We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Ranked #54 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed in triple with two others in summer 2013. The hotel is great and the location in a hutong is very convenient, close to Beihai Park (10 mins walk) and Houhai Lake (3 mins). If, like me, you are a runner, you will love the easy access to Beihai Park and Huohai Lake. Will definitely come here next time I am in Beijing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank w6marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear w6marty:

Thank you very much for your gorgeous photos and your effort to share your experience with our visitors!

It's good to know that you are fond of jogging, that make our hotel a perfect accommodation for you, cause we do locate close to the exotic while peaceful lake view neighbourhood, where is the most suitable spot to jog.

Also, I sincerely hope that in the near future, we'll have you visit us again!

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very nice hotel at such an economical price. Small rooms but overall very lovely interiors with attentive staff. The only setback was the 6-8 minutes walk to get to the taxi or 10 minutes to the train.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gnuahis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Gnuahis,

Thank you for the kind words and praise of our little boutique hotel in Beijing !We indeed are happy to offer a cozy alternative to the large chain business hotels.

According to some of our former guests, the location of our hotel inside a local hutong neighbourhood is one of our specification as a culture based boutique hotel. During the several minutes walk to our hotel from the metro station, it will be a valuable chance for you to have a deep experience of the local residential life. Hope in the near future, you will find it to be a fascinating hutong tour for you and your friends!

Meanwhile, we sincerely hope that in the near future, we'll have you visit us again!

Yours loyal butler team,
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

A lovely boutique hotel in the heart of the Hutong and within walking distance of the Houhai lakes with lots of restaurants and bars to chose from. For westerners, the area at first seems a bit off-putting especially if you arrive at night as we did but it is actually very safe to walk around as long as you are careful of the bikes and electric mopeds but then that applies everywhere in Beijing! Easy access to the metro as well. Our room was a bit on the small side but as we were out all day and only using the room to shower and sleep in, it was perfectly fine. We watched a shadow art performance one evening which was very interesting. All staff were very helpful and breakfast had sufficient choice to keep us happy.

Room Tip: Room 208 is on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nyalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear nyalta,

Many thanks for your lovely and cheerful review and for mentioning our staff and the performance, as we do work hard to make sure our guests have a great time at the Red Wall Garden Hotel.

I'm glad that you liked the environment of our hotel, and next time when you visit us again hopefully, we'd love to get you a bigger room to leave you an even better memory of Beijing.

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

It is awsome to stayed here for a few days. It is well furnished, and awsome place to stay to experience the local art and Hutong culture. You never would really experience the Hutong itself if you only stay outside of it i guess. Because we not only join the arranged tour group to enjoy it in the day time, but also had a walk around the little bars around hutongs after sunset even when the clowds are disappeared, peace left in the hutong. We walk and found some live show performed by some artiest all over the world, you never know whom to encount into here. Plus the hotel itself is efficient and professional, we were worried about we may not get used to the food supplied here, while they didn't let us down. It is great to taste food and culture of China. Their hospitality make me feel home. Would love to stay here next time staying in Beijing

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Bianca W:

Even though many previous guests have shared these exact same sentiments, we never get tired of reading about how much somenone has "felt at home" at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel and forgot that he/she was staying at a hotel. This to us is the highest praise we are expecting, as everything we do here is geared towards providing our guests with the experience you described in your kind review.

Meanwhile, regarding to your enthusiasm toward our service and our hotel, I sincerely hope that in the near future, we'll have you visit us again!

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed at the Shadow-Art hotel for a couple of days while I was visiting my friend in China. She set up my reservation and it was extremely easy to check in. My room was small but very comfortable and the western amenities were great! I had one small issue with the drain in my shower, but the front desk staff took care of it for me. The breakfast every morning was good and there were plenty of options of what to eat. It is difficult for cabs to find the hotel, sometimes even with the card the hotel gives you when you check in to show the cabs, but it's worth the slight hassle to stay in a really neat part of Beijing! I hope I can return to Beijing someday and I'd be more than happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marydell410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear mnmhighball,

Thank you for your kindly review. Your satisfaction has brought us profound impetus to perfect our service.

Due to our check-in procedure, it's our duty to provide our guests quick check-in service, as every guest should have the check-in done within 3 minutes maximum. Thanks again for noticing our effort.
As you know that we are providing a butler service to all the guests, thus it's our honour to solve your problems during your stay. Also, you can require a professional Beijing tour recommendation or a taxi service at the reception next time you visit us.

Regarding to your enthusiasm toward our service and our hotel, I sincerely hope that in the near future, we'll have you visit us again!

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

last month,I have several days to spend in Beijing,and I chose this hotel to get an different experience,it really does not let me down.people here are very efficient and professional,along with the classical and well-equipped facilities,make my journey in Beijing so exciting.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemonYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Lemon,

Thanks for your lovely and cheerful review . Thanks for mentioning our staff , as they do work hard to make sure our guests have a great time at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel.

And Yes , please come in the spring or summer to experience the local Hutong and our hotel in all its charm .

Regarding to your enthusiasm toward our service and our hotel, I sincerely hope that in the near future, we'll have you visit us again!

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

What a great Hotel. We stayed here over Christmas and New Years 2013/14. We picked this hotel based on price and it’s location in the Hutong by Houhai lake.

This was our first trip to China so we were a little nervous by the location, the fact that we were completely independent of any set tour, or really any hard and fast plan. This pretty much dissipated after the first couple days. We were greeted with genuine warmth and friendliness by the staff. They helped us with taxi’s, a small tour of the great wall/ming tombs, and booking our flights to Xi’an and Shanghai. The latter was greatly assisted by Jocelyn, who spent at least a few hours with us patiently working through the Airline website, calls to the Airline, emails and then confirming our flights. All the while the hotel served us welcoming tea, it’s like they saw us getting a bit stressed and helped us through it.

Sarah helped us with some great sights to see in Shanghai. We would have missed the peaceful Buddhist temple amidst the high rises and malls if not for her.

We had a great German cook serving breakfast every morning, unfortunately we do not remember his name. He helped with choosing sights in Beijing, advice on bargaining at Yashow and Silk markets. On that note do not miss the markets. If you are uncomfortable with bartering you won't be after these places. Great deals, be fussy, barter hard, have fun. Vendors are very pushy at Silk Market, but even more fun. It needs to be experienced. Take your kids there, make them bargain. It should be a rite of passage for them.

Taxi service in any country can be a bit trying, but Nilesh helped us with some great advice, such as just getting in and showing them the address, instead of showing them the address and “asking”, or going to the parked taxis (they want fixed fees, like double or triple the meter).

Our rooms were on the 2nd floor, which open to the indoor courtyard,a really neat layout. It reminded me of what life might be like in the hutong.The Bathroom was large, with a standup shower. The hot water was hot enough and lasted for the whole morning. The rooms were big enough, new, just the right temperature ( heat was on). The rooms are heated with infloor heat which is awesome, no fan blowing, at least in winter. The hotel is concrete construction, which keeps things very quiet. Not much traffic in the hutong, so never heard any traffic at all.

Every 3 nights or so was a Shadow Puppet show. These handcrafted works of art are spectacular. We met other hotel visitors, relaxed, made dumplings after the show at the Christmas party. We would recommend changing the show more often, for long term visitors such as us, otherwise it was great.

The hutong is a neat place, to us from North America it seems like back alleyways, but this cannot be further from the truth. These are living, breathing, nearly self contained communities. The streets are very narrow, with cars, vans, 3 wheel electric cars, mopeds, scooters, and pedestrians all maneuvering around somehow. Its a little strange at first but after a few walks we were totally at home. Pay attention to bells and horns and you will do fine.

All the staff helped us with finding restaurants. There is 2 sets of a group of restaurants. The ones by the lake are good, but expensive for Beijing. The ones along Huguosi street about 10-15 minute walk are authentic, faster and cheaper. The hotel helped us with ordering take out food. For 60 RMB we got 4 bowls of awesome soup, ask for beef, it is awesome after a long day on your feet.

On another note,the hotel staff presented my wife with a birthday gift and card which she cherished. On the last day, Nilesh sourced these little oat candies which I cannot get enough of. The staff gave us a wonderful send off, many hugs. We received a wonderful Calligraphy gift from Sarah. Nearly at the airport, we realized we left something behind. Nilesh, Sarah and Daisy arranged to have the van turned around, got us back to the hutong entrance to retrieve the ipad and make it back to the airport in plenty of time. Thanks from the bottom of our hearts!

We have never stayed in a hotel that has provided such great value for the money, nor the friendly service, nor the staff going out of their way for the guests. Transportation, food, friendliness, accommodating, value for money was awesome during our trip.

We highly recommend this hotel to any traveler to Beijing. If you want to experience China’s true culture and wonderful people this would be the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Sam,

Cheers for your effort to share your precious experience and your sentiments with us. We'd love to tell you that we feel the exact same way as you do about you! Knew that you can sense our sincerity.

Well, time to extend my thanks to you! Thank you for staying in our hotel, to let us have this chance to know you. We are honoured that you had a good time, that's the best feedback for our dedication.

Also, thank you for treasuring Sarah's calligraphy and have taken such good care of it by framed it up. As you'd always know, to provide you convenience is our pleasure.

Last but not least, I'd love to extend the appreciation on behalf of Sarah, Daisy, Jocelyn and Nilesh. It was an unforgettable memory for everyone of us !

I believe that if you are going to visit China again, we'll see each other again for sure! Looking os much forward to that!

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#44 of 6,556 in Beijing
580 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#107 of 6,556 in Beijing
428 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,556 in Beijing
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#15 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,334 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Address: No.24 Songshujie, Xicheng District | Beijing, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £39 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shichihai Shadow Art Performance Hotel hold a cultural conviction that we believe the true cultural beauty of chinese heritage should be preserved and we found a modern way for the world to appreciate the true beauty again.Bustling lives mask us from the beauty of nature. Through travels, we refresh our senses about culture and nature. We strive to inject life and cultural forces into our tourist sites.This is the first stop of your cultural expedition; the next one is to explore nature and the Beijing old city from Shichahai for new pulses.We are situated in the dragon pulse of Beijing, the most sacred site of Fengshui.Shadow Art Performace Hotel is located in the hutong district of Houhai. Here, its design brings you to a lakeside, over the waterfront, into hutongs, and this dwelling in a city district with waterscape and nature puts us back on the path to nature and reshape our heart to value respect and tranquility that go for natural environment and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing