We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful escape” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #14 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Peaceful escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Red Wall is a peaceful escape from the hustle & bustle of Beijing. The location is very central, Dengshikou metro station is just around the corner, but you feel hidden away from general chaos of the city. The rooms were clean and spacious, with local furnishings. The courtyard is the focus of the hotel in the evening, serving great food, and the perfect place to relax after a busy day. The staff couldn't do enough for us - special thanks to Sarah, Ying, You Yo and Brian (just to mention a few) for making our stay so enjoyable. An added bonus were the other guests - we met some great people both at breakfast and in the courtyard of an evening...something that doesn't readily happen in larger hotels.

A couple of things that could be improved:
* the additional bed was made up on the 'traditional' seat/lounge in our duplex. Whilst good in practice, you felt like you were sleeping on a stone floor - even after adding and extra layer. Perhaps the hotel could invest in a mattress/extra layers of padding to ensure guests have a comfortable sleep.
* a mirror in the bedroom upstairs would be helpful, even if it was a hand held - a bit of a hassle always having to pop down to the bathroom to do your hair or make-up.

I have to stress that the issues mentioned above were minor in our overall impression of the hotel. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and wouldn't hesitate to stay at the RWGH when we next visit Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winsome_wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Winsome Wanderers,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive response and thanks you even more for given those great suggestions. I actually realize than some of the duplex suites have mirrors missing which I will rectify immediately. It is also clear I need to check the extra bed set up as this is not acceptable. We have Dux beds in all our rooms so something has gone wrong here and i will investigate.

We know we are not always perfect but we certainly aim to be perfect and i am very happy that you enjoyed your overall stay.
I have posted your review on our noticeboard as you are mentioning members of our team of which we are always very proud.

I do hope you will come back to our boutique hotel in the not too distant future in the mean time I am glad you are home safe in Sydney.

Best wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    266
    47
    8
    4
See reviews for
277
520
86
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here back in Feb for 2 nights and had a lovely stay - spacious clean room and good facilities. The only negative would be the wifi which kept dropping out and didn't work at all for several hours one morning so I had to wait for the technician to fix (slight pain as I only had a small window in which to contact family back home via Skype). Otherwise it was a great stay and I would probably return.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to face a beautiful courtyard - so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatrinaLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Katrina,

It was great to have you back at our hotel and that s probably the best compliment one can have. Thank you for taking the time to write to trip advisor and informing fellow travellers about your experience. I do note your comment about the WiFI. We actually upgraded our system last month and we have had a few glitches but generally the wifi is very good now.

I do hope you will come back and not let the wifi incident deter you I can assure you it is not a common problem.

I am glad you made it hoe safe to Melbourne and do contact me when you are due back in this great town.

Best wishes

Robert van Eerde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

stayed for 3 days on initial arrival to china.. have been in many places before and since in china...this place is sooo lovely! rooms clean, spacious, and no smell of sewerage! outdoor garden area - magnificent. Breakfast buffet was tad expensive but great variety. if you stay for 3 days, you get a free airport pickup, and there's more than 3 days of things to do in Beijing! and its closeness to sights is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelsea6372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Chelsea,

Thank you for taking the time in writing such a positive review, it is much appreciated. i take your note about breakfast and other travelers might want to book with us directly as breakfast is included and is of best value.

I very much appreciate the review title "impressive" and do hope you will come and visit us again.

Warmest wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renko, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

A great location, excellent breakfast, clean rooms, very friendly staff! It was a delight to enjoy a cool drink in the courtyard each evening after much sightseeing and/or shopping. And one of the really outstanding 'features' of this hotel was the friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susie300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Suzie,

Thank you for taking the time i writing to trip advisor and inform fellow travelers. I very much aware of the issue of our grout and we are in the middle of a program. we have now covered most of the rooms and in the summer this is generally a bigger issue but we do seem to have this under control. Ia polarize for this incident as there are no excuses.

I do hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future and i am glad tat you made it home safe to finland.

Best wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
818 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days last month. The room was big and nicely furnished. The bathroom was large and clean but they need to scrub clean the grouting in the shower.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was great, lots of choice and fresh.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AnanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear AnanB

Thank you so much for taking the time in writing to Tripadvisor and informing fellow travelers about our hotel. Your status as Top contributor makes your review even more worth noting.

Thank you for your comment which was commented in a previous review. we are aware of this issue and a program is in place to change all the bathroom tiles in those rooms which are affected. we seem to have solved most of these issues now but I do understand this is not acceptable.

I hope you will come back to our hotel in Shijia Hutong in the not too distant future

Best wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was traveling to China for the first time by myself and through all the great recommendations, decided to stay at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. When I arrived, the ladies who worked behind the counter were so nice and came to know me by my first name almost instantly. Any questions I had about what to do or where to go, they were so informative and helpful. The room was so nice and it did not feel like I was staying in a hotel, it felt more like staying in someones home! The garden area in the middle of the hotel, is such a nice place to eat, have a drink or just hang out! I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend this hotel to anyone I knew traveling to Beijing! It is also a very close walk to the metro and only a few metro stops from all that is to see in Beijing! If you are really adventurous, you can choose to use the bikes for free from the hotel, a good touch!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaitlin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Kaitlin,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive review about our hotel and especially about our staff. It is very much appreciated.

We do try to create a home away from home so we are happy that we ached that goal with you.

I hope to be able to welcome you back "home" in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

...More like staying in a large home..rooms arranged around a courtyard.Hearing birds singing outside in the courtyard in the morning and the small contained and secure feel of the place are very welcome in the middle of a city like Beijing. The food was good and the service was very good. Staff arranged a 'driver'/taxi on a couple of the days of our visit. It was an excellent way to see Bejing ( having been there 13 years earlier with a small tour group).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABQMiMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear ABQmimi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write to trip advisor and inform fellow travelers. As a returning guest to beijing I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and that you felt at home in a comfortable way.

I must point out however that we get many business guests also diue to our location and because they feel at home and we do have all the facilities in order to do business in china.

I am glad you made it home safe to Albuquerque ( phew hope I spelled that write) or just New Mexico !

Warmest wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Property: Red Wall Garden Hotel
Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage cultural entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor noodle stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The private dining and event rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for meetings, weddings or events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal meeting, wedding or event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense historical, cultural and artistic life of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing