We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hutong location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
LITTLETON, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hutong location”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Really enjoyed the room, breakfast, and drinks in the courtyard. Good recommendations for places to eat within walking distance . Highly recommend that you book through their website in order to get the breakfast free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank botflybite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Botflybite,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing to trip advisor and informing fellow travelers about our boutique hotel. You indeed are right about booking directly with the hotel it has it's benefits.

I am glad you made it home safe to beautiful Colorado and very much hope you will decide top come back to our hotel

From all at the Red Wall Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    279
    50
    9
    5
See reviews for
293
550
87
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful weekend in Beijing. One main reason was the red wall garden hotel and its helpful and fluently English speaking staff. Had a spacious, spotless clean and quite room. The patio looks exactly like in the pictures and invites you to relax from bustling Beijing. Special thanks goes to adorable Sarah!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank WK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear WK12345

Thank you for writing a review on trip advisor. It seems it is your first one which we very much appreciate as you are informing fellow trip advisor users.

I think we met on arrival here and so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will return from Bangkok and visit us again in the not too distant future.

warmest wishes, take care

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here based on the reviews it received on tripadvisor and have no regrets. The hotel is down a hutong (traditional sort of alleyway) and quite quiet, which is nice amidst the hustle and bustle of Beijing. It's centred around a lovely courtyard with a fountain, restaurant and bar. The city's main shopping street is 15-20 minutes' walk away and the hotel is about 5 minutes' walk from a metro station.

The room was spacious (particularly the shower) and clean, with a comfortable bed and interesting wooden decor. It certainly didn't feel like a chain hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, but had varying levels of competence in English.

The bar and restaurant prices aren't cheap, but the place is hard to beat for an evening drink. The restaurant food is adequate but nothing special (but I only ate in the hotel restaurant because I left eating elsewhere too late).

All in all, I would certainly stay here again if I returned to Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London_Man_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear London_Man

Thank you very much for your very positive review about our hotel it is very much appreciated. you might be interested to know that today we have introduced our new menu with our new noodle kitchen in the courtyard. The prices we charge are on avarge 15-20% cheeper than any comparable hotel in the area and seems to be very much appreciated by all our customers. The mnoodle chef cooks fresh noodles for you for less than $10.00 . We also sourced some new wines at great value.

Once again thank you so much for taking the time to inform fellow trip advisor users.

warmest wishes from all at the Red Wall Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
604 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We chose this hotel because it is extremely well rated, and we now understand why.
It is conveniently located 5 mins from the subway station of Dengshikou, merely 20 mins walking from the Forbidden City and 25 mins from Tianamen Square. It's like an oasis of peace and refined style in the hustle of Beijing.
The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, with traditional furniture. There is a kettle with complementary coffee and tea.
Though we did not have breakfast in the hotel (there are a couple of nice bakeries nearby), we had lunch and dinner once, and enjoyed them quite well.
Staff was friendly and they even kept our luggage for a couple of days while we were in Xi'An.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Hazinheira,

Thank you very much for your positive review about our hotel and inform fellow trip advisor users. Your rating is much appreciated especially so as you are a top contributor.

We strive very hard to give the best service possible knowing that we are not always perfect so a review like your is always very motivational for all our staff.

Should you visit beijing again you might be interested to know that we have just launched our new Bistro menu with our outdoor noodle kitchen. Our customers at dinner see our chefs pulling the noodles and is already proven to be a hit.

I am glad you made it home safe to Seoul and hope to see you back here at Shijia Hutong.

Best wishes

Robert van Eerde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

With good reservations service the hotel staff booked us a room that suited a family of five. The location and atmosphere are great advantages; when you stay here you are very close to the forbidden city yet you are in a hutong with walking distance to local restaurants. Excellent DUX beds (not the firm Asian style). Super breakfast. Very helpful staff, although the "we always say yes" policy is hard to follow sometimes. Floor cleaning in the room was not done well. Also, it comes at a price of course but still an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms with 2x king beds on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysexploring110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Alwaysexploring,

Thank you so much for the 5 star review of our hotel. it is very much appreciated especially so as I notice your comment about the floor clearing. this to us is totally unacceptable and my deepest apologies for this shortcoming. As I write to many travelers we do not claim to be perfect but we certainly strive to be perfect so your comment will be mooted and attention will be paid to this with our team.

We do have a policy as part of our golden rules at our hotel. It is not to always say "yes" but it is to never say "no". I suppose slightly different but nevertheless worth noting.

Once again thank you and I hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel. In the mean time enjoy your exploring around the world.

Warmest wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here 2 nights and loved it. The language barrier in China was so much greater than we had anticipated and the helpful staff here made it so much easier to navigate this fascinating city. The hotel itself is a real gem. Absolutely beautiful outside and the room was so lovely and comfortable at the same time. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Juliet,

Thank you so much for taking the time and inform fellow trip advisor users, it is much appreciated. yes English language in China is not always easy. We try to cover all the departments in the hotel with various degrees of English and I am happy to learn that you have spotted this.

I do hope you will come back in the near future and glad you made it home safe to El Paso.

Best wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Red Wall is a peaceful escape from the hustle & bustle of Beijing. The location is very central, Dengshikou metro station is just around the corner, but you feel hidden away from general chaos of the city. The rooms were clean and spacious, with local furnishings. The courtyard is the focus of the hotel in the evening, serving great food, and the perfect place to relax after a busy day. The staff couldn't do enough for us - special thanks to Sarah, Ying, You Yo and Brian (just to mention a few) for making our stay so enjoyable. An added bonus were the other guests - we met some great people both at breakfast and in the courtyard of an evening...something that doesn't readily happen in larger hotels.

A couple of things that could be improved:
* the additional bed was made up on the 'traditional' seat/lounge in our duplex. Whilst good in practice, you felt like you were sleeping on a stone floor - even after adding and extra layer. Perhaps the hotel could invest in a mattress/extra layers of padding to ensure guests have a comfortable sleep.
* a mirror in the bedroom upstairs would be helpful, even if it was a hand held - a bit of a hassle always having to pop down to the bathroom to do your hair or make-up.

I have to stress that the issues mentioned above were minor in our overall impression of the hotel. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and wouldn't hesitate to stay at the RWGH when we next visit Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winsome_wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Winsome Wanderers,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive response and thanks you even more for given those great suggestions. I actually realize than some of the duplex suites have mirrors missing which I will rectify immediately. It is also clear I need to check the extra bed set up as this is not acceptable. We have Dux beds in all our rooms so something has gone wrong here and i will investigate.

We know we are not always perfect but we certainly aim to be perfect and i am very happy that you enjoyed your overall stay.
I have posted your review on our noticeboard as you are mentioning members of our team of which we are always very proud.

I do hope you will come back to our boutique hotel in the not too distant future in the mean time I am glad you are home safe in Sydney.

Best wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,363 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,686 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,473 in Beijing
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Property: Red Wall Garden Hotel
Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage Cultural Entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor Noodle Stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The Private Dining and Event Rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for Meetings, Weddings or Events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese Cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal Meeting, Wedding or Event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense Historical, Cultural and Artistic life of Authentic and Historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing