We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our third trip to Red Wall Garden and it's even better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #14 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Our third trip to Red Wall Garden and it's even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

what a great hotel. So quiet and secluded but in the middle of Beijing. We have reall enjoyed our prior trips but they have exceed even that standard recently.The staff are tremendously helpfull and in the amenities are significantly better. The noodle bar is great. It is wonderful to sit in the beautiful courtyard in the evening with a bottle of wine and discuss the days activities.

Room Tip: all rooms are good. Probably not ground floor. Some rooms have balconies overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Roger M

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your last visit with us at the Red Wall Garden Hotel and thank you sincerely for your continued support.

It's very heart warming and encouraging to welcome back regular guests on a regular basis. It's evident you continue to enjoy our food offerings and in particular the newly re-styled Courtyard Bistro. We are very proud of the level of service we provide and I am once again very pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations on this occasion too.

Thank You also for your kind comments regarding our staff. I can assure you your feedback has already been shared with the entire team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Gavin Rimmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    267
    47
    8
    4
See reviews for
277
521
86
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Hotel is very traditional, located in Beijing Hutong, which makes it much more attractive! The manager and all the staff are very friendly and welcome. Breakfast should be improved with fresh orange juice and more options. The restaurant is very nice and food is very good, recommend! The room is also very couse, typical and decorated in Chinese style. The mattress is very hard ... Location is very good but you need to use Metro or going walk to locations as taxis difficult take you to the Hotel (it is inside the Hutong). Nevertheless, the experience is unique, the environment is superb and I really recommend as it is a more familiar and pleasant Hotel than other big hotels in Beijing ...

Room Tip: please choose the rooms in the first or second floor with view to the courtyard ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmatos79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear jmatos79

Thank You for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. I am pleased to note an overall enjoyable experience.

I do note your comment regarding the mattress and would like to kindly inform you that all our mattresses are Hand Made Chinese "Dux" Mattresses which usually offer the highest standard of comfort possible.

Chinese Culture and Tradition is always at the heart of what we deliver in relation to service and overall experience and I am very pleased you were able to enjoy the overall ambiance here at The Red Wall Garden Hotel. As you rightly mentioned our location within a Traditional and Historic Hutong makes for a truly unique experience.

Once again I Thank You for your feedback and I look forward to personally welcoming you back to the Red Wall Garden Hotel hopefully very soon.

Kind Regards

Gavin Rimmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Located right in the middle section of Beijing near all the tourist attractions you would want to see is the beautiful oasis in the heart of a crazy city. It was beautiful. (An old residence I think) it has a central courtyard to eat, relax or have a beer in. Gorgeous at night. The room was GIGANTIC and beautifully decorated. SOOO much better than a regular hotel. I cant say enough wonderful things about the people and the hotel. I booked no their website and received free breakfasts for the 2 or us. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear MichFamily5

Thank You for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Red Wall Garden Hotel.

It gives me great pride that the staff were able to make your stay an unforgettable experience. It is feedback such as yours that the staff truly value and I can assure you that your feedback has already been shared with the entire team.

Please do let me know should you decide to return to Beijing and the Red Wall Garden Hotel as we would all look forward to welcoming you back.

With Kind Regards

Gavin Rimmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Red Wall based on reviews on Trip Advisor and we made the right choice! We received excellent service throughout our stay including from the reception staff to the bar and waitress staff. The hotel is in a great location, very close to the main shopping street and attractions like the Forbidden City are within walking distance. Also close to the metro station. The hotel has a lovely courtyard garden which is very peaceful away from the bustling city. Food and drink good and reasonably priced. We liked the traditional style and decor of the hotel and it was great to be located in a Hutong. We had mentioned to the hotel that we were on honeymoon and they provided a bottle of wine and snacks which was thoughtful and appreciated. The hotel also helped organise a trip to the Great Wall. Make sure to have the address written down as there are two hotels of the same name so one taxi driver did take us to the wrong one! All in all lovely stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KateStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear KateStirling

Thank You for your lovely feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. It gives me great pride that we were all able to deliver and excede your expectations.

Your feedback has already been shared with the entire team here and I can tell you that this was received very warmly by them all.

Please do let me know should you be travelling to Beijing again as we would look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gavin Rimmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I had a great dinner experience in Red wall garden. This hotel designed very traditional Chinese style with the Arts elements. Sit in the courtyard, have a good meal and light drink with friends in the cool summer night, you feel you are in somewhere outside of the city. It's hard to find such a good place to enjoy the peaceful in a busy city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Jessie Z

Thank You for your recent feedback regarding your great experience at our fantastic Courtyard Bistro. The Courtyard Bistro at the Red Wall Garden Hotel has been recently restyled and our new menu offering compliments the tranqiul and peaceful environment you mentioned. Chinese Tradition and Culture is always at the heart of all our offferings and service delivery and I am very pleased you were able to enjoy these elements.

Your feedback has already been shared with the entire team here and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Gavin Rimmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this excellent courtyard style hotel in one of the duplex rooms. The whole experience was everything we could have hoped for. The hotel was quiet and peaceful and yet is less than 10 minutes walk from the centre of the city. We arrived before normal check in time but this was no problem for the staff and we were shown to our room just off the courtyard with its outdoor restaurant seating. We had read that the restaurant got good ratings and, again, we were very pleased, and chose to eat here rather than go out - the English speaking staff and menu being a big help.
During our stay the reception staff were very helpful. Again, they spoke English, which given our lack of being able to speak Chinese, was a great help. On our final day we were allowed to keep our luggage at the hotel as we only had to be at the airport at midnight and they very kindly allowed as access to showers etc at the end of a hot day in the city (no doubt much appreciated by fellow passengers on our plane that night). Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at this hotel and I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yewbarrowite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Yewbarrowite

Thank You for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. It is always our aim to excede our Guests Expectations and it makes me very proud that we were able to achieve this during your stay.

Your feedback has already been shared with the entire team here at the Red Wall Garden Hotel and we all look forward to possibly welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Warm Regards

Gavin Rimmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Mass
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My family and I liked this hotel very much! They welcomed us and made us feel right at home. IIf you want something different than a standard western style hotel, this is an excellent choice. It gives you more of a flavor of China. Our room was upgraded to a 2 floor suite, There was fresh fruit and bottled water in the room when we arrived. The location is quiet. Rooms were well kept up and maintained. The food served in the restruant was good for dinner. Breakfast is the standard chinese breakfast, but they did have omelet and cereal. Breakfast is pricey, and if you want something different there are street food carts nearby and a Starbucks about 4 minutes away. The hotel staff was very helpful when we asked questions and speak excellent english. This location is in a historic area and is close to many places of interest. Just a couple of doors down the alley is a small Hutong museum that tells about the history of this Hutong area and the important people that lived here. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Labgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Labgeek

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased to note an overall enjoyable stay at The Red Wall Garden Hotel.

Chinese Culture is always at the heart of what we deliver in relation to service and overall ambiance. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is often referred to by our guests as their "Home Away From Home" and a "Tranquil Oasis". The newly restyled Courtyard Bistro lends itself perfectly as a place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing and I am pleased you were able to enjoy the facilities we offer at the hotel.

Once again I Thank You for your feedback which has been shared with the entire team.

Hopefully you will return to Beijing fairly soon and we will of course be looking forward to welcoming you back at that time.

Kind Regards

Gavin Rimmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,435 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,435 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Property: Red Wall Garden Hotel
Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage cultural entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor noodle stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The private dining and event rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for meetings, weddings or events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal meeting, wedding or event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense historical, cultural and artistic life of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing