We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel located 2 blocks from the subway (dengshikou station). Charming hotel with culture right in the middle of a hutong. The staff are outstanding and accommodating and speak good English. Breakfast is amazing, free airport pickup if you book on hotel website. Will be back for sure!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear KN

This is an amazing compliment and thank you so much for informing all fellow travelers and trip advisor users around the world. We know we are not perfect but we certainly aim to be but we seem to have really hit the mark on this occasion.

I will ensure that all our staff know about your positive review and hope that I will be able to welcome you back to our hotel. You might be interested to note that our new courtyard bistro will be up and running soon.

I am glad you made it home safe to Vancouver another amazing city in this world.

Best wishes

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
There are newer reviews for Red Wall Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

767 - 773 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a cozy, hotel in the heart of Beijing. You can walk to Tiananmen square or the Forbidden city. The subway is one block from the hotel. I had a car and the free parking was a great plus for me. What makes this hotel outstanding is the courtesy and the attention of the personnel from the reception desk to the restaurant to the parking attendant. The hotel owner mingled with us at dinner. We loved the morning breakfast with with new items offered every day. The room was not luxurious but very comfortable. Overall I cannot overstate how much I enjoyed my stay at the Red Wall Garden. I would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms can be a little noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgrn261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Igm,

Thank you for taking the time to write to trip advisor and write such a positive review about our boutique hotel. I do think i remember meeting you but hasten to add that i am not the owner but the CEO of the hotel management company which runs the red wall garden plus now a second hotel also in the heart of beijing called Sofu hotel.

I am glad you made it home safe to the city that never sleeps and do hope you will come back to our little place in the heart of Beijing!

Warmest wishes

Robert van Eerde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I haven't even personally checked in to this hotel myself yet have been the recipient of their style, elegance, and friendliness. We were staying in a private home but had friends staying here so visited them each day and were wowed and impressed by this hotel. When we come again, this is where we will stay. My friends had a huge elegant room with gorgeous decor and comfy bedding. The bathroom was nice but it was the room furnishings I found to be so charming. I loved visiting each day and enjoying visits to their room and even trying some breakfast as their guests. The breakfast includes both delicious Chinese food as well as Western food and is really the way to start the day. The hotel itself is classy and elegant and the staff never stops smiling and helping make Beijing home for visitors. I even heard other guests talking about the nice things the staff had done for them which is rare in the hotel industry. My friends too just rave about how great the staff is, the loveliness of the hotel, the delicious meals, the fine courtyard, and the comfortable room. I have been inside a lot of Beijing hotels and this really impresses me. I can't praise it enough. Make this your base in Beijing! This is a city I love and I love the people, shops, and restaurants here. I am trying to learn Mandarin to fluency but have a long way to go and the people at this hotel will meet you more than halfway and in fact go out of their way to be like friends you are visiting with.

Room Tip: Get one of the larger rooms. They are very spacious.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terril435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a fantastic 5 night stay here! We are a family of 5, booked the duplex room and were upgraded to a 2 bedroom/bathroom family suite. The rooms were lovely but we decided to return to our original duplex room only because our friends were staying down there and the courtyard nightlife was great! The room had ample space for our family (the suite was much more spacious obviously).

The courtyard and bar was really nice stayed open until 11pm.

The staff was amazing to our children and gave them calligraphy sets and little toys everyday. Most spoke very good English.

Free WIFI was a plus and the breakfast bar was very nice.

Location is good- you stay among the hutongs and are very close to the Walking Street, Jinbao Towers, and Da Dong Restaurant.


THE ONLY NEGATIVE was there was no massage therapist. After a day of sightseeing it would have been nice to enjoy a relaxing massage to wind down.

Room Tip: Book your stay directly with the hotel and you will receive complimentary airport shuttle service.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AwadaVentures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Awadaventures,

Love love love back from everybody here at the hotel. Thank you so much for taken the time in writing such a positive review about our hotel it is much appreciated.

I have taken note of your massage service comments which we would love to do. You might actually have noticed that we do have a massage room in our hotel on the first floor of the main building but the government has recently changed the law and a license must be obtained which is knot so easy to obtain. We are currently looking into this but it looks like it will take a little time.

I am glad you got home to Blackheath in London and hope we will be able to welcome you all back to Shijia Hutong in Beijing.

Best wishes

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My partner and I booked a standard double. When we got there we were met by very polite staff who said they had upgraded us. The hotel has a lovely courtyard where you can sit and relax.

Our room was a good size and the bed was comfy but my partner who has a temperamental back found the bed a bit soft. The bathroom could use an upgrade although the rain shower was lovely. We did have a little bit of a fly problem in the evenings. The air con was functional and not too noisey. The windows didn't keep out much noise and I'm a light sleeper. There was a light buzzing noise like a fridge from outside the window. This could be an amazing hotel as the courtyard and eating areas are lovely. The bathroom could do with a spruce up and some double glazing.

The breakfast was great and if you enjoy white bread it was some of the nicest I've tasted. There are some nice restaurants near the Novotel hotel slightly south of this hotel.

If you go to Beijing you have to do the Great Wall of China. We hired a car from the hotel which was £120. It meant that we could come and go as we please. Do not worry about food at mutianyu as at the bottom there is a pizza restaurant, subway and baskin robins. You could get a cable car up and down or a toboggan down. We did the toboggan and it was a lot of fun. The wall has very steep points so wear good walking shoes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank essexkittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at the Red Wall Garden Hotel in Beijing for seven nights & we couldn't have asked for a better base from which to explore Beijing. The hotel itself is beautiful, decorated with a combination of beautiful Chinese furniture and incredibly comfy beds, with great bathrooms too. It's set on a narrow lane (hutong) which is just off a main road, but cars/minibuses can get down it so there aren't any access problems.

It's very quiet and calm there, despite being in the central district of Beijing. There is a subway station, an ATM and supermarkets within a 3/4 minute walk of the hotel which is very useful for exploring the city. The subway is very easy to use - all the place names are in English as well as Chinese characters, and the stops are announced in English and Chinese on the trains. Tickets are very cheap too at 2 Yuen for a one-way trip anywhere on the subway.

The hotel staff are very friendly and are always willing to help by drawing maps, recommending restaurants and phoning taxis etc. The room we were given had thoughtful touches in it like English language magazines (including Time Out Beijing) and conversion plugs already in the plug sockets for us.

We ate at the hotel restaurant a few times and the food there is great, if a bit expensive. However it was nice to be able to eat there when we were tired and didn't want to try to make ourselves understood in a Chinese-speaking restaurant (no one speaks English in restaurants!).

I would really recommend this hotel - it is a real slice of luxury which makes exploring a new city much easier.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Diana,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write such a detailed positive review about our boutique hotel. We take great pride in personal service and it is so rewarding when we receive comments like this from our customers. i will certainly make sure that impost your review on our staff notice board.

In terms of restaurants you might have noticed we are building a little noodle kitchen in our courtyard and that we have refurbished our restaurant. We are launching our new courtyard bistro concept next month which means we will be serving chinese dishes from the 8 main culinary regions in china mixed with some western dishes. the noodle kitchen will be used to prepare and cook noodle dishes to order in from of our customers which we very much look forward to start.

I am glad you made it home safe to beautiful Bristol City and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes from all of us at the Red Wall Garden Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The combination is astonishing: only 15 minutes walk from the forbidden city, situated within a quiet and clean hutong, with individual - nicely decorated rooms, a breakfast that can compete with any 5 stars luxury hotel, well trained and extremely friendly staff, with stable and fast internet and beautiful facilities like the large terrace or the cosy bar.

Mainly visited by individual travellers, the Red Wall Garden also can serve as business hotel. Working facilities in the rooms are sufficient and Wifi is complementary.

This is the place for everyone who prefers boutique style hotels over chain perfectionism. Our next stay in Beijing will defintively bring us back here.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back side are more quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlR_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear TravIR,

I could almost not write it any better and thank you very much for informing fellow trip advisor users and possible business travelers to Beijing. The only thing I might want to add is that we are excited about the fact that we are launching our new Courtyard bistro concept next month. we will be cooking and preparing fresh noodles in from of our customers in our courtyard.

You might also interested to know that we have a second more modern hotel in another part of the city, very central and ideal four business travelers called the Sofu Hotel.

I am glad you made it home safe to Berlin and do hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Auf Wiedersehen and best wishes from all of us at The Red Wall Garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,927 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,473 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#25 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,460 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,531 in Beijing
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £92 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage Cultural Entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor Noodle Stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The Private Dining and Event Rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for Meetings, Weddings or Events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese Cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal Meeting, Wedding or Event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense Historical, Cultural and Artistic life of Authentic and Historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing