We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little terrace”
Review of MODO Urban Deli - CLOSED

MODO Urban Deli
Price range: US$58 - US$195
Cuisines: European, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice little terrace”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have been there a couple of times now the food is good, like to sit outside and people watch, the waiters speak English with a smile, good option for vegetarians and the wine isn't that bad either, would recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walkyoursole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
buenos aires argentina
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Franchaise this place, please !”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

As a vegetarian, trying to find an appropriate place it eat can be a problem. I love to see a menu that has a few choices from which to choose. Modo Urban Deli was one such place.
As I wandered around the large, outdoor, upscale Shin King Shopping Mall, I discovered this great restaurant. I knew that when I saw a salad listed with quinoa, I knew that my search was over.
I don't know why they call it a "deli"? It just doesn't seem like a deli. The menu is totally western and the place is very attractive. Great food at great prices.
Tripadvisor mentions the menu items at US$58 - US$195. WRONG ! I took a copt of the menu, which shows prices to be from 58CNY-148CNY (US$9.00-US$24.00)
This restaurant is outstanding. There is something on the menu for everyone..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank XchocolateX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A cosy place with excellent food”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

It's a good place if you feel like having a nice meal in a Western style setting. If you forget about what's outside for a minute, the place could be in New York as well. I had linguine with seafood which were excellent and did not feel strange for one minute having a meal just on my own. Waiters were very friendly and spoke decent English.
I will come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMissSunshine71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chic and healthy deli a notch above the rest in Beijing/Sanlitun”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

When it comes to delis in the Sanlitun area and even Beijing, Modo is probably one of the best restaurants there that serves healthy deli favorites in a chic setting. This isn't your average cheapo hole-in-the-wall or cafe where students camp out and spread their books to study. It's the kind of lunch spot that that's perfect for a date and gets romantic at night. The food is much better than the Beijing Western casual dining standard. Great vegetarian options. Just wish that their restaurant was slightly bigger and seated more people. Summers here are better as the outdoor seating opens up.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheVeggieVoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The Deli is the closest thing you'll find to New York eating in Beijing. It's tiny, but stylish with excellent quality, fresh food. The veggie burger and meat burgers are both first rate (oddly though, fries are not offered). It's pricey and the menu is a bit limited, but the friendly service, outstanding food and ambiance carry this place. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MODO Urban Deli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing