We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oasis in bustling neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Ranked #53 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Stayed here on a too short one evening trip where I arrived late in the evening and had to catch a 6am cab to the airport. Business colleagues thought I was crazy not staying in a 5-star downtown but gems like this hotel are precisely why I often avoid that route. Beautifully decorated hotel with a very friendly staff (who gamely struggled through very limited English). The sum total of my experience in the neighborhood was a late night meal at a restaurant in a business area about a 10 minutes' walk from the hotel and a 15 minute jog at 5:40am to the nearby lake, but it looked like a wonderful setting. As soon as I can come back to Beijing as a tourist, I will book this hotel and spend a day or two exploring the immediate surroundings.
Can't speak to the breakfast because I checked out too early and in too much haste. There was no food on offer when I arrived at 10pm but it was a short walk to an open restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

Inmitten einer traditionellen Gasse (Hutong) und direkt am Hou Hai gelegen, ist nicht nur die architektonische Gestalt des Hotels aufregend, sondern auch der Standort.
Die Gegend des Hou Hais bietet viele Moeglichkeiten des Kennenlernens von Beijing (per Rad, per Rikscha, zu Fuss, per Boot). Die Gegend ist die Altstadt Beijings, die gerade einmal 0,3% der gesamten Stadt ausmacht.
Ein traditionelles Hofhaus wurde zu diesem Hotel umgestaltet; der Hof bildet den Mittelpunkt der 25 Zimmer umfassenden Hotelanlage, in dem abendlich eine Performance des tradtionellen chinesischen Schattenspiels stattfindet: ein tolles Erlebnis!
Die schoenen, nach chinesischen Operncharakteren gestaltete Zimmer, sind durch den tollen Service sind komfortabel und stets sauber!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I stayed at Shadow Art Performance Hotel with my father for 6 nights. We were totally impressed the moment we stepped through the beautiful wooden door -the place is an extraordinary example of tasteful and classic Chinese interior design. The lobby area is bright and very relaxing, it provides a nice break from the busy and sometimes noisy outside world of Beijing. The rooms were great too, big comfy beds, great bathrooms and it was all neatly cleaned every day.

Sometimes they put up shadow art plays in the lobby area (hence the name of the hotel), which is an old Chinese art form. My father really enjoyed the play about the bird and the turtle ;)

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's situated in the heart of a typical Beijing hutong (those areas with narrow streets and old courtyard houses), and walking around in the lively neighbourhood at night is an experience itself. About 5-10 minutes away is the famous Houhai lake, with all its bars, restaurants and rooftop teracess.

The staff was very nice and helpful during our stay. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who's planning a trip to Beijing!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bxmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

my girlfriend and i both stayed at the shadow art hotel and both loved every minute of it. every request we had of the staff was dealt with professionally and quickly. the hotel is something to behold in itself, with the foyer area a really impressive piece of architecture and design, and the rooms follow in the same vein. the shadow art performance is an added bonus and a pleasure to watch, giving you a feeling for some real chinese culture. the location is also great, deep inside the hutong area and a short walk from two subway stations, it is an easy commute to anywhere else in the city. definitly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICHIERobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear RICHIERRobinson

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and very pleased that we were able to contribute to a memorable stay. We were glad that you liked our hotel and enjoyed the beautiful view from it. All your positive feedback was truly appreciated and will be shared with the relevant departments. Once again we look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back to The Shadow Art Hotel.

Kind Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank AntRoberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank AlexandCompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Steinar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#42 of 6,565 in Beijing
579 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#114 of 6,565 in Beijing
433 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#34 of 6,565 in Beijing
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,183 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Address: No.24 Songshujie, Xicheng District | Beijing, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £39 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shichihai Shadow Art Performance Hotel hold a cultural conviction that we believe the true cultural beauty of chinese heritage should be preserved and we found a modern way for the world to appreciate the true beauty again.Bustling lives mask us from the beauty of nature. Through travels, we refresh our senses about culture and nature. We strive to inject life and cultural forces into our tourist sites.This is the first stop of your cultural expedition; the next one is to explore nature and the Beijing old city from Shichahai for new pulses.We are situated in the dragon pulse of Beijing, the most sacred site of Fengshui.Shadow Art Performace Hotel is located in the hutong district of Houhai. Here, its design brings you to a lakeside, over the waterfront, into hutongs, and this dwelling in a city district with waterscape and nature puts us back on the path to nature and reshape our heart to value respect and tranquility that go for natural environment and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing