We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evitar! Avoid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
Ranked #7 of 1,421 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Habitaciones siempre sucias, olor a humedad insoportable, bano privado en pesimas condiciones, agua caliente contabilizada, en pleno invierno y pagamos lo mas caro,el bar, un robo total , no puedes comer tu propia comida si no les compras a ellos, el servicio de lavandería un desastre, mezclan la ropa, te pierden tu ropa y encima te dan la ropa interior d alguien mas, etc/ rooms are always a mess, we payed the most expensive one, bathroom completely stocked, toilette collapsed, hot water insufficient for a shower, humid smell and walls broken due the humidity, sheets never changed and you can not use the bar if you don't buy their food wich is 3 times more expensive that in main street, not recommendable at all , it all about business , laundry , forget it ! They lost your clOth and give you someone's underwear , but obviously, you get charge for breathing, there are so much better places and you won't feel stolen like we did

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimeMora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

The staff was kind, caring, and helpful. We walked into the hostel and met Alice while John Smith a past resident was visiting. Right away you could tell that the relaxed atmosphere and caring employees were going to make the trip great. We were accidently overcharged due to a room change and the honest employees brought the mistake to our attention and returned the money. The bar staff does is amazing and Rain makes cute hearts on top of cappuccinos.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandymhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I enjoyed my stay there. It's an excellent location and not far from a subway station. The bar is excellent, with a good selection of food. The place is cold though. The heating in the room doesn't work great and it can get a bit noisy as all the rooms border the bar - bring ear plugs if you have trouble sleeping. The hostel also offers lots of great tours.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in mid August 2012. Stayed in 6 person mixed dorm en suite.

+the hostel has nice courtyard with pond and some tables and sofas.
+the room was very nice and clean, it had lockers for everyone
+the bathroom was great! stylish and had everything you would need.
+my bed had curtains around it so I could have some privacy if needed.
+the staff were friendly
+the dog was lovely, wanted to take it back home :)

- the hostel restaurant/bar was nice, but a bit expensive. I ended up buying my breakfasts from the nearby bakery and fruit shops
- I did the hostel organized trip to Jinshanling part of the great wall. I personally didn't like the tour even the wall was amazing. I found the tour guide pretty rude. Also the dinner included to the trip was just a canteen style: you had to queue, the food was cold and the hall didn't have enough seats. I personally think the trip wasn't worth the money I paid and it would have been better to do it by myself. By making the trip yourself you could save money and decide how long you want to stay at the wall.

Room Tip: If you stay in dorms as for a lower bed with curtains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finngirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

had the best time in happy dragon court yard hostel. was in a four bed dorm without ensuite. was so good beds were so comfy staff were so friendly was situated perfectly. the court yard in the centre of the hostel was perfect for socializing free bbqs weekly, the staff were so helpful with directions to places and they did not make you go on tours with them they were happy just to tell us how to get to places. overall i loved it!!!!!!! you have to stay here. ps they have the cutest dog his name is captain underbite :) only downside were the showers were pretty grimey but better than most in china

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed five (5) nights in Private standard room. But, a bit disappointed as below :-

1) Location : Although its quite near to subway station, but, it's far if you are lugging with a heavy bag, but it's near when walk without them.(I took about 10 minutes walked to the subway station.) Besides, it's quite dark if walk back in night time, as the hostel location is located at hutong (alley) area. But, luckily, there are few small shop open til late night, so, consider safe to walk alone.

2) Room : The room size is small until no empty space to walk..anyway it was okay for me. First impression when entered to the room was okay, as the design looks quite typical traditional Chinese style. But, the private bathroom really made me felt uncomfortable. Refer to Mathieu P's comments, the shower was really unpredictable, water pressure was weak, most of the time was cool water. Besides, the bathroom quite smelly, and I was suspected the staff never clean the bathroom during our stay. Luckily the hotel do provided slipper, so that I can wear the slipper before enter to the bathroom. The room wall like japanese style, which means the sound proof is poor. Anyway, the bed are comfortable, but, the TV was meant for "display", the antenna signal was weak.

Overall, the hostel staffs quite friendly, but, the I wouldn't recommend this hostel to my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liiwa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hostel is situated in a hutong near a subway station, so getting around to nearby sights is not a problem, allthough it may be hard to find at first. HDC is inviting and cozy with old Chinese doors, a small pond and traditional decor. The rooms were decent and clean, and the Wifi was mostly good. Staff was very helpful and friendly, and they spoke English well. As we spent much time in the hostel's bar (which is good for chilling, talking, snacking, watching sports or enjoying the view from the rooftop), we got to know them quite well by the end of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobias J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#132 of 6,568 in Beijing
314 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#119 of 6,568 in Beijing
189 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#197 of 6,568 in Beijing
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,421 in Beijing
108 reviews
Houhai
Red Lantern House
Red Lantern House
#5 of 1,421 in Beijing
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel

Address: No.51 Dongsi 9th Tiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,421 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: £11 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing