We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Orchid Hotel
Nearby Hotels
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
417
97
23
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
97
23
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple tvbaochao hutonggarden roommr shi's dumplingsdumpling classshakshukatiny alleynarrow walkwaybell towerlocal phonedrum towerprivate terracehutong areadumpling makingreal beijingwestern amenitiessmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

After our 14 hour flight we were glad to stay here for four days. The staff all spoke good English, many of them came from places outside of China. Our favorite was Lilly from Senegal. They are all service oriented. The place seems lost in an alley off the hutongs, and is not easy to find, but it is an oasis in the middle of the city. We arrived early in the morning and at 10 they let us go to our room #10 had a private deck over our room. We enjoyed our breakfasts, and Mr. Shi's Dumplings across the street. We were sad to leave after touring Beijing for three days.

Room Tip: We loved our room 10
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank captainmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I was impressed not only on how accomodative this hotel was when we arrived, but also the interiors of the place. You would'nt expect much going into that alley, but the place is great! Simple and modern design, and very homey. We arrived in Beijing on the wee hours of December, and we could'nt stand the cold weather outside. But the people here were very nice and giving of a warm welcome. They even gave us some tips on our tour to the different places in Beijing, and provided us with a delicious banana cake and fruits during our very early tour!
We also got short of cash on hand, but thanks to this place, we were able to process online payment without any hassle.
I would definite recommend this hotel, and would also be my top choice when I go back there.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Arlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

From the moment we arrived tired and late at 1.45am, we received a warm welcome at the Orchid Hotel. From the start, it was the little touches that made me love this place. From the "Welcome Box" that included a mobile phone, old postcards & map, the spontaneous offers of tea after a day out, the quirkily funny breakfast menu, the free use of bikes and to the overall friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The hotel is fantastically located for those travelers who want to stay in the middle of the old neighborhoods of Beijing. We loved being able to eat breakfast from the extensive and generous menu (loved the banana bread) on the rooftop terrace. It is easy to walk around the hutongs and see the locals going about their daily lives, or safely ride the hotel's bikes around the streets of Beijing. The rooms are very comfortable with some nice spots to sit outside in the courtyard amongst the greenery. One of the best experiences we had was doing the dumpling class held at the Orchid on Thursday nights.Not only was the food prepared by us and Lujie delicious and again generous in its servings, but the class was offered with the same friendliness and good humour that is a trademark of this unique hotel.

Room Tip: We chose one of the garden rooms which are not as close to main activity area so possibly are quieter. The rooms are slightly larger with king beds. They have private gardens. Our garden was actually inside our room with large daybed under skylight. Wasn't quite what I'd imagined private garden to be, but we did relax on that daybed a lot!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillPDrysdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Don't be put off by the narrow alleyway access to the hotel - we arrived after a delayed flight at 2am, and our driver had great difficulty finding this hotel. We were initially alarmed by the dark narrow passage we had to drag our bags down... but once you step through the front door you find a little piece of paradise!! Lovely boutique hotel in the Hutong area. Clean room. Comfortable bed. Great breakfasts. The Yang room has a lovely private rooftop balcony with a view over the Hutong rooftops to the bell tower. Short walk to lovely Dali Courtyard restaurant. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and supply a useful map, and a cellphone with contact numbers in case you get a little lost in Beijing! A wonderful experience - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Yang room has a private rooftop balcony - wonderful view over Hutong rooftops to the bell tower
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandWjhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I did not stay at the hotel but was recommended by a friend at the end of my trip to go check the place out. I had a really nice time at the rooftop, having my breakfast, overlooking the beautiful hutongs. Some of the rooms even have their private rooftop balconies. If I come to Beijing next, I would definitely stay here!

Tip: I saw that the address was in between 63 and 67 of the Baochao Hutong. They are not kidding by that as you would need to walk along an alley to reach the premise!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 40litres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews