We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect tradition courtyard ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #176 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This place is so good and nearly perfect to me and my friend ! There is metro station nearby, just take 5 mins to get to the hotel:))
The decoration here just looks the same as pictures show in their website:)) good and friendly service here, greet us everytime when we get back to the hotel:)) nice place! Im sure i will come back here when i do the visit next time:)

2  Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Courtyard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights by myself

Positive aspects:
I really liked the look of it, it is indeed very beautiful, the room was nice enough and had enough space to store your things or even unpack if you would like to. The room was clean and equipped with a TV and also some snacks available again a (very) small fee.The bathroom is a little small, but totally fine.The staff was very friendly and helpful, but not all of them speak good english. Near by is the beijing subway, so getting around really is no problem at all. Even some sight are close by, like the Llama Temple.

Negative aspects:
The hotel is located in a side alley and not that easy to find. Even my driver did not really know where to go and had to ask for directions. It can be a little intimidating going into said alley at night by yourself, but it is perfectly save. Like I said, i travelled by myself and had no trouble at all. Also, you really can hear everything inside your room. your neighbors and everyone in the courtyard might keep you up if you are a light sleeper.

Over all, I was very happy with my experience in the Imperial Courtyard Hotel, but I don't think I would chose it for a stay longer than a few nights.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank JenBlack85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked this hotel because we wanted to be in the Hutong area, near a subway, and at a reasonable price. We did not want a western type hotel.This hotel was just what we expected. The rooms were small but nicely furnished. We had everything we wanted. Everything was clean. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and spoke good English. We were able to leave our luggage there when we went on a 3 day trip. We even got the same rooms when we returned. I would definitely stay there again, and recommend it to my friends. The rooms all open out onto a courtyard but everything went quiet by about 10.30 pm. I was next door to the staff room but they too went quiet at night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patxrxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Getting there - Take the Airport Express Train to Dongzihimen Station 25yuan per person (easy). Then take the subway (line 2 circle line, Dark blue) to Anzhen Men subway station 2yuan per person (Youtube gives a good description of how to use the subway). Leave the subway by exit A and turn right. Head south towards the centre of Beijing crossing over the ring road and the 2 sliproads (a compass is a good idea). Turn right into the park (entrance marked by 5 semi-circular coloured hoops in the ground). Walk through the park for approx. 330 paces (the park is only 10 metres wide and there is a small side road running parallel to it on the left). You should then find a road crossing the park. Turn left and you should see the new red electric sign to the hotel 60 paces down the road. Walk to the sign and the alleyway to the hotel is on the left. The hotel also has a new red sign outside the door.
People who we met had taken a taxi from the airport to our hotel and been asked to pay twice before they could get their bags. The taxi driver took 1.5 hours trying to find the hotel?
Bad points about hotel - The safe in the room did not work. It took a while to figure out the heating in the room. We went in November and there were only a few guests staying at the hotel therefore the heating in the main reception/restaurant area was not on, so we had to keep our coats on.
Good points about the hotel - Friendly, helpful staff who spoke English. Breakfast cooked to order. Wonderful, traditional décor. Situated in the best part of Beijing (most of Beijing is highrise but there are still a few traditional Hotong areas), this being one. Close to subway.
General points - We booked a private car at reception to take us to the Great Wall at Mutianyu. It cost 1000yuan (£100), which was a little expensive but worth it.. We left at 8am and were back by 12:30. A good idea is to take the cable car up; walk for about 1km along the wall and take the toboggan down again. Go early and miss the weekend to avoid crowds. (the hotel can book you a full day trip to the wall and tombs for 280yuan per person.)
The best restaurants were the very basic ones where all the locals eat. We can recommend one where we eat several times. We never paid more than 100yuan (£10) for a meal for 2 with 2 large beers. They don't speak much English but have a menu with picture and descriptions in English. To get there don't turn right at the park but carry on down the main Anding Men Nei Dajie (road) towards the centre of Beijing. After approx. 430 paces you can either turn left across the road under an arch towards the Confucius Temple or turn right down a side road. The restaurant we used was the first on the right down the side road (picture included).
We can also recommend going to the Confucius Tea Rooms (opposite the Confucius Temple). For 120yuan (£12) per person, they explain the tea ceremony and let you sample 3 different teas and lots of snacks.
Some guidebooks state that you can enter the Forbidden City from the north. Wrong, you can only get in from the main southern entrance at Tian'an Men Square.
Overall - We recommend you visit Beijing before all the old parts of the city are redeveloped. The subway was very easy to use and we felt very safe all of the time. We can recommend this hotel because, even with its minor faults, It really gives you a feel of old Beijing.
We have included new pictures to help you get to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank garryblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Good:

- Staff is very good and speak very good English.
- The place is clean
- They are very close to a subway station
- I felt perfectly safe walking through the Hutong even in the evenings

The not so good:
- One night the cook never showed
- Another night they were out of rice
- The food was at the least passable
- They charged for a broken glass in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Localady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We were lured in by the pretty pictures and booked a luxury suite for our 1st wedding anniversary. On the booking for we explained it was for our anniversary and we hoped for a nice room. Instead when we arrived in Beijing we were taken to an over-priced, dirty hostel and told that the Imperial Courtyard was fully booked (despite us having made a reservation on a room there!) The Imperial Courtyard staff were rude, lied on the phone and refused to give us a reasonable price for the sub-standard replacement room. Don't let them ruin your special day.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

You dont have too go far on a night time for some lovely food and a bustling atmosphere in the area.
The subway is less than ten minutes on foot.
Some of the staff could be more friendly......thats the only downside.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenBenWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#151 of 6,531 in Beijing
104 reviews
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#142 of 6,531 in Beijing
175 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#100 of 6,531 in Beijing
427 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#45 of 6,531 in Beijing
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.16 Huayuan East Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £38 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Imperial Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in Beijing, a city with a unique history and a magical aura about it. Imperial Courtyard, an 18th Century courtyard, having been totally renovated to the highest standards, now combines the beauty of the past with the comforts of today and offers the perfect environment for its guests relaxation and is the ideal accommodation for a “get away from it all” visit to historical and traditional Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing