We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room - POOR SERVICE!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Orange Hotel Beijing Jianguomen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crystal Orange Hotel Beijing Jianguomen
Ranked #218 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Beijing
1 review
“Nice room - POOR SERVICE!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel has the potential to be good if the service was to be drastically improved! Whilst the room is nice, clean and modern - the staff here are very unhelpful!!! No matter what your question is the answer is likely to be "no" or "i don't know". Staff lack knowledge of local surroundings and cannot even provide a recommendation for a good dinner spot. You cannot rely on the hotel staff here to help you in any way whatsoever. The rooms also do not have a information book to let you know of call rates from the hotel, hotel facility information etc. Bottom line - I wouldn't stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    72
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
19
6
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taiyuan, China
Level Contributor
178 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hotel has actually won design awards. The lobby is modern and hip, and the rooms are neither small nor huge, but quite stylish. It is pretty fancy for the price. 'Boutique' is a fairly good description, as the hotel character, but is not a full-service hotel. There are some aspects where it seems more like a budget, hotel, however.

The location is mostly good. It is a bit further from the subway than I would like--maybe a 15 minute stroll, and the alley it is on is prone to mini traffic jams, so not great for getting cabs. A plus of the area is that there are lots of restaurants around, and the alley itself has a few useful shops and a bit of real Beijing character.

There are several classes of room--the quality and design is very similar. Some are slightly larger due to the bay window, and the business room adds a fuller mini-bar and sticks a bathtub in the bay window, which doesn't really excite me. In this case, I would recommend the most basic room available, as they are still nice.

The breakfast at 40 RMB is expensive by Chinese standards, but is huge. It is sort of half Western and half Chinese. Lots of places nearby sell Chinese breads and breakfasts.

The rooms include two small free bottles of water and two small bars of chocolate daily. The mini-bar prices are higher than on the street, but not so bad. A plus was that the room was very quiet, and the beds were firm but soft on top and to me very comfortable.

Lighting has a number of settings--New York for work, Paris for mood lighting, Sleep for off. Once I got used to it, this was a pretty good way to manage numerous lights. The room is brightly lit, and dramatic lighting is an element of design the hotel has gotten mostly right, in my opinion. I didn't have any problems with the heat/air con system.

The big downside:
-The internet connection is abysmally slow in the evenings, almost useless.

Mostly minor drawbacks:
-The first person up in the morning has a very long wait for hot water--it took an hour to get hot one morning, though was generally fine.
-While the front desk resolved problems and were nice, the solutions were not up to international standards. For example, we were upgraded to a room for the first night for no extra charge, but after needed to switch rooms or pay the difference.
-Only one elevator occasionally led to long waits.
-Housekeeping was a bit careless some days during our stay--nothing major, but a bit annoying.
-The carpet in the hallways is a bit grungy.
-It does seem to cater to a younger clientele, but that didn't bother us.
-It can be hard to figure out how to turn off the music that is set to play when entering the room. But we grew attached to it after a few days.

I was a little underwhelmed, but my guests had high standards and were happy with the hotel, so that, combined with a reasonable price for this location in Beijing lead me to give in a 'very good' rating.

Overall, it is a good value for Beijing, and a place I may stay again. It's a good choice if you want a place with a bit of 'wow' factor at a bargain price and can live with the drawbacks.

Room Tip: There is not much difference between the rooms, so a standard room should be fine. The deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellevret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

My husband and I are on day 4 of 6 days at this hotel and are having a great time! The desk staff are very pleasant and helpful and the hotel is very clean and fresh. Our room is very spacious and is made up nicely every day. We enjoy coming back here after a long day of walking and sightseeing; what I love is that we can't hear a thing once we're in our room.

Some have said the bathroom is a little funky but I don't see why. When you enter the bathroom the first area is the toilet area and next to it is a glass wall and door leading to the shower/tub area. The shower is basically the whole floor in front of the tub which is fully tiled in with a drain, and has a wonderful rainfall shower with great pressure. Next to that is a large tub. There is plenty of room for toiletries. And the towels aren't scratchy!

The sink area is in the entrance to the room and is a good size, with a hair dryer, tissues, toothbrushes, comb, soap, nice-smelling hand lotion, and shower caps (does anyone still use shower caps these days? Ha ha, my grandma told me she'd take them home and use them to cover bowls instead of saran wrap...).

The bed is a king and VERY comfortable after a long day, and there is a seating area with a small couch and table by the window. The room is nicely furnished with a modern twist and very spacious. Along the room is low shelving which houses the mini bar and tea/coffee with a kettle. Next to that is a desk and chair. The plug-ins accommodate North American plugs.

Breakfast - I think is good. Okay, it's not high end, but if you're tired of looking for food and eating steamed buns and soy milk on the street in the morning, for 7 bucks you can either eat in the breakfast room on the main floor or have it delivered to your room by filling out a card and hanging it on your door the night before. It includes toast, croissant, or small sandwiches, choice of egg, bacon, fruit, a small salad and yogurt.

We are using the subway like crazy here, which is very easy to understand, and Yong'anli station on Line 1 is an easy 10 minute walk away. Each trip costs about 30 cents! Although it's completely doable, I wouldn't recommend taking the train from the airport, only because there are a lot of stairs in the stations and if you get crowded into a train with baggage, it's just too much stress after a long trip. We took a taxi from the airport to our hotel which cost 79 rmb (less than $13) and the cab driver had no problem getting us to our door from the main road. We printed off a map that included the address in Chinese.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a first-time visitor!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmelieVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usak, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

My family and I stayed here last night and loved it. Considering the location, you will not find a better hotel at this cost in Beijing. I've stayed at several hotels in this price range in the same area, and this is by far the best. Our room was clean and spacious. Sometimes hotels can fool you on trip advisor, but this one is even better than advertised. If you are looking for a hotel in this area, you really should stay here.

The staff here seemed to almost be entirely young, English speaking people. Their English was surprisingly good, and the service was excellent. We were staying there with my mother-in-law, and while there she got really sick. They were more than willing to let us check out of both of our rooms late so that she could stay and rest in the room. The hotel staff member named Justin was really friendly and helpful.

Finding the hotel can be a little tricky so be sure to print a map. Our driver had a really difficult time getting to the hotel during the peak traffic time in Beijing. We actually got out of the car and just walked the last couple of blocks to the hotel. If you are a foreigner, don't be intimidated by the street this hotel is located on. We were a little nervous walking down the street for the first time, but we eventually really liked it. I think you'll actually appreciate the fact that you can get snacks, fruit, and water for the prices the locals pay, not some outrageous foreigner price you'd have to pay one block over.

If you are looking for a hotel in this area and in this price range, give this one a shot. You won't be disappointed. I'll definitely be staying here again when I get back to Beijing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Saw the hotel from Changan Avenue but there was actually no direct path from the main road. We spent 30 mins looking for driving directions and I checked in at around 3am, but even at this hour the front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful! Hotel room itself is bigger than business hotels but bathroom is too funky to my liking. Narrow corridors. Didn't dine in the hotel so not sure about the room there. Overall a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I just stayed at this hotel for several days on a recent trip to China. In short this really is an excellent hotel. I have stayed at other hotels and paid more than four times the price and not received such good value and service. The Crystal Orange is fantastic. If you have any business at the Global Trade Center in Beijing – its right next door. Do not book yourself into the Sheraton, its good but not better for the money. The rooms in the Crystal Orange are boutique style and all the money spent on the hotel has been spent on guest enjoyment. Whoever invested knew what they were doing. I see from other posts that people were unhappy with the breakfast. Let me tell you there is a 24 hours KFC right over the road. Like many Chinese you can go there for breakfast if you really feel you are not happy with the Crystal Orange Breakfast. Actually I thought the breakfast was OK. All the staff speak English, and there is always someone on duty who has very strong English. Many young and rich Chinese stay at this hotel. The only issue is that it’s not that big, and the website is not dual language. But let me tell you this new, fresh and extremely high quality hotel right by Beijing’s Global Trade Center will not disappoint. Great rooms, imaginatively and thoughtfully decorated, with a motivated and knowledgeable English speaking staff- all for the price of a so so hotel? Come on you’d be crazy to stay anywhere else!!

Room Tip: Floors 2 and 3 are smoking the other 5 floors are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FabulousFidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just came back from an excellent stay at the Crystal Orange Hotel Jianguomen. Prior to arriving in Beijing I had spent ages looking for a good quality, reasonably priced and city centre located hotel for a 3 night stay. There being so many hotels in Beijing, there were a lot of hotels to go through and consider, in the end it was the Crystal Orange that fit all the criteria and it certainly didn't disappoint. The hotel was booked on Ctrip.com at RMB518 per night for a standard room.

The hotel is located just off Jianguomen Outer Street, a large and busy main road through Beijing. The nearest subway station is Yonganli, from the airport I had taken the airport express train to Dongzhimen and then transferred on to the subway which required one change before arriving at Yonganli. Once there it was about a 15 min walk to the hotel. Make sure you find out the exact location of the hotel and plan your route as it is not so easy to find. The hotel is located on a small residential back street off the main road. The hotel is within walking distance to the Guo Mao CBD district and embassy district, there are many eateries, convenience stores etc. nearby and also a supermarket about a 5 min walk away.

Inside the hotel, the lobby is very modern and very cool. The front desk staff work off laptops and check-in was easy, staff know good enough English. There is one lift for the hotel, I was on the 7th floor, I think there were 11 floors. Never found it a problem and never had to wait long for the lift to arrive.

Once enter the room music starts playing. They have a selection of tunes from the Hotel Costes compilation of lounge music which is stored on an SD card plugged into the multi-media music player and starts up once you put your card key in the slot. The room is lovely and has everything you could need. Firstly the decor is modern and looks great, the size is fine, not big but not small either and is decked out with the latest gadgets and features. As mentioned before there is a multimedia music player which allows you to dock your iPhone/iPod, plays CDs and MP3s on an SD card. On the wall is a 42" LG LCD TV, provided is an HDMI cable which you can hook up to your laptop etc. to use the TV as a monitor. VGA cables, RGB cables etc. are available upon request. By the desk are 2 international plug sockets, an ethernet cable for internet, HDMI and VGA plugs for hooking up with the TV. Internet usage in room is free via wifi or ethernet cable.
The lighting is controlled with a touch panel with a number of preset lighting programmes depending on your mood/requirement. The touch panel can be a bit unresponsive but you have to press it in the right way. The panel is lit in blue when lights are off. The air conditioning is also controlled using a touch panel, didn't really figure out how to work it but the default setting is fine.

The bathroom is nice and big, it has a big glass wall to the room but has blinds if you need the privacy. The bathroom features a bath tub, walk in shower and toilet. The basin is outside of the bathroom. The bathroom amenities are good and comes with all the usual things, the toothbrush set comes with a good quality toothbrush, not your usual disposable ones. Shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and lotion is provided. A hair dryer is provided in one of the storage compartments under the basin.

Other room features include a safe, a minibar/fridge, a Rubik’s cube (which if you solve you get a free coffee) and a little fish bowl which comes with a little introduction letter. A small chocolate is placed on each pillow each day.

Breakfast is in the restaurant located on the ground floor by the lobby. It is done on an order basis rather than buffet like most hotels. Having realised this, rather than having the breakfast in the restaurant I requested it to be taken to my room as room service. I had it as room service for the other days of my stay. The selection is basic but good and will fill you up for the morning ahead. You choose from a section of congee - sweet or savoury, bread - croissant, toast, ham sandwich or tuna sandwich, eggs - fried, scrambled, omelette with smoked salmon and drink - tea, coffee, juice etc. The breakfast also comes with a 2 bacon rashers, fruit selection, a salad and a yoghurt. The breakfast is priced at RMB45.

So to conclude I had a wonderful stay at the Crystal Orange Jianguomen Beijing, and would definitely stay here again next time I am in Beijing. Would also love to try out the Crystal Orange hotels in other cities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vman228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
BeiJing Broadcasting Tower Hotel
BeiJing Broadcasting Tower Hotel
#184 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Guomao
Gotel Capital Hotel
Gotel Capital Hotel
#211 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#64 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Guomao
Jinglun Hotel
Jinglun Hotel
#519 of 6,442 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Orange Hotel Beijing Jianguomen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Orange Hotel Beijing Jianguomen

Property: Crystal Orange Hotel Beijing Jianguomen
Address: No.25 Yong'anli Middle Street, Jian Guo Men Wai, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Crystal Orange Hotel Beijing Jianguomen 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A high-end design Hotel, a fusion of Chinese and Western design, featured with 5-star hotel in-room facilities. Best value high-end hotel in Beijing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Crystal Orange Hotel Beijing Jianguomen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing