We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$255
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$175
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$497
US$382
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$241
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$350
US$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$141
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$265
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$270
US$160
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$564
US$361
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveller rating
315
191
31
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
191
31
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspuppet showhouhai lakehutong areadumpling makingboutique hotelbars and restaurantschinese arthou haino windowlocal lifereal beijingminute walkbell towerauthentic experiencebeihai parkdaily lifedumplings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 550 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. You are in a traditional Chinese neighborhood and can walk around the narrow streets, watching people play mahjong, people on bicycles delivering large amounts of materials to a small business that purchases the materials, children going to school, guys drinking beer in front of their houses, etc. We had fun getting lost one evening but eventually found the place. We always felt very safe, no one paid any attention to us. We really liked room 210 on the second floor because we could watch the shadow puppet show from behind the screen. We could see how much work it was for the different puppeteers to control the puppets. I would definitely highly recommend the hotel and stay there again but my complaint is that the air conditioning was too cold which gives me a headache. Reception said it could not be turned off. The breakfast was just ok, white bread for toast, no non-animal protein for this vegan, but adequate. I usually prefer a hotel with a restaurant for dinner but reception was very kind to order take-out which was very cheap and delicious. I congratulate the hotel owners for putting their hotel in this lovely hutong neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaAnn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear LisaAnn,

Thank you very much for your appreciation of our unique location.
As you've mentioned, located in a peaceful hutong surrounded by local residence, our hotel is the best access for you to have a close contact with true Beijingers. One best benefit of living in these narrow alleys is that it will never be necessary to worry about safety issue when you walk down those streets even in mid night. According to some of our former guests, people even without any English background knowledge are eager to show their hospitality and friendliness on the street by saying 'Hello' to you.

Although we do not accommodate an interior restaurant except for the breakfast buffet, our professional butlers are always ready to recommend you those exquisite cuisines near by. You will be able to enjoy the harmonious environment and soft breeze on the way exploring the traditional local gourmet or snacks.

In the end, please honour us and have us informed in advance next time when you are planning your trip in Beijing. All the best regards to you and your family!

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel and its facilities/rooms are very clean and comfortable, the area is very quiet, and we think that we got a spectacular value out of our stay. The service was also excellent, and they have 24-hour staff on hand.

We also enjoyed the convenience of the breakfast, though the food itself was nothing special. It usually includes eggs (be sure to eat hard-boiled), little hot dogs, cereal, breads, various confections, and varying kinds of steamed buns.

Our main issue with this hotel is its location. It's centrally located but it's tucked into the hutongs, which are traditional, narrow streets. They can be a great cultural experience, but it's very tough for cabs to get in. We had to walk a couple blocks through the hutongs around midnight in the rain because our cabbie refused to go into the narrow streets. Be sure to plan around this if you choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bigger room, ideally one that overlooks the performance hall.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DXLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feng y, Guest Relations Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Elunah,

Thank you for taking your precious time to write the feedback to us. We appreciate your compliments for our hotel, and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Shadow Art Performance Hotel.

We provide buffet breakfast for our guests, both in Chinese and western kinds. Also as you mentioned, we got varied kinds of options, and we would try to improve the diversity of the breakfast, hope you could witness our improvement next time you visit our hotel.

As the location, like you said, it could be a great cultural experience, actually it is one of our specification as a culture based boutique hotel. And we did received some complains of the taxi drivers, sometimes their attitude is really bad. You could call the reception if you meet this kind of situation next time, we would talk to the driver or arrange a rickshaw to pick you up then. As you are one of our VIP member, we would provide you a complimentary rickshaw around the lake area next time you visit our boutique hotel.

Thank you again for your kind review, and we sincerely hope in the near future, we'll have you visit us again!

Yours loyal butler team,
from Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Perfectly serviceable hotel in the Hutong in Beijing.

Be sure to ask to see different rooms as they vary in size and layout. The ones facing the courtyard seemed to be bigger.

The hotel was clean and the beds okay but what really made our stay worthwhile was the incredible service given to us by Sara at the front desk. She arranged for train tickets to be booked, reservations and taxis. Her English is very good and I really don't know what we would have done without her. Also, Lisa was particularly helpful and even stayed outside after her shift was over to ensure our taxi arrived.

Good service in China is hard to find but we were very impressed with Shichahai.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomSansalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feng y, Guest Relations Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Dom Sansalone,

Thank you for sharing such a positive review with Tripadvisor community. And we are so honored that you are satisfied with our service and highly recommend our hotel to Tripadvisor fellows.

Our aim is to provide the best service to our loyal guests, to make them feel that they are staying in friend's place.

We do have different rooms which vary in size and layout, but it also varies in price.The rooms facing the courtyard are the premium rooms with the biggest size. We would keep the premium room for you next time you visit us.

Sara and Lisa are excited to hear that you gave them such a good compliment , they said they would definitely keep providing the best service to all the guests.

All the best to you and please let us know your next visit, and we'll be expecting you in the near future!

Yours loyal butler team,
from Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel pleased me. Don't be put off by the area, inside its a friendly ,feel at home kind of place. Rooms, our tour involved 3 visits and all were are on the small side but ? innovating. Comfortable lounge and nice breakfast

Room Tip: There's no lift, so I guess the ground floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrJAS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feng y, Guest Relations Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Mr. Jas,

Thank you for writing us such a good and objective review.

As you mentioned, our boutique hotel is located in calm, peaceful and friendly Hutong area, so you could experience the real local life while you are walking in Hutong.

The rooms are in different sizes, but all are decorated with unique and special cultural element, which is combined with the design conception of Shadow Art Performance Hotel.

Meanwhile , there are two floors in the hotel, our staff can always help you when you need to carry stuff upstairs.

Last but not the least, we sincerely hope to have you visit us again in the near future!

Yours loyal butler team,
from Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We just stayed two nights in this hotel. It was a bit hard to find. And it was quite far away from the subway (15/20 minute walk) But once we found the hotel we were quite impressed by the interior and exterior. We really loved the way they decorated the hotel. Also the location of the hotel is really nice: in the middle of a very lovely hutong.
The size of the room was just perfect. The staff spoke quite good English and were really helpful.
The breakfast was really good.
If I ever come back to Beijing I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Janneke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Janneke L,
Thank you very much for your great review and informing fellow travellers. As I say to all our guests we know we are not perfect but we certainly do our best to be.

We are appreciated for all the positive comments you left about all the facilities and services. However, we are always disappointed when we do not quite make the 5 star mark on trip advisor and we will appreciate if you could point out some issues we can work on to make this happen.

Anyway, please honour us again to provide you another 'homy' experience and have us informed in advance next time when you are planning your trip in Beijing. All the best regards to you and your family!

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews