We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel in a slightly out-of-the-way corner of Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
Ranked #7 of 1,409 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a great hostel in an out-of-the-way hutong (alleyway) in Beijing.
It's not the most centrally located, but it is near the subway.

The prices are great, the staff are fantastic and the café on premises is fabulous.

Depending on who is staying at the hostel it can be a bit noisy at night. People can stay and drink at the cafe, and sound seems to travel in the courtyard. The beds are very hard, and the water, although super hot, has no water pressure.

However, it's a very cute place, the rooms are super clean and they offer dorm and private rooms. The staff are also fantastic here! They all speak English and can help you with directions, booking tours, buying train tickets and more.
It's a bit out of the way, but affordable and recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Maxine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

super clean and super convenient! 4 of us got a 6 beds room with our private bathroom for only 75 kuai a night/person. This place is really clean, beds are comfortable! provides with towels and individual outlet by our beds along with individual night lamp. It's also near everything in Beijing, I will def come back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

First of all, we didn't stay at this hostel so I cannot say anything about the room/service/area.
I'm wirting this review because we booked this hostel thru booking.com 6 days prior to arrive in Beijing. We received the booking confirmation. As we were expected to arrive in Beijing around 10 pm, I tried to send a mail to their mail address but it didn't work, anyway I thought that there will no issue with the hour (they have a one night paid in case of "no show" anyway !)
So what a surprise when we arrived around 10:30pm at the hostel and they told us our room was not available, but not only for 1 night, but for the 5 nights we booked! And it wasn't only for us, as another couple was in the same case, the same day.
They told us they have dormitory beds available and they will try to find another place the day after (meaning we could lose the next day finding the place and moving...). After one hour of complains; as for them it was normal not to respect booking; they finally got their manager finding a room in another hostel where we arrived after midnight exhausted by this day.
Again, this review is just to warn you anyone booking this hostel, they don't respect booking. Try to contact them if you arrive late. But anyway, this is not respectful and not the level of service we can expect from any hostel/hotel place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I have also stayed in the other Happy Dragon hostel which I enjoyed but the Happy Dragon Courtyard has a lot more atmosphere just because it's in a Hutong courtyard. There were building works going on during our stay but these did not really cause any problems. The cafe is good although the toast with the western breakfast was pale and not crispy. The bar is open until late and it was very pleasant on the roof terrace. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff speak English but were not as friendly as in the other Happy Dragon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roaming2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I've been there a couple of times since I came to China and It will still being my first option in beijing, the dorms are good but nothing special, good hitter in winter btw, normal shared bathrooms and showers, you receive what you pay but it is nice place, the bar is a little bit expensive but girls there are so friendly and nice, specially Amelia, guys in the reception are very nice too, Normal Service but Great Staff able to help u with anything you might need (:

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank JoseCorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The place is simple and provides the basic needs of a traveller. I stayed in a room with 1 Filipino friend and the 4 others were chinese ladies from other provinces. They are also touring Beijing. The room is kept at 16-17"C. But outside, it was negative 4-6'C so, it was nice to just stay inside the shared room. The room has 3 double decked beds and one comfort/bath room. It also has lockers. If you need to use the bathroom and someone is using it, you may use the common bathroom and comfort rooms outside but you have to endure the cold... The facility is a once storey square building with a 2-storey canteen with Wifi in the middle of the courtyard. The receptionists were very accomodating to tourists and offer bus rides and discounted tickets. We made the reservation online and paid 10% but when we get there, there was no reservation made for us and paid again in full. You have to contact directly the Hostel receptionists to make reservations and not on trough some bookers.com something online. The place is located not along the hi-way but a small alley leads to the place from the highway. at the highway, my favorite place is the 7 eleven where food and drinks are cheap :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nino J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile


Overall I did enjoy staying in this hostel but the issues that I experienced means I would not return.

The good things about this hostel : comfy beds and great pillows, very good communal area and great for meeting people, good menu and really tasty Chinese food, excellent location and fun atmosphere.

Bad things: some of the staff are very rude and lie to travellers constantly, if you want to extend your stay they will not let you without hassle as they give priority to online bookings, bathroom area needs refurb - very dirty and I can imagine extreme cold in the winter, dorms are pretty small and are based around the bar area so can be noisy at night, tours are over priced.

This hostel had the potential to be excellent as its a really nice looking building and greatatmosphere but some of the staff are awful and in my opinion need to be fired. Harsh be fair!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenFreethSelway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#133 of 6,550 in Beijing
310 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#116 of 6,550 in Beijing
188 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Yingxiang Hutong Hotel
Yingxiang Hutong Hotel
#9 of 960 in Beijing
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#4 of 960 in Beijing
247 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,409 in Beijing
107 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel

Address: No.51 Dongsi 9th Tiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,409 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: £8 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing