We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located, perfectly clean, and perfectly friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
Ranked #95 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My fiancé and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel from October 5th to 14th 2011. We chose it because it was the highest ranked 4-star hotel at lowest price in such a central location on Hotels.com, ebookers and booking.com. Superb value for money!

Had read all the reviews we could find but we got surprised anyway. Location and the hotel was much better than we had expected. Never travel with high expectations. It's better getting postively surprised. We had a room on 11th floor on the hotel's front side and had a beautiful view of the city and even the Forbidden city and Tian'an Men on clear days with less smog. The hotel is right next to two different subway stations. Dongdan and Chonwenmen. Attractions like Wangfujing shopping street, Forbidden City, Tian'an Men and Tian'an Men square are all in walking distance. We varied a lot in walking, taking subway and taxi. The Malls at Oriental Plaza were a 5 minutes walk away giving you tons of shopping and eating choices. The underground floor has a shopping street with plenty of restaurants of different kinds. You find everything from Burger King to more decent and expensive restaurants with both local and western food. If you're looking for cheap, fast breakfast the nearest options is McDonalds on the corner of the Oriental Plaza, the foodstreet at the Oriental Plaza or nearby Chongwenmen subway station where there is another mall with Starbucks, KFC and many more. We used to buy take away breakfast at a nice little Bakery right on the corner next to Chongwenmen subway station. Delicious, fresh and very cheap.

The staff at the hotel is great. Lots of nice people working for your best. Not everyone speaks fluent English but they all speak at least a bit and and always try their best to understand and help you. Best English speakers are the ones who works in reception. Everybody, also Cleaners always smile and greet you in the morning. We had a problem flushing down the toilet and they fixed it immediately. The hotel looks a bit dull from the outside but on the inside is very nice. Clean lobby, corridors and rooms. It shines in every corner.

We stayed at the Deluxe King rooms which are a bit bigger than standard, they also have sofa and writing desk. The bed was not hard at all (most tourists in China complain of hard beds). It was perfectly soft and we both slept like little angels.

The consierge called a taxi for us in advance for the day we were leaving and it was there on time. I have read reviews from other hotels where many complain about too long time waiting for check-out. We waited only 20 minutes having no problems at all.

We will definetely recommend this hotel for every kinds of travellers and also go back there another time. Don't forget to have the hotel name written in Chine characters or else none of the taxi drivers will not understand where you want to go if you take taxi from the airport. At the hotel you can get a card including most attractions in Chinese characters.

Do not hesitate in choosing this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms located on higher floors at the front side will have view to Forbidden City/Palace Museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Paola-X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

This hotel is awesome! I decided to stay here after I had a bad experience at a cheaper hotel. Staying here saved what had been a very bad trip to Beijing. It's within walking distance to the Forbidden City, Wangfujing Street, and two shopping malls. Three subway stops are also within walking distance making it easy to get to The Temple of Heaven, the Summer Palace, and Olympic Village. The staff is helpful and very professional. They even surprised me and sent up a delicious cake to my room on my birthday. The rooms are big and very luxurious. This hotel is one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: book on Expedia to get a good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wolfpackgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

At the time of arrival and checking in, we expected Inner Mongolia Grand hotel to give us an average experience. With a view to the price they charged us what all we could see at the entrance made average and affordable accommodation anticipation. Right to a great extent it was. But in the areas of services and hospitality provided by the hotel it was definitely praiseworthy. Staffs of the hotel were very co-operative. It was a thing anyone could easily experience. Besides, talk of cleanliness, rooms and bathroom, they were okay, but all combined resulted in a comfortable stay. Location also was not bad at all, rather we could find several places of interest that one would like to see in Beijing were in a close proximity. I know we won’t be coming to China in the coming a few years, but yes, if anyone asks me about an affordably comfortable accommodation in Beijing, Inner Mongolia Grand will be the first recommendation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Beijing was the last city on our China trip. We stayed about 3 nights in the hotel. The hotel is worthed for what we pay.

The location of the hotel is accessible to the metro. And it is situated well in to reach all the tourist attractions.

The room is clean and spacious. Even with an extra bed there are some rooms. There is a sofa, and a working desk in the room as well. The bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is clean and modern.

The staffs are attentive from the beginning of our arrival. When we were still walking towards the hotel, a staff came and welcomed us. He kindly offered to take care of our luggage. After a long travel and with all the tiredness, that small action was impressive, they know what the need of their guests.

The concierge was also informative in the tour packages that the hotel had. We feel that personal connections were offered. When we found difficulties in getting a top-up for our phone, the manager hotel walked with one of us to find for the shop that sell the top-up. A down-to-earth behaviour! They gave us tips on where to go. On the last day when we needed to quickly run for some souvenirs, the manager told us to go to this district. And that's what exactly what we meant. We completed the souvenirs-hunting easily.

Oh ya, there is no communication barriers at all. The english were great. And what I personally love, they share local hospitality flavour to our journey.

It is literally the best hotel during the whole of our China trip!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boucle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Hotel has a good location and had all the amenities you expect in a hotel. Main downside was the cleanliness. 100% certain my floor didn't get cleaned during my 7 day stay there which isn't very nice. All in all it was very cheap and comfortable so as long as that's what you expect then it's good!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hkp198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed here for seven nights. Initially we only booked five but decided to stay on for an extra few days.

The original booking was for a standard room, twin beds. The room was clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated and quiet. There were the usual amenities such as complimentary water, fridge, LAN connectivity (albeit slow connection), robes, slippers, safe, LCD and bathroom freebies. Once we extended we were moved to a deluxe room, with couch, chairs and more space than enough.

As noted above, the internet connection was slow and often cut out, which was a letdown given the standard of everything else. The beds were super comfortable, big plumpy pillows, soft but not too soft bedding and a mattress that reminded me of home.

The TV channel selection seemed to vary between the two different rooms we stayed in. In the standard room we had up 230 options and towards the top end of that number you got Discovery, Nat Geo and a movie channel etc. However, once we moved, this number dropped to 90 and only one channel was English.

We didn't try any of the food at the hotel, so I can't comment on that. But, the location is good for a number of Beijing's sights and sounds. Wangfujing, Tian' Anmen Square, Forbidden City, CBD, Chairman Mao Memorial, all of which are within walking distance or alternatively, you can use the subway.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and I would return to the Inner Mongolia Grand. It's definitely value for money if you book using the cheaper discounted websites.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RandomGeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

A great last minute find. We were originally booked into a more central hotel but decided to stay here to save some money on accomodation since we were staying for a week - and we were pleased we did - it was half the price but yet still clean, comfortable and modern. Although a 10-15 minute walk from Wangfujing, this hotel was a gamble that paid off. It is very close to 2 metro stops.The room was spacious with a pleasant view over the park. We were on the 12th floor. The bathrooms were modern, the beds very comfortable, great air con, good internet connection, secure safe in the room which was easy to use and a fridge. Only thing to be aware of is staff speak little english.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liesenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,718 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#57 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,201 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#69 of 6,599 in Beijing
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
#85 of 6,599 in Beijing
576 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#65 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,548 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel

Address: No.2 Chongwenmennei Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £57 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing