We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,388)
Filter reviews
1,388 results
Traveller rating
1,021
300
51
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,021
300
51
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshijia hutongforbidden cityboutique hoteloverlooking the courtyardquiet hutongtea ceremonyno elevatortraditional stylehutong areadengshikou subway stationbusy cityairport pickupmodern amenitiesour room was spaciousloved this hotelchinese disheswonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
745 - 750 of 1,388 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

In this narrow hutong you would never imagine to find this incredible courtyard hotel. It's cosy but not at all small, rooms are large and well furnished. Everything gives you a taste of China, not only the noodle bar and hotel restaurant. The courtyard garden is a wonderful place and incredibly quiet. Walkable distance to some major attractions, easy and convenient for getting a taxi elsewhere. Good facilities and reading or resting areas. We would definetely stay here again if back in Beijing. A negative vote for the shower room which was roomy and stilish but not properly clean. Reception is quite happy to help you but sometimes I felt like they didn't know enough on the nearby services or options..but I guess it's not that easy in such a big caotic city! All in all, congratulations!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elefante p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Elefante P,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing such a positive review on trip advisor and inform fellow trip advisor users. I am ofd course very disappointed that we did not achieve or normal standards of cleanliness in our bathroom and I can assure you I will investigate this immediately as this is totally unacceptable.

Beijing is a huge city and yes there is so much going on. Our reception team continuously update their info but this city also changes rapidly and we learn new things daily but thank you for pointing this out it gives us another objective to strive to become perfect.

In the mean time I am glad you made it home to Nervessa della Battaglia in beautiful Treviso and do hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel

Best wishes , Ciao

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A really comfortable and pleasant end to a busy day of sightseeing. Our room overlooked the busy courtyard/restaurant and was a great place to have a tasty meal or just a glass of wine to unwind after a busy day. Improvements in service and quality of meals took place while we were there, new menu under new management that was responsive to suggestions. Overall a great place to stay that we will use again on our next trip to Beijing.

Walking distance to the Forbidden City and other central attractions.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear RodS

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to trip Advisor and inform travellers. I am especially pleased that you complimented our new menu and service which already has had a dramatic affect on customer satisfaction here. The noodles prepared fresh in our courtyard seemed to have become incredibly popular in a very short time.

You might be p[lease to know we have added more great value wines to the wine list in particular one wine from China which is simply amazing value

I do hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. In the mean time I am glad you made it home safe to the great city of San Diego.....

Best wishes

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a fantastic traditional hotel in Beijing.

The rooms are large and comfortable with a lovely bathroom.

Breakfast is generous with a good mix of Chinese and Western food.

The location in a traditional Hutong, is ideal with lots of places within easy reach, there is so much to see and do in Peking you will run out of time.

The staff are excellent, especially the young man that helped us late at night at check in, he gave excellent tips and wrote us helpfull notes in Chinese to hand to people.

There is a great court yard garden resturaunt and bar , we had a meal there and it was very good. The service is excellent.

Thank you Red Wall Garden for our stay in old Beijing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrisaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Chisaust,

Thank you so much for this great review , it is very much appreciated by all of us here at the hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed the service of our staff and our night manager especially and i can assure you he is beaming at the moment ..........

Your point about our food is well noted and another acknowledgement that the new menu and food is working well. You might be aware that we only recently started this and the noodle chef in the courtyard kitchen is already very popular . The pulling of the noodles in front of the guest has already been on TV in foreign countries !!!

I am glad you made it home safe to Australia and hope you will be back to Shijia Hutong soon.

Best wishes from all of us at the Red Wall garden hotel

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked this hotel based on the reviews Service was pretty good staff friendly location was ok although did not feel very safe walking up and down narrow streets
Most popular tourist locations reqd either subway ride or taxi- difficult if you didnt get the right taxi

Room Tip: Courtyard room downstairs no elevators two lots of stairs to first floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Con P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Con P,

What a shame that you only rated the hotel average because we do not have a staircase and that you felt unsafe and had to travel to go and see some of the attractions. As you now know all Hutongs in Beijing are narrow lanes and is very much part of the characteristic and history of Beijing and actually one of the main reasons people stay with us. All this is very transparent from all the reviews written about our little hotel. We actually have one of the best locations one can have, 25 minutes walk from Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, Lama temple, , 5 minutes walk from metro, Wangfucheng to take you anywhere in the city, you could not be more central. Of course if you take a wrong taxi anywhere else in the world there would be an issue. In Beijing taxis do not tend to drive into Hutongs as there is no chance for pick ups. This is a very large city so yes you will need to take a metro, cab or car like anywhere else so I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectation but at the same time a little confused what it is that you expected.

I also like to address the issue of feeling unsafe. and inform other trip advisor users it might be important to state that there is a lot of heavy footfall of people walking to and from our Shijia Hutong. It is a tree lined Hutong and houses some very prominent people including the only Hutong museum in the world. In all the time that we have been operating here we have not had one incident and all this is verified by many other reviews. In short I can actually let other people be assured that not just our Hutong in general all Hutongs are super safe day and night and is a must when exploring Beijing.

I am glad however that you seem to enjoy the staff and the service and that you got home safe to Brisbane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had a 5 night stay in a split level apartment fronting onto the beautiful garden courtyard in this Hotel. Not a problem with 3 in the room. Great service, great location, great room and in a hutong that might not be the most traditional but is close to shops, supermarkets and some classy wonton restaurants and to be honest just simply riding their free mountain bikes around the block and nearby hutongs each afternoon was GREAT!!!!! Great breakfasts included in deal that made our whole China trip. Loved Xian as well but out of 3 top rated Hotels 'Red Wall' was the best. P.S. Deal with Mark at Best-our.com. They have great drivers and cars.

Room Tip: Use drivers and let tour guides book your tickets to places as they get it cheaper and collect you for free in the end. Get to Chaoyung Theatre for the acrobats. Kids will love it and adults are amazed!! Forget Rend Theatre song and dance. Go to acrobat again!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavenShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Davenshell,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing a five star review for our boutique hotel. Reviews like your do help us compete against the larger international chains and i am so happy that you think you made the right decision.

Breakfast is included when booking direct and also we can pick people up from the airport if you stay 3 nights or more which are great incentives . wen now have 5 bikes at the hotel and I do think it is the best way of seeing beijing but than again i am from Holland!

It might be interested to note that we use one company for people making tours in beijing. We only charge a minimal mark up to cover our expenses but booking directly with other can be a hit and miss. I am glad all worked out for you but this is not always the case I can assure you.

In the mean time I am glad you made it home to beautiful Brisbane and hope that you will come back to us in Shijiia hutong in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews