We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel at Cheap Prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Ranked #46 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel at Cheap Prices”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed here for 8 nights and it was great. We saved around $800 by choosing this hotel over our other choice. We were a bit worried as our travel agent advised us it only had a 2 star rating but we checked out their website and it looked ok so we went with it, mainly because my daughter now works in China and lived only 200mts from the Hotel. It turned out to be a fantastic choice. The room was modern with a private bathroom, something not all hotels in China have. The restaurant was good with great food available for breakfast lunch and dinner. What it didn't have that brought it down to only a 2 star rating was; no room service, no bar area, no mini fridge in room. However we got around this easily. The main thing we wanted was to keep our drinks cold and we were able to get limitless amounts of ice from the restaurant and we put it in the sink each day and it worked fine. The ice at the hotel was also edible which was a bonus. There were lots of restaurants within 200mts of the hotel in any direction. In particular if you go right out of the hotel then left at the lights at the next corner you will come to a couple of reasonably priced western style restaurants, one does burgers and the other called The Big Smoke is Latin style food. You can safely have ice in your drinks at both these places. There is also an Italian restaurant which is ok but it's a Chinese Italian restaurant so don't expect too much. If you go to Sunlitan Village I can recommend the Union Bar and Grill, it had good food and atmosphere but was a little pricey. Be warned though, China is very noisy so be ready for that. Car horns are beeping endlessly all day long.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda_Aussie_Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    365
    63
    8
    4
See reviews for
86
139
92
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen on my very first business trip to Beijing and to China. My assistant selected the hotel after quite a lot of research and I and my colleagues were very happy with the choice. The hotel is very good value, especially if you want to stay in an interesting neighbourhood and still have the comfort of an international hotel. The decor and room design is excellent, elegant, practical and functional; the service and housekeeping are very good. Friendly reception staff who speak English.
Free wifi and cable internet in room, with a very comfy desk and office chair. A set of Macs in the lobby for those who don't have a laptop with them.
Very good breakfast buffet with Chinese and European choices.
The hotel is well located for public transport and the excellent Airport Express, (public transport is very good in Beijing and using it helped beat the traffic jams) and operates a morning shuttle service. The nearest subway station is a 10-minute walk, but Walking distance to Sanlitun and Chaoyang shopping and restaurants. But you don't have to go far for one of the best restaurants in the neighbourhood - the Peking Duck just across the street has great food at reasonable prices, and fast, friendly service.
The hotel has no fitness facilities, but this is not a problem for those who like to walk and use public transport. And if you feel like a foot massage, there are several places available just up the street, at very reasonable cost and open until 10-11pm.
I recommend this hotel and will stay there on my next trip.

Room Tip: I and my colleagues stayed on different floors and none of us experienced any problems, as usual, hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel did not disappoint. Rooms look new, bed is comfortable, the free breakfast buffet is big ans complete, with different varieties everyday.
The only downside is that out of 8 computers (macs), only one would have the Internet working properly. Wifi is working fine though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love_travel_music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The hotel is very well located if you want to be near Dongzhimen station (busses to Great Wall, Airport Express, subway) and near the many restaurants and shopping opportunities of Sanlitun and Chaoyang (they provide free shuttle service to some places in the morning). The staff is friendly, the amenities are good (there is a laundry corner), and at breakfast choices are plentiful - also for western guests. The rooms are clean, quiet and pleasant but on the small side and the downside is the rather small double bed. In pricy Beijing this hotel offers a lot for decent room rates.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vin3berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel for my second business trip to Beijing. I don't want to stay in the central as to avoid the traffic and it was a good choice. There was minimal traffic jam within the area but if you decide to take the metro, it is a bit far, about 15 mins walk to the nearest station (Dongzhimen).

The room was very nice, simple but adequate, clean and the internet connection was free. The staff were extremely helpful and could speak English. One lady at the reception was very patient with me and helped me to call my taxi driver and arranged pick up for me. I was very grateful for their help.

Will definitely stay there again next time when I visited Beijing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kolukolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed twice in Aug. First stay was facing street and in front of elevator, noisy but no smell. Second stay was at 18 th floor facing garden. It was quiet but with strong mold smell in bath room. Then changed to 15 th floor two days later. Still facing garden, however with both mold and bleach smell in bath room.

The rest of all I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRMA1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I arrived the day of the biggest rain in Beijing for 61 years - luckily the hotel was not affected at all. The rooms are very nice and comfy. I had a room on 15th floor - the window was like a bench and there was a pillow so I could sit there and look over the city. The furniture is very nice (bright colours) and the bathroom has daylight due to the glass wall to the room (no see through!). There was a water cooker and complimentary tea/coffe. The breakfast was nice - specially the Chinese dishes were very delicious while the Western were more common. The staff was friendly and tried to help.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloBalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,574 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,122 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,851 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#47 of 6,473 in Beijing
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen

Property: Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Address: No.1 Chunxiu Road, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#39 Family Hotel in Beijing
#42 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#45 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll enjoy all the convenience of a city centre location when you choose Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen. Beijing Capital International Airport is 30 minutes away and historic Beijing is also within easy reach. This welcoming hotel sits back from the city in its own gardens, and has complimentary high-speed Internet throughout.Visit nearby company headquarters such as IBM and Boeing, as well as a host of embassies in the area. You can also welcome up to 100 guests or associates to one of our 4 meeting rooms at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen. Parking is complimentary and we're a 10-minute walk from the city's subway network.Take a stress-free subway ride to many of the city's landmarks, most within a few minutes of the hotel. Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City are both around 8km away, so you're close to the best of Beijing. Our friendly Front Desk staff can suggest tours for the family, and kids under 18 stay free.Savour a complimentary breakfast before exploring the city. Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen also offers set lunch and dinner menus, ideal if you're on the go. Venture out to Sanlitun Village to find one of Beijing's most popular entertainment spots, with dozens of bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing