We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Ranked #47 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, decent value for money”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel has a great location, about 15 minutes from SanLiTun, and the area was quiet. The hotel is rather new, and fulfills expectations with regards to room cleanliness (beds were very comfortable) and bathroom functionality. One of the best Holiday Inns i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    374
    68
    8
    4
See reviews for
87
145
92
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Pros:
The staff was very helpful. We left our atm card in the machine in the hotel, and they went out of their way to call the bank and help us get it back.
The hotel looks relatively new, is very clean, smells good (not like smoke like many hotels in china), and has a very large breakfast spread.
The Peking duck restaurant across the street is delicious.

Cons: The hotel is not in a very good location if planning to use public transportation. It was about a 15-20 minute walk go the nearest subway stops. We are used to walking, but it felt very long, especially when carrying heavy backpacks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on business. Previously stayed a few times at the MetroPark Lido (former Holiday Inn Lido) but wanted a change in area. From Hotel it is 15 minutes walk to Sanlitun Village and Bar Street and all things Western, including a concentration of designer brand shops I have only found in Italy, NY, Paris and London! However walking (taxi maybe) in the opposite direction away from the Village on Dongzhimen Outer Road onto Dongzhimen Inner road there are an abundance of authentic eatery's both sides of the road packed with locals. In my opinion, a far greater experience to be had in this area. As for the Hotel, it is clean, modern, breakfast included. Unusual for a HIE it also offers lunch and dinner service for a fee. It is just outside the 2 mile ring road (Dongzhimenwai) so is close to the centre and is close to the subway. It is 30 minutes taxi ride from the Airport (cost me Rmb82 one way). This will now be my choice of stay when I am in Beijing.

Room Tip: I was in a side room high up so it was fairly quiet - i think it would be even numbered rooms that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

By Beijing standards, this hotel represents excellent value for money for the following reasons:
Dongzhimen is a great location within walking distance to Sanlitun, Yashow market, Workers' Stadium and other touristy places.

What is really very good about this hotel is that it is less than 2 years old and therefore still in quite good nick - everything mostly still looks new (unlike many other "international" very worn and much more expensive hotels in Beijing). Smoking is not allowed in any public areas, front desk staff are professional, fast and anttentive and speak excellent english.

Rooms are modern, fresh and clean with good quality bedding and towels.
And, most importantly the hotel AIR is CLEAN and FRESH - there must be some internal air cleaning system which is such a relief from the generally terrible Beijing air. This aspect alone makes the hotel worthwhile.

Chinese food dominates the included buffet breakfast, but there's always fried or scrambled eggs, yoghurt, fresh fruit to eat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

went there in late october and stayed 5 nights

We arrived very early in the morning (around 7am) so I was afraid we could not get rooms but we could have one room to let our luggages and shower (booking was for 2 rooms)

The hotel is well maintained. The rooms are small but convenient. The breakfast was good with cold and warm options; mostly chinese food but also a lot of western style.
Internet is free but is not always very reliable. Maybe it depends on the rooms, I was at the 12th floor, facing the backside of the hotel.
The air-con/heating system was a little strange, as one of the room was too hot and the other just right.
The staff is very helpful.

The hotel is not right next to a subway station (about 10min walking distance) so it could refrain some people to book there if you have to make frequent trips with the subway. Was not a problem for us as the weather was great during the whole stay.

There are some small convenient stores in the area and sanlitun center (big brand new commercial center with a lot of restaurants) is at 15-20 min walking distance.

I would go back to the Holiday Inn Dongzhimen if I should go back to Beijing

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMX2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Hotel is average, but for the price its worth the stay, But i guess all hotels in China have a particular pungent smell, probably due to the sea food all over the place. The staff were helpful & can speak English.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balwant63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for choosing Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen and taking your time to share your feedback about hotel.We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.Thank you once again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I'm currently staying at this great hotel and was also here earlier in the month.
It's the best hotel in the area, and definitely the best value for money.
Staff are always friendly and willing to help with everything.
Its far better than many of the other big hotels which have more stars and higher prices.
I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,606 reviews
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,436 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,520 in Beijing
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen

Property: Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Address: No.1 Chunxiu Road, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#39 Family Hotel in Beijing
#42 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#45 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll enjoy all the convenience of a city centre location when you choose Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen. Beijing Capital International Airport is 30 minutes away and historic Beijing is also within easy reach. This welcoming hotel sits back from the city in its own gardens, and has complimentary high-speed Internet throughout.Visit nearby company headquarters such as IBM and Boeing, as well as a host of embassies in the area. You can also welcome up to 100 guests or associates to one of our 4 meeting rooms at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen. Parking is complimentary and we're a 10-minute walk from the city's subway network.Take a stress-free subway ride to many of the city's landmarks, most within a few minutes of the hotel. Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City are both around 8km away, so you're close to the best of Beijing. Our friendly Front Desk staff can suggest tours for the family, and kids under 18 stay free.Savour a complimentary breakfast before exploring the city. Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen also offers set lunch and dinner menus, ideal if you're on the go. Venture out to Sanlitun Village to find one of Beijing's most popular entertainment spots, with dozens of bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing