We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel and excellent service”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful and peaceful hotel in the heart of Beijing. The staff speaks good English and gave us an excellent introduction to China when we arrived. The hotel courtyard is awesome and the breakfast was good. The staff helped us arrange our tour to the Great Wall and transportation to the train station when we were done. I only have good things to say!

Helpful?
Thank Deemen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Deemen,

Thank you very much for your short and to the point review, it is much appreciated. We strive to be perfect and we all make a mistake but it is great to see that we clearly hit the mark for your visit.

I do hope you will be able to come back to the hotel again and hopefully we can meet as i was away during your visit.

best wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    284
    50
    9
    5
See reviews for
300
558
88
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located to major Beijing sites and shopping, and is a wonderful oasis within the hustle and bustle of the city. The front desk staff are wonderful and were very helpful with directions, dinner suggestions, etc. Our credit card company fraud process blocked our card on check-in (despite notifying them we would be in China), and the front desk staff were very understanding. They spoke English very well. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The courtyard style was relaxing. The breakfast was the best we had throughout our entire 2 week trip to 4 cities and a nice mix of east and west. The only negative was that the surrounding neighborhood was not ideal, but this did give our teen children a better insight to how people live in Beijing. It also provided some historical reference, as this used to be a very nice area. I definitely would NOT let the surrounding area keep me from staying there again. Overall a wonderful experience for our family.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 57592Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Victoria,

Thank you very much for writing a 5 star review and inform fellow trip advisor users, it is very much appreciated.

Yes the hotel is coated in a very traditional Hutong which is the" real life" of Beijing but as you noticed our ovation is literally in the heart of the city within walking distance of the forbidden city and 5 minutes walk from the underground which can take you anywhere in the city for 2 RMB

I am glad you located at this as an inside for your children and also very happy you enjoyed our service .

I am glass you made it home safe to Charlottesville in beautiful Virgina please pass our regards to the kids

Best wishes

Everybody at the Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

By the time we got to the hotel we were extremely pleased with everything. No complain at all. We travel each summer and usually stay in larger five stars hotels but this is a lovely boutique hotel with a wonderful personal service. They went out of their way to please us and to answer our questions. Very good English, we did not have a problem communicating. The subway is very close and also a waking distance to many of the attractions. We never took a taxi, we went everywhere by subway or train (Great Wall). The room was very clean and with space. The Internet connection was great (very important because my husband is a professor and was teaching a summer class online). Good breakfast and really fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naydi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Naydi n

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing such a great review about our hotel and noting our front office staff as the best ever that is a serious compliment which of course we are happy to accept!!


We do recommend that people use the Metro as it is the most efficient , easy way to ravel avoiding the hectic hustle and bustle of Beijing Traffic. Some people like using the bike also!! especially when exploring the Hutongs.

I am glad you made it home safe to Puerto Rico and once again thank you

Everybody at the Red Wall Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Red Wall Garden. From when I booked, to the pickup, the accommodation and the food at the hotel - everything was great. We had the suite on the top floor (50 steps) so wouldn't recommend if you don't like stairs! However, we were fine and our room was lovely, comfortable and well serviced. Thoroughly recommend. My husband used the complimentary bikes and loved cycling around the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerrieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Kerrie J

Thankyou so much for writing the positive review about our boutique hotel, it is very much appreciated.

Our main building does have three floors which is a little unusual for Hutong settings but at the same time it has it's benefits as you mention the rooms on the top are pretty large :) plus of course it is good to make a few steps albeit not as many as the Great Wall. On a serious note we always allocate rooms according to the needs of our guests so people who are less able will be on the ground floor or first floor and wqe seem to be able to manage this well.

I am glad your husband enjoyed the bikes when exploring the city. As a Dutch national I total identify with this and this is something we recommend to all our guests.

I am glad you made it home safe to Melbourne and do hope to see you back again at our boutique hotel.

Warmest wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with my family for a vacation (first time in Beijing). Its the coziest yet wonderful hotel. Its very accessible and the service is great. Even there's a language barrier, the guest services are trying their best to understand us. We arrived 9 hours before their check-in and yet let us had our check-in once the room was ready. It was a great experience. Everything was superb. Thanks guys for making our stay in Beijing great!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 360AroundtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear 360aroundtheworld,

What a great name and thank you for writing such a positive review about our hotel, it is much appreciated. I am glad we were able to accommodate you for your early arrival. as fellow trip advisors use this I would quickly point out that this is never a guarantee but we always try if we can. the hotel runs very high occupancies so this is not always possible. I am happy however this worked out well for you.

I hope you have made it home safe to the Philippines and it looks like you will be doing a lot of traveling with your name as "roundtheworld"

Best wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were impressed by the old world character of this hotel the moment we saw it. The design was lovely and our room on the first floor large and spacious. The room itself, I think, could have used a good dust and vacuum, as my dust allergies played up whenever I was in there. Our bathroom ceiling also had a leak from the above apt, which the hotel manager was very apologetic for when we mentioned it to her. She was even kind enough to give us a bottle of wine and fruit basket, as an apology for the inconvenience, which was unexpected, but very much appreciated.

This touch was very typical of the staff and service we encountered at the hotel. All of the staff we had dealings with were extremely friendly and helpful, which was one of the major highlights of the place.

Breakfast was a bit of an odd selection of food and the same every day. It was ok, but not great. We did eat dinner at the restaurant on two nights and the food there was a lot better - the twice cooked pork was delicious!

The location had its pros and cons. It was walking distance to "snack street" and the forbidden city and close to a train station, and very quiet for sleeping despite being on a small and busy road. The character of the area was also much more interesting than the area near Tiananmen Square (which we stayed in later). The downside, however, was that there were never any taxis around and taxis were generally hard to get, even when called. If you happen to be there for business, this could be an issue. It is definitely more a holiday hotel than a business hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braziltraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Braziltraveller,

Thank you for writing an overall positive review and inform fellow trip advisor users, it is much appreciated. You highlighted some issues which is also appreciated as inevitably we all try to be perfect but know there is always room for improvement.

The dust issue is something we try to work very hard on but as you probably know by now Beijing is a super dusty city as it is located on the edge of a sand dessert. We do as much as possible to be dust free but we clearly did not dust properly on this occasion. The breakfast is an interesting observation. You will note that this overall is highly rated by other trip advisor travelers. We offer a mixture of western and Chinese breakfast and we try to keep it steady each day in order to keep the quality consistent. It is a valid point to bring in some day to day variation and I will discuss with the team.

I am glad you enjoyed the dinner especially the twice cooed pork, you did pick one of the most popular dishes and you might have notice our new outdoor noodle kitchen cooking noodle dishes to order and is already proven to be a success.

Finally your comment about the taxis is a common problem in beijing when located in a Hutong. taxis generally avoid Hutongs as there are no pick ups and they stay on the main roads. We do however call in taxis should people require this and we do have many business people staying for precisely the positive reasons you mentioned in your review: 5 minute walk from metro, in the heart of the city, quiet at night, great food for dinner.....

Once agin thank you for writing to trip advisor. I am glad you made it home safe to Singapore and do hope you will make it back to our small hotel in Shijia Hutong.

Best wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel based on other Trip Advisor reviews. My room was on the first floor on the court yard. If you are concerned about noise from other visitors, you may want a room on an upper floor. But I was not bothered by this. The room was very nice, although it could use a thorough cleaning. There was a large stain on my comforter, dust and dirt under the furniture, and a very large ceiling stain out side the bathroom. A few fixes and this could be a full five star recommendation. The bathroom is large with a great shower and very nice amenities. Breakfast was convenient and was really good, even as a vegetarian I had plenty to choose from. The staff was amazing and very helpful in restaurant recommendations and directions. I walked around by myself and felt very safe.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docsherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Docsherri

Thank you for taking the time in writing to trip advisor and giving the hotel a 5 star rating, it is much appreciated. I am very sorry to hear about the mistakes we made in cleanliness for which there is no excuse and i will certainly look into. It is clear however that reading your review you absolutely enjoyed the hotel and I am very happy to hear you acknowledging our staff.

I am glad you made it home safe to Buffalo and wished we could have met when you were staying there. Hopefully the next time .

warmest wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,420 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,886 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,516 in Beijing
755 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,699 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#23 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Property: Red Wall Garden Hotel
Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage Cultural Entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor Noodle Stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The Private Dining and Event Rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for Meetings, Weddings or Events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese Cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal Meeting, Wedding or Event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense Historical, Cultural and Artistic life of Authentic and Historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing