - most of the staff here is local and knows some of the best places off the beaten track. Be it Peking Duck or a great massage, they are able to point you in the right direction.
Hopefully, this trip convinced you to return to China for a second time - should you decide to do so, your "home away from home" will be waiting for you.
Greetings to the Big Apple,
Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. Arrived at Beijing West Train station and easily found taxi rank. The hotel had e-mailed the name and address in Chinese characters, so with that and the taxi drivers's google maps on his phone, we got to the hotel in 20 minutes.
The hotel is to the east of ,and close to, the Forbidden city (25 minutes walk) in a hutong residential area, so streets very narrow but busy with pedestrians, cyclists and some cars. We walked around the area each day / evening /night and never once felt unsafe.
Hotel is wonderful with very friendly staff keen to practice their good English!
A good sized room on the second floor with rain forest shower and comfortable bed. Quiet too, so we slept very well.
The breakfast was a good choice, with freshly cooked omelettes if required.
Lovely quiet courtyard to spend time if wanted.
The hotel offers free collection from the airport, but as we arrived by train they offered us a free car to the Beijing West train station at 07.30 in the morning.
Good location about 10 minutes walk to the nearest metro station - very cheap at 20p per single journey.
The hotel provided a number of printed sheets with recommendations on places to visit, and restaurants to eat. We tried a number of the latter and all were very acceptable.

Overall we thought the hotel was great value for money - less than £85 per night !!

Room Tip: It seemed any room would be quiet, as the area itself is not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kev p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear kev p:
Many thanks for your kind review of our boutique property - we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Beijing and found Red Wall Garden to your liking.
I would like to elaborate on a great point you made regarding the hotel's pick-up policy. Firstly, as you correctly stated, due to logistical rasons we do not offer collection at any of Beijing's train stations. It is simply too easy for guests and driver to miss each other in the hustle and bustle and taxis are usually readily available. We strongly recommend that you carry the address and name of our hotel (in Chinese) with you as many cabbies do not speak or understand English - the information can be easily obtained from our website.
Secondly, guests arriving at any of Beijing's airports and who made their 3+ night booking directly with us can avail themselves of our complimentary pick-up service. Our professional driver will assist you with your luggage and take you straight to Shijia Hutong where our boutique hotel is located. Depending on traffic, this ride can take between 30-60 minutes.
Thank you again for your wonderful comments - we look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Lovely place and Westin at its (almost) best. Large rooms, wonderful interior and the location is modern Beijing but at the same time nice. Excellent Lounge. Only thing not so good is the lobby and the bar.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lampard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Lampard F (Chelsea Fan, I presume?)
Thank you for your review and for rewarding us with the top rating.
You will be happy to note that we just remodeled our lobby area and are updating various other public spaces such as the restaurant and courtyard area as well over the coming months. We will post pictures and progress reports on our official website and invite you to have a look.
Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at this charming hotel. The location was ideal, the staff attentive and very personal and friendly. They helped us a lot. The courtyard was great for us and our children and added to the experience. The atmosphere was great. Fantastic beds and comfortable rooms, although the day-to-day cleaning of the room wasn't as thorough as we would have liked.
Our only main complaint however, is the restaurant. Breakfast was fine, but the dinner was really bad and we wouldn't eat there again. We ate there twice, and both times were very disappointed. The food was not good, and the price was high, compared to the standard and other Beijing eateries. This was surprising and in contrast to the overall impression of the hotel. However all in all, a great stay that we would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabethesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Elisabethesr:
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Overall, we seem to have hit the mark, but I do of course apologize for the subpar dinner experience you encountered on two separate occasions. Generally, we receive overwhelmingly positive feedback both on the Chinese and Western dishes on offer in our courtyard restaurant. But we obviosuly got it wrong in your case; therefore, I would encourage you to send me a quick note at stefan@rwghotel.com so I can understand exactly what went wrong in order to ensure this mistake does not repeat itself in the future.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience - I look forward to your email.
Greetings to South Korea,
Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Red Wall Garden is a 3 star (top) Hotel. As such I could say that it is a good and economical one. Is located in a Hutong and taxi drivers have some sort of dificulty in finding it. Trafic is horrid at school´s closing time. Subway is quite a long walk away but to compensate: very near there is one of the best restaurant in Beijing: the Dadong (10 min walk). Try the Peking duck there. Staff very polite and helpfull. One of the ladies at the front desk is a stunning thai girl very fluent in English. The decor is pure China, the rooms are spacious. Try not to get booked on the 3rd floor since no lift is available. Only view is on the central courtyard. If you get a room with a view to the outside be prepare for a sorrow experience.

Room Tip: try to book a room in the second door with a view to the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theddywerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear theddywerner:
Thank you for your overall positive review - I shared it with Pennapa, our Guest Services Manager from Thailand. She very much appreciates your compliment!
Our boutique hotel, while very centrally located, has its home in a quiet, narrow and tree-lined residential neighborhood, called Shijia Hutong. Not all taxi drivers are familiar with this street, so please ensure to print the Chinese directions and address of the hotel from our website to ensure a smooth transfer via cab.
Part of the charm of our property is the fact that it is located in a "living, breathing" neighborhood, including one of the best private schools in Beijing at the entrance to Shijia Hutong. I am sorry you were inconvenienced by the traffic at school's end which usually just occurs between 4-5pm on schooldays.
Greetings to Venezuela,
Your Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I frequent Tripadvisor but I've never written any reviews until now. Nevertheless, I believe Red Wall Garden Hotel is one of those special places worthy of a first.

Although I'm a Beijinger by birth, I've spent most of my life abroad. I've often listened in wonder to my Mum reminiscing about growing up in my Grandfather's Siheyuan (traditional Beijing courtyard) in the 70's. Playing tag among the narrow alleyways called Hutong; then later riding her bike through them to explore the bigger Beijing beyond. I wanted to experience this half forgotten Beijing for myself given the chance. So imagine my excitement when I came across RWG when booking for my upcoming trip to Beijing. It so happens it's just across the street from my grandfather's former courtyard.

After an extension of eight nights, altogether we called RWG "home" for just over a month (33 nights to be precise). From the moment we were met at the airport by the hotel's driver (Xiao Fan) at 11pm, until the time we were bid farewell by Xiao Cao (from front desk) at the big red gate, I was thoroughly touched by the genuine care and kindness shown to us by every single member of the RWG family. It was hard to say goodbye to our new "frien-mily"!

RWG Hotel was in its former life a private residence, and it's current design reflected and conserved a lot of the characteristics of a turn of the last century Chinese home. In the main building where we lived, the patina-ed wooden stairways led to large shared living spaces on each floor. The entire building flowed like a large private home, decorated tastefully with Chinese artefacts. I often rested in one of the sofas outside our room in a food coma after breakfast; and at other times chatted away with fellow travellers from all around the globe; or just relaxed with a book from the sizeable collection on the bookshelves. It was lovely to leave our room every morning to be welcomed with this space rather than a generic hotel hallway.

The Premier Deluxe room we had was sunny and well-appointed, and provided more than enough room for two people. The rain shower was always a welcoming thought at the end of another day of exploring this vast city. We could always expect the room to be meticulously cleaned by the lovely team of ladies from housekeeping. When one of the ladies noticed that I was sick with a cold, she left an extra box of tissues for me to use on the bedside table. Much praise has been written about the Duxiana beds, they are all true!

Downstairs, the buffet breakfast didn't have the variety of food numbering in the hundreds like some large international hotels. But the East meets West spread was always fresh and delicious. We had breakfast at RWG almost 30 times, the high standard was consistent and the combination of food never became boring. The coffee was quite exceptional (Merci Beaucoup Mlle Lilly), which is a rarity in China.

RWG offered me a glimpse of the old Beijing that was full of beauty, tradition and infused in history, albeit among modern amenities. If that is the Beijing you came here to find, then RWG is a very good place to start. A big THANK YOU to the consummate professional Stefan and his dedicated team (Pennapa & Co.) for an immensely enjoyable stay! See you all soon!

Room Tip: Book on the hotel's website for complimentary breakfast and airport pick-up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TangoAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Message from "Home"

Thank you so much for writing this review. In the hotel world there is nothing more challenging than taking care of people for a long period of time in a consistent manner. reading between the lines we seem to have achieved this and I will certainly tell all our staff and team who made this happen and post your review on our notice board.

We are glade you made it back to your true home but hope we will see you again soon. Once again thank you for your kind note.

The Red Wall Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,962 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,568 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,565 in Beijing
811 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,516 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#26 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £82 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing