We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the style of new Beijing, other than the service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Ranked #47 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel reflect the new Beijing in 2 distinct aspects - the room is much smaller than older hotels (reflecting the real estate prices and rapid developments in this district) and the interior is very stylish (like many new Beijing hotels and restaurants are). I loved in particular the semi-circular shower in glass bricks - it lets light thru and makes it feel more spacious - with a shower door that is simultaneous the bathroom door when opened the other way. The lighting is bright, the desk though small is adequate, the bed is comfortable, the amenities are basic but functional, the air conditioning works marvelously, and there is internet with serviceable speed.
The district is definitely up and coming. There is a wide variety of Chinese and Western restaurants in the street, not to mention in the wider neighborhood. There are hip places to drink. There are endless choices for foot massages. There is a yoga studio. Major shopping street is a short stroll away, including Sanlitun Yashow Market. The airport express train is about a 15-minute walk away. There are also ample taxis that pass by the hotel.
So what's old? That Chinese service which is some combination of being aloof, rude, and officious. This is not as bad as some other places but they don't make you feel welcomed. They are just there to do a job. The breakfast also gets boring by day 3, as having changing menu has somehow yet to arrive. But there is a bright new spark in the breakfast - a coffee machine! And the lifts are a bit slow for the number of people staying - it is clearly popular with travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivian2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at our hotel. We are very glad to know that our staff and hotel helped in making your visit enjoyable. Although the room does not meet your needs, we hope that you would enjoy our service、foods and guest room. Meanwhile, we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

I really like this hotel which is why I decided to come back on my second trip to Beijing. The breakfast buffet is awesome. The food is delicious and I like the traditional Chinese food that is offered. The decor is very modern and chic. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is a bit far from the subway. The hotel offer a shuttle to the subway only Mon-Fri in the morning. The shuttle driver we had was very nice. However, you are on your own (either take a taxi or walk for 15 minutes) when you return to your hotel in the afternoon/evening and on the weekend. I would stay here again. I really like the design of the hotel and the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenSandiego30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at our hotel. We are very glad to know that our staff and hotel helped in making your visit enjoyable. Although the room does not meet your needs, we hope that you would enjoy our service、foods and guest room. Meanwhile, we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I spent four nights at Holiday Inn Express Dongzhimen, and was very pleased with my stay. I arrived with an early flight, and was able to check in immediately upon arrival. My room was spacious, clean and modern – and bathroom the same. Everything also seemed well maintained, and somewhat European. The bed was comfortable (not hard like many Chinese beds), and they had two pillow choices (soft and hard). The air-condition was very effective, and continued all day even if you took the card out. Housekeeping kept the room spotless during my stay, and there were always two bottles of complimentary water. There was no sound from the street below, and the curtains were genius (I have never been able to get it that dark before). There was a convenient safe in the closet, and coffee and tea making facilities. I see that some reviews complain about cigarette smoke, bad air-condition and noise from the street. I had none of those problems (I was on the fifth floor).

The receptionists were friendly, and they all seemed to speak a little English. Some of them spoke excellent English... The hotel always seemed spotlessly clean and had modern facilities. The breakfast had mostly Chinese dishes (tofu, noodles, dumplings etc.), but some “Western” choices (toast, eggs and salad). They changed some of the Chinese dishes every day, but after four days, I thought it all tasted the same… Would have loved more variation.

The hotel had a free shuttle service to nearby areas every half hour from 08:00 to 10:00. It took me 15 minutes to walk to the Dongzhimen metro stop, and it was easy to find. If you want to arrive by metro, take Line 2 to Dongzhimen, and use exit C. Walk four blocks down the street (to a large intersection) and turn right. Continue walking until you see the hotel (5 minutes). A metro ticket is RMB2. I took a taxi from the airport, and it cost me RMB60. The Express Train from the airport stops very conveniently at Dongzhimen Metron Station, and cost RMB25.

There were several restaurants in the area, and a Pecking Duck restaurant just across the street from the hotel. If you walk towards the metro you will find two convenient stores on each side of the road (they are easy to spot, 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel). The shabby looking is the cheapest (and the most fun for the curious ones). Right by the metro you will find Ginza Shopping Mall and Raffles Shopping Mall (both with plenty of restaurants and two more expensive grocery stores). There is also a McDonald’s when you get up from exit C at the metro.
I would definitely recommend this hotel – I would never guess that it only had three stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest: Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in thenear future. Thanks for your approval and praise to our hotel. We are looking forward to your coming again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

On arriving we were met with a pretty obnoxious front of house guy who appeared to be a supervisor or manager, just not warm or welcoming at all. We we're put on floor 8 but asked to be moved as soon as we walked in as the noise from the stress is horrendously loud and the smell of stale smoke was just horrid, (Note, we travel a lot and I have literally NEVER asked to change rooms). We were moved to the 17th floor and the smell of stale cigarette smoke hit us as soon as we walked in so we cut our loses and figured it was for one night so we could deal with it. I think the only thing worse than the smell of smoke is the smell of room freshener and deodoriser that they saturate the room in to hide the smell of cigarette.... If you suffer from a hayfever, you'll know about it, as I did. I know I sound like a whinger but I wish I had've read something like this before I booked.... It was just a horrible experience. Stains on the couches, cigarette burns on the carpet, and sure, the room looks nice when you walk in initially, but all you need to do is look just a tiny bit closer and you'll see it's had it day. Bathroom was clean though, apart from the usual mildew on the shower head....and the old Holiday Inn problem of the air conditioning set at 26 degrees in your room is still there, (This happened in Chengdu last year when I stayed and the management say the air conditioning is set at a temperature and can't be changed). I think it's safe to say that we'll never stay at another Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: If you insist on staying, insist on a higher floor - at least above floor 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene79sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay with us at our hotel. We are pleased to know that you appreciated the location of our hotel and the staff services for you, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed overand beyond our guest expectations. Thank you once again, we look very much forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very near to the last station of Beijing Airport train ABC and the metro. There are not much restaurants around but from the metro you can access almost anywhere in Beijing.
Hotel service is also good. Room and ameneties are good for what you pay for. Breakfast is just an average but it is ok. Staffs are also helpful and can speak english.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mommyG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Gueat: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at our hotel. We are very glad to know that our staff and hotel helped in making your visit enjoyable. Although the room does not meet your needs, we hope that you would enjoy our service、foods and guest room. Meanwhile, we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night before leaving China, the hotel was clean, comfortable with a good selection at breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful most of which spoke English very well. It is about a 15 minute walk from the nearest subway station but this distance is probably reflected in the price. Overall would recommend because it was not too expensive and well located.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle-ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Gueat: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at our hotel. We are very glad to know that our staff and hotel helped in making your visit enjoyable. Although the room does not meet your needs, we hope that you would enjoy our service、foods and guest room. Meanwhile, we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Business trip- 1 night. great position 20 minutes from airport. Lot going on in area. Nice room. nice atmosphere- breakfast ok. Recommended for business or pleasure.Staff were proffessional an and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kibbutznik_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest: Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in thenear future. Thanks for your approval and praise to our hotel. We are looking forward to your coming again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,718 reviews
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#65 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#57 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,201 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Beijing West Railway Station
DoubleTree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen

Address: No.1 Chunxiu Road, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#31 Family Hotel in Beijing
#42 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#45 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £55 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll enjoy all the convenience of a city centre location when you choose Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen. Beijing Capital International Airport is 30 minutes away and historic Beijing is also within easy reach. This welcoming hotel sits back from the city in its own gardens, and has complimentary high-speed Internet throughout.Visit nearby company headquarters such as IBM and Boeing, as well as a host of embassies in the area. You can also welcome up to 100 guests or associates to one of our 4 meeting rooms at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen. Parking is complimentary and we're a 10-minute walk from the city's subway network.Take a stress-free subway ride to many of the city's landmarks, most within a few minutes of the hotel. Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City are both around 8km away, so you're close to the best of Beijing. Our friendly Front Desk staff can suggest tours for the family, and kids under 18 stay free.Savour a complimentary breakfast before exploring the city. Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen also offers set lunch and dinner menus, ideal if you're on the go. Venture out to Sanlitun Village to find one of Beijing's most popular entertainment spots, with dozens of bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing