We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feeling of real china”
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #35 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A feeling of real china”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Small, friendly and perfectly situated in the midst of the Hutongs. The service was very good, beds comfortable and an excellent breakfast. An added bonus is pleasant bar area and good wine list. If you want a small hotel with a personal service then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 666StephenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    92
    20
    1
    4
See reviews for
84
255
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a lovely small quiet hotel tucked away, but within a bustling neighbourhood with plenty of nearby restaurants and bars to sample. Within an easy walk of several major sites and the much expanded, safe and east to use subway network. Staff were extremely helpful, making suggestions, helping with transfers and even giving you a local map and mobile phone! They even gave us breakfast when we went to drop off our luggage after arriving on an early flight. Good coffee and nice room top it off nicely.

Room Tip: We think the room with the private terrace was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel and it was once again a wonderful experience. The location is very special - in the hutong district - a very interesting area for walking around. Also, it is about 10 minutes walk to the subway station. Our children (11 and 14) stayed in a courtyard room and we stayed in a larger garden room next door so it is very convenient for families. The breakfasts are excellent - there is a choice of about 7 or 8 dishes which are all tasty, fresh and nutritious - pancakes, fruits, cheese and bread, eggs and the coffee is quite good, however, we did find that this depended on who was brewing it.
This is not a five star hotel but I mean this in a positive way - it is the staff and the unique touches which make it so good - on arrival we were given a mobile phone and a map with restaurants, cafes and attractions all marked out, and a subway map which we used every day. The staff, who all speak many languages, are very friendly and helpful with any request and offer advice and ideas about attractions and restaurants. They are very willing to organise anything from washing to booking restaurants and tickets.
Also, they have a lovely selection of wines located in the little bar in the foyer or you can take a drink up to the rooftop area with some nice views.
Very good value for money in Beijing and I believe the owner is planning to open another similar style hotel in the Dashilan district of Beijing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank imof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKHAM
Level 6 Contributor
812 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 635 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The location is esoteric: in the Hutong district of Beijing. Stay where courtiers, ambassadors, and court officials did for centuries. The Orchid is an oasis of incredible quiet, friendly warmth, and a homey atmosphere that is difficult to match. You cannot imagine the luxuriant interior from the outside.
The staff are more than attentive, and always full of tremendous ideas of what to do and where to go. The ample breakfasts allow you to tour the whole day without stopping.
Limited to adventurous and individually appointed 10 rooms, this is a boutique hotel's boutique.
Don't miss it when in Beijing.

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeFMarkhamON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duaringa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

From the first contact to the time we left everything about The Orchid was professional and helpful. They were wonderful and organised everything from drivers to and from the airport to getting our washing done. The first night we arrived it was mid-autumn moon festival and one of the girls took us for a walk down the street to see the beautiful lanterns and the fun of the festival. The staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful. I thought having the bikes to use was a great touch and my husband and I took our daughter for a ride around the back streets were the hotel is located which certainly added to our China vacation. The peaceful location is a welcome relief when you have been out on the streets of Beijing all day and the courtyard provides a lovely area to sit and relax before getting up and doing it all again next day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syrole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Some of the things that I appreciated? We really loved the location of the hotel and the staff were so friendly and very nice. The location was great and although hard to find, it really is a peaceful oasis. You will really feel part of the local neighbourhood. I've read all of the trip advisor reviews before writing this and agree wholeheartedly with the reviews. I do have a few tiny gripes and one suggestion. Our room (one of the larger rooms) is right under the kitchen, so early in the mornings there is a bit of banging and crashing. However, the hutongs are very quiet generally so this is possibly a bit unfair (and we did enjoy our breakfast every morning). I found the bed quite uncomfortable - perhaps this is a gripe of personal preference, but you will sink into the mattress. The next one is a suggestion. Not once, but twice, we were walked in on while we were in our room. Once was just after a shower, so enough said. The second time we felt lucky that we had our trousers on! :-) I think, as a suggestion, a small Chinese token to be hung from the doors when you do not want to be disturbed or even knocking first would be appreciated. This would help avoid embarrassment from both sides! Make sure you visit Mr. Shi's Dumplings across the street for their yummy dumplings. The hotel provide you with a mobile phone in case you get lost or need help which is useful. We didn't know that we'd get this, so had also bought a service through our tour company which of course was unnecessary. All in all a positive experience and we'd recommend people to stay there.

Room Tip: Try for the other large room which has its own deck overlooking the hutongs rather than the one unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huwakibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Orchid is an oasis in the middle of the Beijing hutongs. The best thing about the place is the staff - fluent English speakers with great recommendations (Thanks for all the help lou!).
The welcome kit with a cell phone and an amazing map with all the subway stops and what is there to see at each stop as well as recommended bars and restaurants was so helpful during our stay.
We were in a loft courtyard room - decent size, nice shower, comfy bed.
The breakfast is superb for Chinese standard - you can pick out of 7 or 8 options and if you are not full you can get more.
Just to give you an idea of the service:
We had some noise from the courtyard one night and i called the reception - then the noise stopped - the next day all the staff of the hotel apologized for the incident and they offered to do free laundry and gave us any bottle of wine we picked.
the only small downside is the distance from the subway - about 15 minutes walk which can be exhausting after a long day outside but all in all it's not too bad.
In conclusion a great small boutique hotel -very recommended.

Room Tip: get a room on the second floor - in the courtyard rooms you can hear the people sitting outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Habanudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,300 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#77 of 6,520 in Beijing
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#42 of 6,520 in Beijing
571 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#71 of 6,520 in Beijing
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Property: The Orchid Hotel
Address: No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid is the ultimate base for exploring Beijing from within. Situated right in the middle of all the action of the old city and staffed by some of the coolest and fun people, staying at The Orchid means you will love Beijing, and want to come back for more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing